Frank James http://nhpr.org en Florida Ruling Is A Primer On Redistricting Chicanery http://nhpr.org/post/florida-ruling-primer-redistricting-chicanery If you have some time over the weekend or need a break from the endless LeBron James coverage, you could peruse <a href="http://www.campaignlegalcenter.org/images/Romo_v_Detzner_Final_Judgment_7-10-14.pdf">the highly readable opinion</a> by a Florida judge who invalidated some of the redistricting efforts by the state's Republican Legislature.<p>Leon County Circuit Judge Terry Lewis found compelling evidence of chicanery in how the lines of two Florida congressional districts were redrawn — the 5th District, represented by Democratic Rep. Corrine Brown, and the 10th District, held by Rep. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:25:00 +0000 Frank James 51794 at http://nhpr.org Florida Ruling Is A Primer On Redistricting Chicanery In Texas, Obama Sets Stage To Answer 'Do-Nothing' Congress http://nhpr.org/post/texas-obama-sets-stage-answer-do-nothing-congress Six years into his administration, President Obama has apparently not given up on the "hope" that was a major theme of his first run for president.<p>What else but undying optimism could explain the president's hope for the Texas congressional delegation expressed in his visit to their state this week?<p>Speaking of his conversation with Republican Texas Gov. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 01:17:00 +0000 Frank James 51717 at http://nhpr.org In Texas, Obama Sets Stage To Answer 'Do-Nothing' Congress Should President Obama Visit The Texas Border? http://nhpr.org/post/should-president-obama-visit-texas-border Much of President Obama's presidency currently falls into the category of damned if he does, damned if he doesn't.<p>That certainly is true on the question of whether he should visit the U.S.-Mexico border during his two-day visit to Texas.<p>Some have even taken <a href="http://onpolitics.usatoday.com/2014/07/07/cuellar-obama-immigration-border-katrina/">to asking</a> if this isn't Obama's "Katrina moment," an allusion to President George W. Bush's 2005 failure to immediately visit the hurricane-ravaged Gulf Coast once the storm had passed. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:49:00 +0000 Frank James 51629 at http://nhpr.org Should President Obama Visit The Texas Border? A Senator Turns His Bible Into A Political Tool http://nhpr.org/post/senator-turns-his-bible-political-tool <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpGPymn9fsI</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 22:28:00 +0000 Frank James 51558 at http://nhpr.org A Senator Turns His Bible Into A Political Tool In Mississippi, The GOP's Not-So-Civil War Continues http://nhpr.org/post/mississippi-gops-not-so-civil-war-continues It's been 13 days since Sen. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 00:23:00 +0000 Frank James 51483 at http://nhpr.org In Mississippi, The GOP's Not-So-Civil War Continues Obama's No-Win Immigration Predicament http://nhpr.org/post/obamas-no-win-immigration-predicament President Obama's tough predicament on immigration is only getting worse.<p>He certainly didn't want to be dealing with an influx of unaccompanied minors illegally entering the U.S. across the Southern border, overwhelming the Homeland Security Department's ability to deal with them during a critical midterm election year.<p>Obama also presumably didn't want an immigration bill passed by the Senate a year ago to sit, forsaken, in the House. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 23:07:00 +0000 Frank James 51118 at http://nhpr.org Obama's No-Win Immigration Predicament Texas Tea Party Gives GOP Establishment The Blues http://nhpr.org/post/texas-tea-party-gives-gop-establishment-blues This was starting to look like a bad year for the Tea Party, with primary election losses to Republican establishment candidates beginning to pile up. Then came Texas.<p>In yet another example of the distinctiveness of Lone Star State politics, Tea Party candidates had a field day Tuesday in primary runoff elections, knocking off several Republican incumbents.