Peter Overby http://nhpr.org en Interest Groups Come Down On Opposite Sides Of Export-Import Bank http://nhpr.org/post/interest-groups-come-down-opposite-sides-export-import-bank Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Let's follow up on a story we heard about yesterday with the Republican Party's primary season winding down, the party establishment and Tea Party conservatives are shifting the focus of their fight. This time it's over a federal agency that helps to finance American companies in foreign trade. The legal authority for the Export-Import Bank expires in September. Small government conservatives are going all out to abolish it. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 09:29:00 +0000 Peter Overby 50874 at http://nhpr.org Lobbyists Loom Behind The Scenes Of School Nutrition Fight http://nhpr.org/post/behind-scenes-school-nutrition-fight-big-food-money-flows The <a href="http://www.schoolnutrition.org/">School Nutrition Association</a> — what you might call the national organization for lunch ladies (and gents) — says it was trying to improve the healthfulness of school lunches.<p>But it says the U.S. Agriculture Department didn't help when things got tough, so it went to Congress. House Republicans provided help, but they also put the group in the middle of a partisan battle over what to feed America's school students.<p>Alabama Republican Rep. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:25:00 +0000 Peter Overby 50028 at http://nhpr.org Lobbyists Loom Behind The Scenes Of School Nutrition Fight Outside Groups To Spend Even More Ahead Of Miss. GOP Senate Runoff http://nhpr.org/post/outside-groups-spend-even-more-ahead-miss-gop-senate-runoff Well-heeled outside groups easily outspent Sen. Thad Cochran and challenger Chris McDaniel before the GOP Senate primary in Mississippi. They're going all in on the runoff election later this month. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 09:08:00 +0000 Peter Overby 49792 at http://nhpr.org Amendment Would Allow Congress To Set Political Spending Limits http://nhpr.org/post/amendment-would-allow-congress-set-political-spending-limits Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Now we're in the midst of an election year, here in the United States. Every seat in the house is up, along with enough seats in the Senate to give Republicans a good chance to take control. Senate Democrats are putting a spotlight on the Supreme Court's controversial Citizens United decision, which cleared the way for more outside political spending. Their latest effort is a proposed constitutional amendment. It's aimed at curbing the influence of money in politics. And yesterday, that plan got an airing at a committee hearing. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 09:34:00 +0000 Peter Overby 49662 at http://nhpr.org Tea Party Stumbles As GOP Establishment Flexes Fundraising Strength http://nhpr.org/post/tea-party-stumbles-gop-establishment-flexes-fundraising-strength Tea Party candidates did well in GOP primary elections in 2010 and 2012; this year, not so much. Part of this lack of success is because establishment candidates have generally out-raised them, and establishment-aligned outside groups are no longer reluctant to get involved in primaries. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 19 May 2014 21:07:00 +0000 Peter Overby 48771 at http://nhpr.org With Midterm Elections In Mind, Democrats Micro-Target Voters http://nhpr.org/post/midterm-elections-mind-democrats-micro-target-voters During the 2012 presidential race, Democrats used big data to much success. The big data approach to micro-targeting voters is getting increasingly powerful, and is being used for midterm campaigns. Wed, 14 May 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Peter Overby 48455 at http://nhpr.org Debate Endures Over Tax Exempt Status Of Crossroads GPS http://nhpr.org/post/debate-endures-over-tax-exempt-status-crossroads-gps Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Tomorrow marks a year since the IRS admitted it have given excessive scrutiny to Tea Party and right-leaning patriot groups that wanted tax exempt status. Since then, the tax agency has been battered by firings, resignations, lawsuits and investigations. It's also been a tough year for the biggest group known to have been under that scrutiny by the IRS, the social welfare organization Crossroads GPS. NPR's Peter Overby reports.<p>PETER OVERBY, BYLINE: Crossroads GPS is known as a creation of Republican strategist Karl Rove. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Peter Overby 48194 at http://nhpr.org Rep. Grimm Pleads Not Guilty To Fraud Charges http://nhpr.org/post/rep-grimm-pleads-not-guilty-fraud-charges Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>New York City Congressman Michael Grimm is a former FBI agent. Yesterday he surrendered to the FBI after being indicted on 20 charges related to taxes, perjury and fraud. Mr. Grimm is fighting the charges but said he would step down from the powerful House Financial Services Committee. News of Grimm's indictment leaked last Friday, so that announcement yesterday was not a surprise.<p>But the charges were. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Peter Overby 47561 at http://nhpr.org Pay-To-Play Laws Celebrate 20th Anniversary http://nhpr.org/post/pay-play-laws-celebrate-20th-anniversary While the Supreme Court this month took another step in freeing up big political donors, another set of federal restrictions on political money is celebrating its 20th anniversary. The so-called pay-to-play rules — enforced by the Securities and Exchange Commission — are a narrow but powerful way to control political cash.<p>Think "pay to play" and you might think of video games or high school sports. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Peter Overby 47431 at http://nhpr.org Pay-To-Play Laws Celebrate 20th Anniversary Did A Federal Safety Agency Help General Motors Avoid A Recall? http://nhpr.org/post/did-federal-safety-agency-help-general-motors-avoid-recall As details emerge about GM's handling of an ignition switch recall, a question is raised again: What is the relationship between regulators and the regulated, and the revolving door between the two? Fri, 04 Apr 2014 09:10:00 +0000 Peter Overby 46184 at http://nhpr.org Court's Decision Will Encourage Joint Fundraising Committees http://nhpr.org/post/courts-decision-will-encourage-joint-fundraising-committees The U.S. Supreme Court has struck down limits on how much a single individual can give in total to candidates and parties. The ruling could give wealthy donors even more influence in elections. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 08:51:00 +0000 Peter Overby 46108 at http://nhpr.org Say Goodbye To The Taxpayer-Funded Political Convention http://nhpr.org/post/say-goodbye-taxpayer-funded-political-convention Ever since the Watergate era, taxpayers have been able to check a box on their federal tax returns and designate a little bit of their tax payment to help finance the presidential campaigns and wean politicians away from big donors.<p>The public financing program has had its ups and downs. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 07:15:00 +0000 Peter Overby 45632 at http://nhpr.org FBI's Abscam Videos Are As Unbelievable As 'American Hustle' http://nhpr.org/post/fbis-abscam-videos-are-unbelievable-american-hustle The Oscar contender is loosely based on the Abscam sting, which nailed a senator and six House members on corruption charges. The FBI videotaped some Hollywood-worthy scenes. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Peter Overby 44228 at http://nhpr.org Once Neglected, Secretaries Of State Step Into The Spotlight http://nhpr.org/post/once-neglected-secretaries-state-step-spotlight Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>Control of Congress won't be the only big question in this fall's elections. A quieter but critical battle is being waged over state-level races for secretary of state. In most states, that's the official in charge of running elections. Elections have become a political lightning rod. Many conservatives rail against voter fraud and lax rules, liberals say that's voter suppression. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 21:08:00 +0000 Peter Overby 43761 at http://nhpr.org IRS Wants To Tighten Its Rule On Social Welfare Groups http://nhpr.org/post/irs-wants-tighten-its-rule-social-welfare-groups Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The Internal Revenue Service wants to tighten rules on social welfare groups and it has opened itself up for public comment, giving Americans a chance to sound off. It seems people have a lot to sound off about. The agency has received thousands of comments about the IRS scrutiny of Tea Party groups seeking tax exempt status and the hundreds of millions of dollars raised from unnamed donors and spent on the 2012 elections. Mon, 27 Jan 2014 09:55:00 +0000 Peter Overby 42480 at http://nhpr.org