Sidsel Overgaard http://nhpr.org en Years After Tragedy, Norwegian Pop Star Returns To World Stage http://nhpr.org/post/years-after-tragedy-norwegian-pop-star-returns-world-stage <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7eEzlQ1AD4</p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 21:04:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 43824 at http://nhpr.org Years After Tragedy, Norwegian Pop Star Returns To World Stage New Nordic Food Gods Loosen Up On Strictly Local Cuisine http://nhpr.org/post/new-nordic-food-gods-loosen-strictly-local-cuisine This story begins with a lemon. It appeared not long ago on a houseboat-cum-food lab docked outside Scandinavia's temple of local food, the restaurant noma, in Copenhagen.<p>"Isn't that, like, the forbidden fruit?," I ask. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 14:55:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 41875 at http://nhpr.org New Nordic Food Gods Loosen Up On Strictly Local Cuisine When Is Cinnamon Spice Not So Nice? The Great Danish Debate http://nhpr.org/post/when-cinnamon-spice-not-so-nice-great-danish-debate Who doesn't love a Danish pastry?<br /> <br />And in Denmark, they like their pastries sprinkled with plenty of cinnamon.<br /> <br />But now, Denmark's bakers are being told that their time-honored recipe for the beloved <em>kanelsnegle</em> — or cinnamon swirl — may be unhealthy and against the law. Recent testing by the Danish government found that a large number of the rolls had too much cinnamon — more than the recommended limits set by the European Union.<br /> Wed, 25 Dec 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 40749 at http://nhpr.org When Is Cinnamon Spice Not So Nice? The Great Danish Debate As Greenland Seeks Economic Development, Is Uranium The Way? http://nhpr.org/post/greenland-seeks-economic-development-uranium-way Karen Hanghoj, a scientist with Denmark's Geological Survey, points to the southern tip of Greenland on a colorful map hanging in her office.<p>"What you can see here in the southern region here is you have a big pink region," she says. "And then within the pink region, you see you have all these little purple dots.<p>"And what the purple dots are is a later period of rifting. These complexes have these weird chemistries and have these very, very strange minerals in them," she adds.<p>Those minerals include rare earth elements. Wed, 16 Oct 2013 16:51:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 36870 at http://nhpr.org As Greenland Seeks Economic Development, Is Uranium The Way? Pork Politics: Why Some Danes Want Pig Meat Required On Menus http://nhpr.org/post/pork-politics-why-some-danes-want-pig-meat-required-menus In Denmark, pigs outnumber people 2 to 1. Wed, 25 Sep 2013 19:32:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 35636 at http://nhpr.org In Eye Control, A Promise To Let Your Tablet Go Hands-Free http://nhpr.org/post/eye-control-promise-let-your-tablet-go-hands-free <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ef0qLb8-4k8</p> Mon, 03 Dec 2012 08:24:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 17787 at http://nhpr.org In Eye Control, A Promise To Let Your Tablet Go Hands-Free Danes May Bring Back Butter As Government Rolls Back Fat Tax http://nhpr.org/post/danes-may-bring-back-butter-government-rolls-back-fat-tax <strong>Toothbutter</strong>: <em>noun. </em>Butter spread so thickly as to reveal teeth marks upon biting.<p>The fact that this word exists in the Danish language should help to explain what politicians were up against when they <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2011/10/03/141014592/denmark-taxes-butter-and-fat-but-will-it-work">introduced</a> the "fat tax" just over a year ago. Tue, 13 Nov 2012 08:46:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 16746 at http://nhpr.org Danes May Bring Back Butter As Government Rolls Back Fat Tax Christmas Comes Early For Denmark's Beer Drinkers http://nhpr.org/post/christmas-comes-early-denmarks-beer-drinkers <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4wGb0PRnE8</p> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 18:29:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 16087 at http://nhpr.org Christmas Comes Early For Denmark's Beer Drinkers As U.S. States Look To Add Food Labels, Denmark Looks To Subtract Some http://nhpr.org/post/us-states-look-add-food-labels-denmark-looks-subtract-some Wherever you look these days, it seems labels that strive to send a message about our food are on the table. In California, there's <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2012/10/26/163700238/as-california-vote-looms-scientists-say-no-to-genetically-modified-food-labels">a vote</a> coming up on whether genetically modified foods should be labeled. A few weeks ago, the U.S. Federal Trade Commission updated its <a href="http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2012/10/greenguides.shtm">guidelines</a> for "green" labeling. Mon, 29 Oct 2012 18:27:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 15714 at http://nhpr.org As U.S. States Look To Add Food Labels, Denmark Looks To Subtract Some Nordic Cuisine: Moving Beyond The Meatballs And Pickled Fish http://nhpr.org/post/nordic-cuisine-moving-beyond-meatballs-and-pickled-fish For many people, the phrase "Scandinavian food" probably doesn't bring much to mind beyond the Ikea food court. For those who do have a connection with these Northern European countries, the mental image is probably smothered in gravy with a side of potatoes. Sun, 16 Sep 2012 20:43:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 13000 at http://nhpr.org Nordic Cuisine: Moving Beyond The Meatballs And Pickled Fish