<p>In the highest-profile race, state senator and conservative radio host Dan Patrick, with energetic Tea Party backing, defeated Republican Lt. Gov. Wed, 28 May 2014 20:26:00 +0000 Frank James 49329 at http://nhpr.org Texas Tea Party Gives GOP Establishment The Blues Court Orders Conyers Back On Ballot http://nhpr.org/post/court-orders-conyers-back-ballot A federal court threw Rep. Fri, 23 May 2014 22:59:00 +0000 Frank James 49095 at http://nhpr.org Court Orders Conyers Back On Ballot Senate To NFL: Change The Redskins' Name http://nhpr.org/post/senate-nfl-change-redskins-name The United States Senate ratcheted up the pressure on owner Daniel Snyder on Thursday after a <a href="http://www.cantwell.senate.gov/public/_cache/files/7be140a9-f75a-4d62-bdeb-d1c75908ff36/letter%20to%20commissioner%20goodell%20on%20washington%20sports%20team.pdf">letter</a> — signed by half the Senate — was sent to NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, asking him to use his authority to get the Washington Redskins to change a team name that many consider racist.<p>Snyder has vowed to never change the name of one of the NFL's most historic franchises. Thu, 22 May 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Frank James 49007 at http://nhpr.org Senate To NFL: Change The Redskins' Name A Role Reversal In Pennsylvania's Race For Governor http://nhpr.org/post/role-reversal-pennsylvanias-race-governor If the polls are correct, the Pennsylvania governor's race is poised to see the usual political script flipped.<p>The Republican incumbent, Gov. Fri, 16 May 2014 19:39:00 +0000 Frank James 48638 at http://nhpr.org A Role Reversal In Pennsylvania's Race For Governor John Boehner Faces A Primary Challenge, But Only Barely http://nhpr.org/post/john-boehner-faces-primary-challenge-only-barely <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7spW7Y1-aI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9A8kq85Umco</p> Sat, 03 May 2014 09:35:00 +0000 Frank James 47830 at http://nhpr.org John Boehner Faces A Primary Challenge, But Only Barely Poll: Young Voters Uninterested In November 2014 Elections http://nhpr.org/post/poll-young-voters-uninterested-november-2014-elections Youth is a time of idealism and energy, except, perhaps, when it comes to voting in the midterm elections.<p>A new <a href="http://www.iop.harvard.edu/political-views-related-midterms-and-2016">Harvard Institute of Politics poll</a> finds that interest in voting in the November 2014 elections among 18- to 29-year-old voters is lower now than just several months ago — and even lower than it was at a similar point in 2010.<p>Only 24 percent of those polled said they would definitely be voting, according to <a href="http://www.iop.harvard.edu/sites/default/files_new/spring_poll_2013_PressRelease. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:57:00 +0000 Frank James 47610 at http://nhpr.org Poll: Young Voters Uninterested In November 2014 Elections Maryland's Obamacare Stumble Fails To Sway Governor's Race http://nhpr.org/post/marylands-obamacare-stumble-fails-sway-governors-race Here's a measure of Maryland's Democratic tilt: Even an epic failure in launching the state's health care website isn't enough to derail the political fortunes of the official responsible for it. The Affordable Care Act is that popular.<p>Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown, who was assigned by Democratic Gov. Martin O'Malley in 2010 to oversee the health care law's rollout in Maryland, remains the Democratic front-runner in the June 24 primary. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:37:00 +0000 Frank James 47416 at http://nhpr.org Maryland's Obamacare Stumble Fails To Sway Governor's Race Green GOP Group Caught Between 'Rock And A Hard Place' http://nhpr.org/post/green-gop-group-caught-between-rock-and-hard-place On Earth Day 2014, it wasn't easy being green in the Republican Party. Just ask <a href="https://plus.google.com/u/0/116465826066559765877/about">Rob Sisson</a>, president of <a href="http://conservamerica.org/">ConservAmerica</a>.<p>ConservAmerica is a membership organization created in 1995 to keep the environmental spirit of GOP President Theodore Roosevelt alive in his party. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Frank James 47223 at http://nhpr.org Green GOP Group Caught Between 'Rock And A Hard Place' Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense http://nhpr.org/post/obama-and-al-sharpton-odd-couple-who-make-political-sense President Obama and Rev. Al Sharpton might at first seem like one of the odder couples in U.S. politics.<p>The president is by nature a super-cautious politician, measured in his rhetoric. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:38:00 +0000 Frank James 46576 at http://nhpr.org Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense