Alison Kuzmickas http://nhpr.org en N.H. Museum Exhibits Rare Monet Painting http://nhpr.org/post/nh-museum-exhibits-rare-monet-painting <P>A new exhibit at the Currier Museum of Art in New Hampshire features a rare impressionist painting. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 14:31:17 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 25117 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Museum Exhibits Rare Monet Painting N.H. Agency Asks Residents To Remove Bird Feeders http://nhpr.org/post/nh-agency-asks-residents-remove-bird-feeders <p>The New Hampshire Fish and Game Department is warning residents to remove bird feeders by April 1. Mon, 01 Apr 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 24685 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Towing Case Goes To U.S. Supreme Court http://nhpr.org/post/nh-towing-case-goes-us-supreme-court <P>The United States Supreme Court will hear&nbsp;one of two&nbsp;recent cases from New Hampshire this week.</P> <P> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 23802 at http://nhpr.org Report Examines Rising Health Insurance Costs In N.H. http://nhpr.org/post/report-examines-rising-health-insurance-costs-nh <p>A new report from the New Hampshire Insurance Department says that heath insurance rates are on the rise in the state. The “Medical Cost Drivers Report” finds that health insurance premiums jumped 3.8%&nbsp; in 2011.</p><p>The data also shows that insurance companies saw a near 3% increase in profits.</p><p>Insurance Commissioner Roger Sevigny says that rising co-pays and deductibles mean the insured are less able to rely on their health plans to cover medical bills.</p><blockquote><p>There’s only so much cost sharing that someone can bear, and still call it insurance.</p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 21:18:31 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 23319 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Parishioners Celebrate Pope Benedict http://nhpr.org/post/nh-parishioners-celebrate-pope-benedict <p>Thursday marked the end of Pope Benedict's nearly eight year tenure as spiritual leader of the Catholic Church. In New Hampshire, 150 parishioners attended a noontime mass at St. Joseph’s Cathedral in Manchester honoring the Pope. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 15:36:08 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 22894 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Parishioners Celebrate Pope Benedict Six Songs For Celiacs http://nhpr.org/post/six-songs-celiacs <P>Our segment on <A href="http://nhpr.org/post/gluten-free-diet-good-everyone">celiac diet trends </A>led us to local band, The Bramble Jam, and&nbsp;their song, "Gluten Free." It inspired us to separate the musical wheat from the chaff (so to speak) to create&nbsp;the perfect non-gluten playlist. Wed, 13 Feb 2013 19:54:31 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 21899 at http://nhpr.org Study: Childhood Obesity Rates Decline In N.H. http://nhpr.org/post/study-childhood-obesity-rates-decline-nh <p>For the first time in recent years, obesity rates have gone down in New Hampshire children. The Centers for Disease Control’s first national <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/obesity/data/childhood.html">study</a> on childhood obesity finds that 14.2 percent of preschool-age children in the state are obese, down from 15.6 percent in 2003.</p><p>José Montero, Director of Public Health Services at the New Hampshire Department Of Health and Human Services, sees the decline as modest, but encouraging.</p> Mon, 14 Jan 2013 23:26:49 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 20148 at http://nhpr.org Five Cinematic Reasons Not to Go Mars http://nhpr.org/post/five-cinematic-reasons-not-go-mars <P>Our conversation today about our genetic wanderlust got us thinking about the interstellar urge to roam. Luckily, the Dutch-based Mars One&nbsp;is planning&nbsp;the <A href="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/09/03/mars-one-manned-mission-sponsors_n_1850244.html">first human&nbsp;trip to Mars in 2023</A>. If you have ten years to spare—and are&nbsp;resilient,&nbsp;adaptable,&nbsp;trusting, curious, creative, and resourceful—you <EM>may </EM>be the ideal candidate. Before you rush to <A href="http://mars-one.com/en/faq-en/21-faq-selection/251-do-i-qualify-to-apply">fill out your application</A>, consider these cinematic warnings about space travel. Because everything that can go wrong in outer space, will go wrong.&nbsp;Yeah, Murphy's Law is intergalactic. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 21:10:32 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 19919 at http://nhpr.org High Heels Are Sexy and Other "No Duh" Research http://nhpr.org/post/high-heels-are-sexy-and-other-no-duh-research <P>The high heel—ever the fashion accessory—has always attracted attention. Turns out (insert astonishment here)&nbsp;that they make the wearer <EM>more </EM>attractive and <EM>more </EM>feminine.&nbsp;</P> <P>In honor of this not quite surprising research, here are our top scientific no-brainers inspired by the <A href="http://www.improbable.com/ig/">Ig Nobel&nbsp;</A>prizes for thoughtful, humorous and sometimes absurd research. Mon, 07 Jan 2013 21:18:38 +0000 Virginia Prescott & Alison Kuzmickas & alis 19686 at http://nhpr.org High Heels Are Sexy and Other "No Duh" Research Five Surprising Radio Station Locales http://nhpr.org/post/five-surprising-radio-station-locales <p>We recently talked with psychologist&nbsp;&nbsp;<strong>Amelia Rachel Hokule’a Borofsky&nbsp;</strong>about&nbsp;Radio La Colifata, the world’s first and largest radio station broadcast from a psychiatric facility. She made several visits to El Borda National Psychiatric Hospital in Buenos Aires to see, and hear <strong>Radio La Colifata </strong>for herself.&nbsp;</p><p>It got us thinking about other unique places with radio broadcast frequencies. Here's our top five. Thu, 06 Dec 2012 15:36:30 +0000 Virginia Prescott & Alison Kuzmickas 17952 at http://nhpr.org Five Surprising Radio Station Locales Mourning a Loved One Via the Internet http://nhpr.org/post/mourning-loved-one-internet <p>The funeral industry is embracing the digital age. Funeral homes are beefing up their websites and social media to include tributes and photographs of the departed. Wed, 05 Dec 2012 17:16:00 +0000 Alison Kuzmickas 17943 at http://nhpr.org Mourning a Loved One Via the Internet Voters and Voices at the Polls http://nhpr.org/post/voters-and-voices-polls <div aria-haspopup="true">In case the profuse amount of “I Voted” stickers went unnoticed to you today, the first Tuesday in November is indeed upon us. Polling locations in Concord, New Hampshire teemed with signs and supporters providing some last minute rallying for their favorite candidates. Voters stood in line and braved the early morning chill to cast their vote at Wards 4 and 7. With them were <strong>Word of Mouth</strong> interns Bill Barry and Ali Kuzmickas.</div><p></p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 23:08:15 +0000 Bill Barry & Alison Kuzmickas 16338 at http://nhpr.org Voters and Voices at the Polls