Here and Now http://nhpr.org en Medal Of Honor Recipient Reflects On Honor And Loss http://nhpr.org/post/medal-honor-recipient-reflects-honor-and-loss The Battle of Wanat is one of the bloodiest battles of the war in Afghanistan. Nine American soldiers were killed and more than two dozen were wounded when hundreds of insurgents assaulted the Army outpost they were building in Waygal Valley on July 13, 2008. It was just after 4 o’clock that morning when the American soldiers were blasted with machine guns, rocket propelled grenades and hand grenades.<p><div class="pullquote" style="">&#8220;It belongs to every man there that day and I&#8217;ll accept it on behalf of the team. It&#8217;s not mine.&#8221;</div><p>Sgt. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 19:02:00 +0000 Alex Ashlock 51611 at http://nhpr.org Medal Of Honor Recipient Reflects On Honor And Loss YA Novel 'Say What You Will' Draws Inspiration From Teens With Disabilities http://nhpr.org/post/ya-novel-say-what-you-will-draws-inspiration-teens-disabilities When author Cammie McGovern&#8217;s oldest son was diagnosed with autism, she looked for an outlet where he could be with other children with similar difficulties. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:48:00 +0000 51610 at http://nhpr.org YA Novel 'Say What You Will' Draws Inspiration From Teens With Disabilities Citigroup And Justice Department Reportedly Near Deal http://nhpr.org/post/citigroup-and-justice-department-reportedly-near-deal Citigroup and the Justice Department are reportedly closing in on a $7 billion deal that would settle allegations that the bank sold shoddy mortgages in the run up to the 2008 financial crisis.<p>The deal is expected to be announced in the next week and comes after months of tense negotiations between the bank and government officials &#8212; negotiations that became so tense that in June, the Justice Department threatened to sue if the bank did not agree to the government’s proposed penalty.<p>The settlement may fall short of that demand, but the bank may be paying more than once expected. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:48:00 +0000 51612 at http://nhpr.org Citigroup And Justice Department Reportedly Near Deal Selfies Endanger Tour De France Riders http://nhpr.org/post/selfies-endanger-tour-de-france-riders The world&#8217;s most storied bicycle competition, the Tour de France, has been imperiled by spectators trying to take selfies.<p>Riders have taken to social media with pleas for fans to show restraint, since fans turning their backs on the race to take photos are unaware of where the riders are and how fast they may be going.<p><em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Robin Young speaks with <strong>Bill Strickland</strong>, interim editor of Bicycling magazine about the phenomenon and get his take on this year&#8217;s race.<p><ul> <li><a href="http://instagram.c Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:28:00 +0000 51545 at http://nhpr.org Selfies Endanger Tour De France Riders Baseball Fans Lukewarm To Variable Ticket Prices http://nhpr.org/post/baseball-fans-lukewarm-variable-ticket-prices Baseball fans in many cities, including Kansas City, can no longer count on the price of single game tickets during the season. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:28:00 +0000 51546 at http://nhpr.org Baseball Fans Lukewarm To Variable Ticket Prices Time Travel For The Everyday Adventurer http://nhpr.org/post/time-travel-everyday-adventurer This summer, consider going on a journey of a different kind – a trip through time. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:28:00 +0000 51547 at http://nhpr.org Time Travel For The Everyday Adventurer Little Library Causes Big Zoning Controversy http://nhpr.org/post/little-library-causes-big-zoning-controversy <em>Note: See an update on this story <a href="http://nprhereandnow.tumblr.com/post/91149246273/from-on-top-of-his-milk-crate-9-year-old-spencer" target="_blank">here</a>.</em><p class="sep"><p>City leaders in Leawood, Kansas tonight will take up 9-year-old <strong>Spencer Collins</strong>&#8216; Little Free Library.<p>The boy had put up a slightly larger than a birdfeeder box containing a free book exchange in his front yard, but a neighbor complained it was an eyesore and &#8220;an illegal detached structure&#8221; that violated the town&#8217;s zoning ordinances.