Hurricane Sandy http://nhpr.org en President Signs N.H. Request For Sandy Disaster Declaration http://nhpr.org/post/president-signs-nh-request-sandy-disaster-declaration <p></p><p>President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster exists in New Hampshire following Superstorm Sandy.</p><p>On Wednesday, the president ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas affected by the storm from October 26 to November 8. The declaration covers the counties of Belknap, Carroll, Coos, Grafton and Sullivan.</p><p>Gov. John Lynch submitted the request for a disaster declaration on Nov. 15.</p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 20:30:17 +0000 Michael Brindley 17609 at http://nhpr.org President Signs N.H. Request For Sandy Disaster Declaration Adrian Tomine: A Decade of Drawings http://nhpr.org/post/adrian-tomine-decade-drawings <p>The cover of the November 12<sup>th</sup> issue of <a href="http://www.newyorker.com/"><em>The New Yorker</em></a> effectively summed up the two big stories coming out of New York City this past month: Hurricane Sandy and Election 2012. In the picture, a backpacked shaggy-haired man, chest-high in water, searches for his polling place among the pitch-black flooded streets of the Big Apple.&nbsp; It’s a drawing that someone makes a city of&nbsp;over eight million people&nbsp;seem like a very lonely place to be. Mon, 19 Nov 2012 15:18:52 +0000 Virginia Prescott 17121 at http://nhpr.org Adrian Tomine: A Decade of Drawings A Different Sort of Fallout http://nhpr.org/post/different-sort-fallout <p>It’s been weeks since <a href="http://www.cnn.com/2012/10/30/us/sandy-records/index.html">Superstorm Sandy</a> came ashore in New Jersey. Still, thousands remain displaced or without power. Touring damaged areas of New York City last week, President Obama said one thing of the ongoing recovery that’s hard to dispute:<a href="http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2012/11/15/transcript-of-obamas-remarks-on-staten-island/"> “It’s not going to be easy.” Mon, 19 Nov 2012 14:28:58 +0000 Virginia Prescott 17116 at http://nhpr.org A Different Sort of Fallout Lynch Seeks Major Disaster Declaration http://nhpr.org/post/lynch-seeks-major-disaster-declaration <p>Gov. John Lynch is asking President Barack Obama to declare a major disaster status for the state of New Hampshire as a result of Superstorm Sandy. Thu, 15 Nov 2012 22:33:13 +0000 Associated Press 16962 at http://nhpr.org The Cost of Building Beaches http://nhpr.org/post/cost-building-beaches <p>Despite arguments over effectiveness and cost, New Jersey has long practiced what is called “artificial beach nourishment”—importing and pumping tons of sand to build up its shore.&nbsp; Much of that <a href="http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2012/10/30/14810609-sandy-hammers-jersey-shore-levels-homes-shreds-boardwalks">sand was swept away </a>by super storm Sandy’s massive surge and the one that followed from the recent nor’easter.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 19:26:51 +0000 Virginia Prescott 16529 at http://nhpr.org The Cost of Building Beaches Tweeting Responsibly http://nhpr.org/post/tweeting-responsibly <p>Super-storm Sandy once again has journalists talking about social media’s evolving role in breaking news coverage.&nbsp; Using laptops and smartphones, many Americans on the eastern seaboard contributed to national coverage of the storm via Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.</p> Mon, 05 Nov 2012 15:02:39 +0000 Virginia Prescott & Taylor Quimby 16200 at http://nhpr.org Tweeting Responsibly Hydro Quebec Crews Arrive In Manchester http://nhpr.org/post/hydro-quebec-crews-arrive-manchester <p></p><p>A fleet of monstrous blue trucks arrived in Manchester late Wednesday afternoon.</p><p>PSNH president Gary Long and Northeast Utilities CEO Tom May were on hand to greet the Hydro Quebec crews.</p><blockquote><p>To see reinforcements come around the corner with these blue trucks is very rewarding</p></blockquote><p>75 two-man crews are slated to be in New Hampshire by Thursday morning, with some crews driving as long as 12 hours to help restore power.</p><p>Daniel Dumais&nbsp;is Director of Distribution at Hydro Quebec and was here for the ice storm in 2008.