Shifting The Balance http://nhpr.org en Overcoming Obesity in the Granite State http://nhpr.org/post/overcoming-obesity-granite-state <p>Tuesday on the Exchange, we look at a study that shows a rise in obesity in New Hampshire. And we'll see what can be done to tip the scales in the opposite direction.</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 14856 at http://nhpr.org Overcoming Obesity in the Granite State To Get Kids Eating Vegetables, Get Them Growing Vegetables http://nhpr.org/post/get-kids-eating-vegetables-get-them-growing-vegetables <p></p><p>Any parent can tell you that sweet foods are an easier sell to kids than, say, sprouts or salad. But with more than a quarter of New Hampshire&nbsp;<a href="http://nhpr.org/post/study-finds-262-new-hampshire-adults-obese" target="_blank">struggling with obesity</a>, researchers at Keene State College are working on innovative ways to get children as young as three years old hooked on vegetables.</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Todd Bookman 14447 at http://nhpr.org To Get Kids Eating Vegetables, Get Them Growing Vegetables Pedaling off the Pounds http://nhpr.org/post/pedaling-pounds <p>A lot of Americans are struggling to lose a whole lot of weight, and they try all kinds of crazy things.</p><p><a href="http://ernestgagnon.blogspot.com/"><font color="#0c4ca2">Ernest Gagnon</font></a> — a man from Billerica, Mass. — decided to shed pounds by getting into the often intense, high-adrenaline sport of cyclocross: racing road bikes on obstacle courses.</p><p>Two years ago, Gagnon tipped the scales at 570 pounds. He was depressed and embarrassed to leave the house.</p> Wed, 10 Oct 2012 14:04:57 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 14493 at http://nhpr.org Pedaling off the Pounds Fine Dining...at Hardees http://nhpr.org/post/fine-diningat-hardees <div><p>Since spring of this year, our S<em>hifting the Balance</em> series has explored how environmental and social factors affect the way people eat…and how those factors play in to America’s obesity epidemic.&nbsp; A <a href="http://foodpsychology.cornell.edu/outreach/fastfood.html">recently published </a>study in <em>Pyschology </em>reports demonstrates how setting the right mood at meal time can help diners cap their calories.&nbsp;</p></div><p></p> Mon, 10 Sep 2012 14:37:18 +0000 Taylor Quimby 12589 at http://nhpr.org Fine Dining...at Hardees School Lunch Gets the Chef Treatment http://nhpr.org/post/school-lunch-gets-chef-treatment <p>If packing a lunch is a bit too daunting, never fear, at least not if you're the parent of a Souhegan High School Student. As part of our series Shifting the Balance, Elaine Grant got the skinny on their new, chef-inspired lunch program. (Check out the <a href="http://www.sprise.com/SAU/Dining/AdvanceMenus/shsprintablemenu.pdf">menu!)</a></p> Wed, 05 Sep 2012 16:11:34 +0000 Elaine Grant 12269 at http://nhpr.org School Lunch Gets the Chef Treatment Beating the Lunchbox Blues http://nhpr.org/post/beating-lunchbox-blues <p>Back-to-school season means new notebooks, pencils, and pens, and for at least one very lucky kid – a brand-spanking new lunchbox.&nbsp; J.M. Wed, 05 Sep 2012 15:45:40 +0000 Virginia Prescott 12266 at http://nhpr.org Beating the Lunchbox Blues EBT Friendly Farmer's Markets http://nhpr.org/post/ebt-friendly-farmers-markets <p>A new initiative design to entice low income customers to shop at farmer’s markets.</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 14:02:52 +0000 Todd Bookman & Virginia Prescott 9470 at http://nhpr.org EBT Friendly Farmer's Markets You Can't Bully the Pounds Away http://nhpr.org/post/you-cant-bully-pounds-away <p>A writer and mother weighs in on the worst way to encourage a kid to get healthy.</p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 15:13:45 +0000 Virginia Prescott 7771 at http://nhpr.org You Can't Bully the Pounds Away Can A Doc Prescribe Play for Weight Loss? http://nhpr.org/post/can-doc-prescribe-play-weight-loss <p>Faced with a serious problem with overweight children two unusual partners are literally trying a new prescription in the North Country &ndash; and they don&rsquo;t see any reason it couldn&rsquo;t work statewide.</p><p>NHPR&rsquo;s Chris Jensen reports.</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p><em>South of children playing&hellip;.</em></p><p>That&rsquo;s a sound healthcare professionals would like to hear more often: Kids outdoors running and jumping and generally goofing around.</p><p>&nbsp;Just like the good old days before the sedentary seduction of video games and television.</p> Wed, 13 Jun 2012 21:15:00 +0000 Chris Jensen 6817 at http://nhpr.org Can A Doc Prescribe Play for Weight Loss? Shrinking Stomach, Changing Brain http://nhpr.org/post/shrinking-stomach-changing-brain <p>How gastric bypass surgery can radically alter the brain's chemistry.</p> Thu, 31 May 2012 14:48:43 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5893 at http://nhpr.org Shrinking Stomach, Changing Brain America's First Locavores http://nhpr.org/post/americas-first-locavores <p>Not having access to healthy food on reservations has increased diabetes rates among Native Americans.</p> Thu, 17 May 2012 16:48:38 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5013 at http://nhpr.org America's First Locavores Obesity Game-Changer http://nhpr.org/post/obesity-game-changer <p>Hank Cardello speaks about the USDA's findings of healthy foods not necessarily being more expensive than the junk alternative.</p> Thu, 17 May 2012 16:28:16 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5003 at http://nhpr.org Obesity Game-Changer Bodegas Become Frontlines Against Obesity http://nhpr.org/post/bodegas-become-frontlines-against-obesity <p>A new initiative is hoping to change how Manchester convenience stores stock their shelves.</p> Thu, 10 May 2012 21:45:21 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 4539 at http://nhpr.org Bodegas Become Frontlines Against Obesity Can Healthy Food Make It As Snack Food? http://nhpr.org/post/can-healthy-food-make-it-snack-food <p>You&rsquo;re at the gym, working up a sweat, burning some calories, getting that metabolism in gear&hellip; and then the workout ends and you&rsquo;re looking for quick refreshment. Grabbing a candy bar or a sugary soda from the vending machine can feel like you&rsquo;re undoing all your exercise.</p> Mon, 07 May 2012 21:40:48 +0000 Brady Carlson 4350 at http://nhpr.org Can Healthy Food Make It As Snack Food? Pudgy Kids, Anemic Policies http://nhpr.org/post/pudgy-kids-anemic-policies <p>Despite America’s new stance on obesity, the well-intended efforts to combat the problem have grown soft and ineffectual.</p> Mon, 07 May 2012 13:13:33 +0000 Brady Carlson 4302 at http://nhpr.org Pudgy Kids, Anemic Policies