<p>The city originally told Mon, 07 Jul 2014 19:12:00 +0000 51465 at http://nhpr.org Little Library Causes Big Zoning Controversy Ukrainian Parliamentarian: Ukraine 'A Test' For Europe And Russia http://nhpr.org/post/ukrainian-parliamentarian-ukraine-test-europe-and-russia <strong>Olga Bielkova</strong>, a member of Ukraine&#8217;s parliament says, &#8220;what is happening between us and Russia right now is a threat to the whole of Europe; Russia is just testing grounds for what it could to do other countries.&#8221;<p>Bielkova told <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Jeremy Hobson that Ukraine is better prepared to take on pro-Russian separatists, and she thinks that the government will begin winning hearts in Eastern Ukraine where pro-Russian sentiment runs strong.<p><h4>Guest</h4> <ul> <li><strong><a href="http://belkova.com/ Mon, 07 Jul 2014 19:12:00 +0000 51466 at http://nhpr.org GoPro Spawns New Category Of Wearable Cameras http://nhpr.org/post/gopro-spawns-new-category-wearable-cameras GoPro stock options began trading today, less than two weeks after it went public. The company, which makes wearable point-of-view action cameras, has come a long way since it was born 10 years ago. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 19:12:00 +0000 51467 at http://nhpr.org GoPro Spawns New Category Of Wearable Cameras Ben Franklin's Not-So-Famous Sister http://nhpr.org/post/ben-franklins-not-so-famous-sister Ben Franklin is arguably the most famous American ever. His youngest sister Jane is mostly lost to history. But a Harvard historian found her in the letters she and her brother exchanged over their long lives.<p>They were called Benny and Jenny, and Benny wrote more letters to Jenny than he did to anyone else. Most of his survive; many of her&#8217;s do not.<p>But <strong>Jill Lepore</strong> finds a life unknown in those that do. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 19:10:00 +0000 51359 at http://nhpr.org On Stage: Orlando Story Club http://nhpr.org/post/stage-orlando-story-club In today&#8217;s &#8220;On Stage&#8221; segment, we look at the art of storytelling, which has taken off in venues across the country.<p>We go to Orlando, Florida, and the <a href="http://www.orlandostoryclub.com" target="_blank">Orlando Story Club</a>. The club was co-founded by South African-born <strong>Robin Cowie</strong>, who has a background in bringing powerful stories to life as a former Hollywood producer. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 19:10:00 +0000 51360 at http://nhpr.org On Stage: Orlando Story Club Dow Jones Closes At An All-Time High http://nhpr.org/post/dow-jones-closes-all-time-high The cherry on top to yesterday’s encouraging jobs report was a record close for the Dow Jones industrial average.<p><strong>Derek Thompson</strong>, senior editor at the Atlantic talks to <a href="https://hereandnow.wbur.org/"><em>Here & Now&#8217;</em></a>s Robin Young about what the record means in context, for the economy as a whole, and for the average American<p><h4>Guest</h4> <ul> <li><strong><a href="http://www.theatlantic.com/derek-thompson/" target="_blank">Derek Thompson</a></strong>, senior editor for <em>The Atlantic</em>. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 19:10:00 +0000 51361 at http://nhpr.org Dow Jones Closes At An All-Time High 'Smart' Homes May Be Vulnerable To Hackers http://nhpr.org/post/smart-homes-may-be-vulnerable-hackers Our homes are becoming more and more connected. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 18:58:00 +0000 51307 at http://nhpr.org 'Smart' Homes May Be Vulnerable To Hackers Germany Boosts Its Minimum Wage http://nhpr.org/post/germany-boosts-its-minimum-wage The German Parliament voted today to set the country&#8217;s first national minimum wage, 8.5 euros, which is $11.60 per hour. The new minimum wage will be phased in starting next year.<p>Chancellor Angela Merkel&#8217;s government supported the move at the insistence of her government coalition partners, the center-left Social Democrats. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 18:58:00 +0000 51308 at http://nhpr.org Germany Boosts Its Minimum Wage Remembering Children's Book Author Walter Dean Myers http://nhpr.org/post/remembering-childrens-book-author-walter-dean-myers <strong>Walter Dean Myers</strong>, the award-winning children&#8217;s book author and former ambassador for young people&#8217;s literature, died this week at the age of 76.<p>He was a longtime advocate of children&#8217;s reading. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 18:58:00 +0000 51306 at http://nhpr.org