</p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 21:43:21 +0000 Jonathan Lynch 15932 at http://nhpr.org Hydro Quebec Crews Arrive In Manchester Sandy Inturrupts Political Polling, Too http://nhpr.org/post/sandy-inturrupts-political-polling-too <p>Candidate campaigning wasn’t the only political activity thrown for a loop by Hurricane Sandy, pollsters also had to take a break in New Hampshire and elsewhere.</p><p>Speaking on NHPR’s the Exchange, Editor-in-Chief of <a href="http://www.gallup.com/home.aspx">Gallup </a>Frank Newport said they put their national tracking poll on hold because too many people on the East Coast wouldn’t be picking up their phones.</p><blockquote><p><em>Newport: we want to be very careful because it’s better to have no poll at all I think than to have a poll that has the potential to be misleading.</em></p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 15:35:24 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 15894 at http://nhpr.org Sandy Inturrupts Political Polling, Too Storm Victim Identified http://nhpr.org/post/storm-victim-identified <p>The man who died in a mudslide in Lincoln has been identified as Eugene “Rusty” Brooks from Woodstock, Lincoln police chief Theodore Smith said Wednesday.</p><p>Brooks, 52,&nbsp;died Tuesday at a construction site when a water-soaked embankment on which he was standing collapsed, carrying him down a hill and then burying him.</p><p>He was not breathing when a co-worker reached him and CPR efforts failed.</p><p>It was the only death in the state related to the remnants of Hurricane Sandy.</p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 12:22:53 +0000 Chris Jensen 15878 at http://nhpr.org Many N.H. Schools Closed http://nhpr.org/post/many-nh-schools-closed <p>Many schools in the state will remain closed on Wednesday because of power outages and weather conditions related to Hurricane Sandy.&nbsp; For more information, visit <a href="http://www.wmur.com/weather/closings" target="_blank">WMUR's closings website</a>.</p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 01:30:00 +0000 NHPR Staff 15658 at http://nhpr.org Federal Declaration the Latest Aid to Sandy Cleanup in New Hampshire http://nhpr.org/post/federal-declaration-latest-aid-sandy-cleanup-new-hampshire <p>New Hampshire continues to clean up from the effects of Hurricane Sandy, with coordination centered in the state's Emergency Operations Center.</p><p>All Things Considered host Brady Carlson talks with the EOC's <strong>Jim Van Dongen</strong> for the latest on cleanup efforts, the state of power outages and what President Obama's disaster declaration will do to aid those efforts.</p><p></p> Tue, 30 Oct 2012 21:51:33 +0000 Brady Carlson 15848 at http://nhpr.org Gov. Lynch Assesses Damage In Bedford http://nhpr.org/post/gov-lynch-assesses-damage-bedford <p></p><p>Governor John Lynch toured the damage to New Hampshire in the wake of Hurricane Sandy. When the governor arrived at the Bedford Operations Center late Tuesday afternoon, he learned that most of the damage in the area had already been cleaned up.</p><p>Bedford's municipal buildings and traffic lights were spared any serious damage, though around 2,000 PSNH customers are still without power. Crews from as far as Texas are helping restore service there.</p><p>Lynch praised the efforts of the emergency responders and cited the use of new media in getting the word out about the storm:</p> Tue, 30 Oct 2012 21:14:47 +0000 Jonathan Lynch 15836 at http://nhpr.org Gov. Lynch Assesses Damage In Bedford With Outages, V.T. Breathes Sigh of Relief http://nhpr.org/post/outages-vt-breathes-sigh-relief <p>Not the worst case scenario, but still a significant event. Tue, 30 Oct 2012 20:55:11 +0000 Steve Zind 15831 at http://nhpr.org How Sandy Could Affect The Election http://nhpr.org/post/how-sandy-could-affect-election <p>The freakishly robust weather phenomenon now known as Superstorm Sandy has left millions without power and billions of dollars in damage in its wake…and is still moving westward across the country. We wondered whether a tragedy of this scale, a week before a presidential election that is still too close to call, could affect the outcome.&nbsp; So, we turn to political scientist <a href="http://www.nhpoliticalcapital.com/aboutus.php"><strong>Dean Spiliotes</strong></a> for some perspective. Tue, 30 Oct 2012 14:37:45 +0000 Virginia Prescott 15797 at http://nhpr.org How Sandy Could Affect The Election N.H. Images Of Hurricane Sandy http://nhpr.org/post/nh-images-hurricane-sandy Tue, 30 Oct 2012 14:20:49 +0000 NHPR Staff 15794 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Images Of Hurricane Sandy