Mara Liasson http://nhpr.org en Democrats Count On The Fine Art Of Field Operations http://nhpr.org/post/democrats-count-fine-art-field-operations Democrats have had great success in recent presidential elections registering, targeting and turning out their core voters. Now they're hoping to use that sophisticated field operation to to stave off defeat in this year's midterm elections.<p>They'll need all the help they can get because the Democratic hold on the Senate is looking increasingly shaky. The president is unpopular. So is Obamacare, and the number of vulnerable Democratic Senate seats is growing by the day. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 07:22:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 45496 at http://nhpr.org Democrats Count On The Fine Art Of Field Operations March Marks A Crucible For Obamacare As Deadline Nears http://nhpr.org/post/march-marks-crucible-obamacare-deadline-nears Facing a deadline, the Obama administration is desperate to boost enrollment in health care exchanges. Still millions from their goal, they're stepping up outreach and forgetting politics — for now. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:41:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 44895 at http://nhpr.org As Deficit Anxiety Fades, Debt Rears Its Ugly Head http://nhpr.org/post/deficit-anxiety-fades-debt-rears-its-ugly-head Democrats and Republicans have exhausted themselves politically after failing to reach a grand bargain to reduce the debt. Now there's a new economic debate in Washington over economic growth, mobility and income inequality.<p>But without dealing with the debt, Republicans and Democrats might not be able to navigate even the issues they agree on.<p><strong>Moving Away From The Deficit</strong><p>In President Obama's State of the Union address last month, he all but declared victory on the federal deficit. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 23:06:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 43156 at http://nhpr.org As Deficit Anxiety Fades, Debt Rears Its Ugly Head Democrats Worry About Losing Senate Majority http://nhpr.org/post/democrats-worry-about-losing-senate-majority Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene.<p>President Obama spent yesterday afternoon meeting with Senate Democrats. The event was held in a meeting space at Nationals Park. That's the baseball stadium in Washington. It was billed as an issues conference. And certainly one of the big issues for the president's party is the possibility that it could lose its majority in the Senate this fall. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 11:17:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 43094 at http://nhpr.org Republicans Use Latest CBO Report To Rail Against Obamacare http://nhpr.org/post/republicans-use-latest-cbo-report-rail-against-obamacare The new Congressional Budget Office report gives ammunition to Republicans and puts Democrats on the defensive. It said the Affordable Care Act would reduce the number of full-time workers by more than 2 million by the year 2024. But as usual, the truth is more complicated than the headlines and press releases suggest. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 11:16:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 43021 at http://nhpr.org Obama Proposes Ambitious Agenda In Address To Nation http://nhpr.org/post/obama-proposes-ambitious-agenda-address-nation Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>President Obama delivered his State of the Union speech with enthusiasm last night. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 11:09:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 42623 at http://nhpr.org Boehner Picks Cathy McMorris Rodgers For GOP Rebuttal http://nhpr.org/post/boehner-picks-cathy-mcmorris-rodgers-gop-rebuttal Tuesday night is the State of the Union Address — the biggest opportunity President Obama gets all year to speak to the American people about his priorities. There's also another speech that night — the GOP response. On Thursday, House Speaker John Boehner announced Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers from Washington State would deliver the official rebuttal. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 10:57:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 42357 at http://nhpr.org Boehner Picks Cathy McMorris Rodgers For GOP Rebuttal NSA Oversight: Obama Wants Safeguards Against Potential Abuse http://nhpr.org/post/nsa-oversight-obama-wants-safeguards-against-potential-abuse Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And even before Edward Snowden and his leaks made NSA surveillance the subject of dinner table conversations all over American, President Obama said he wanted a debate about the right balance between security and civil liberties. The Snowden revelations made sure that Mr. Obama got one. NPR's Mara Liasson reports on how the political calculus is working at the White House.<p>MARA LIASSON, BYLINE: The president's new senior advisor, John Podesta, describes what Mr. Obama wants Americans to understand.<p>JOHN PODESTA: That he has put in place two things. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 11:20:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 42012 at http://nhpr.org 50 Years Later, How The Politics Of Poverty Evolved http://nhpr.org/post/50-years-later-how-politics-poverty-evolved Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>This week, and in the coming year, we're marking the anniversary of a famous declaration. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 09:45:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 41523 at http://nhpr.org Looking Back On A Roller Coaster Year For The GOP http://nhpr.org/post/looking-back-roller-coaster-year-gop It's been a long year since Republicans vowed to rebrand their party as friendlier to women, minorities and younger voters. Even if its longer term problems remain, the party finds itself in surprisingly good shape going into the 2014 midterms. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 10:29:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 40828 at http://nhpr.org White House Revs Up Delayed Push For Health Coverage http://nhpr.org/post/white-house-revs-delayed-push-health-coverage With HealthCare.gov able to handle an increasing number of users, the Obama administration finally went on the offensive to urge Americans to sign up for new health insurance. The administration had planned a massive advertising and social media campaign to support the Affordable Care Act back in October, but the push was delayed for two months after the health insurance exchange website failed in its debut. The effort comes as the deadline for people to sign up for coverage starting next year looms. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 22:01:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 39510 at http://nhpr.org Medicaid Drives Expansion Of Health Care Coverage http://nhpr.org/post/medicaid-drives-expansion-health-care-coverage After years of wide spread fretting about the size of the federal debt and angst about new federal regulations for health care, one federal program is enjoying widespread popularity: Medicaid. Morning Edition examines this political paradox. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 10:03:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 39189 at http://nhpr.org States Aim To Cure Hyperpartisanship With Primary Changes http://nhpr.org/post/states-aim-cure-hyper-partisanship-primary-changes Several states are trying to do something about so-called hyperpartisanship by changing the way congressional districts are drawn and the way elections are held.<p>Their goal: force members of Congress to pay more attention to general election voters than to their base voters on the right or left.<p>John Fortier, the director of the <a href="http://bipartisanpolicy.org/projects/democracy-project">Democracy Project</a> at the Bipartisan Policy Center, which is working on ways to make politics less dysfunctional, says U.S. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 08:25:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 38694 at http://nhpr.org States Aim To Cure Hyperpartisanship With Primary Changes First Numbers From Health Exchange Expected To Be Low http://nhpr.org/post/first-numbers-health-exchange-expected-be-low The administration is expected to report on the number of Americans who have signed up for health insurance on the federal exchange this week. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 22:56:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 38420 at http://nhpr.org Lawmakers To Grill Sebelius On Affordable Care Act http://nhpr.org/post/lawmakers-grill-sebelius-affordable-care-act Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. More hearings come today on the messy rollout of the Affordable Care Act. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius will face questions from the House, Energy and Commerce Committee. Now, yesterday, the head of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid testified before a different committee. Wed, 30 Oct 2013 09:48:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 37625 at http://nhpr.org