Audie Cornish http://nhpr.org en Months Of Training And A Moment Of Silence As Marathon Draws Near http://nhpr.org/post/months-training-and-moment-silence-marathon-draws-near Even as Boston pays tribute to the victims of the marathon bombing, runners are preparing to run in the race next week. NPR is following the stories of eight of these participants, dubbed the "NPR 8." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 46818 at http://nhpr.org On The Road Back To Boston, Two Runners Tell Their Stories http://nhpr.org/post/road-back-boston-two-runners-tell-their-stories Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. For the last 10 weeks, NPR has been following eight runners who have been preparing for this year's Boston Marathon. We've dubbed our runners the NPR 8 and they've been blogging the highs and lows of their training. Today, we have some excerpts from their audio diaries.<p>AMELIA NELSON: It's the getting the shoes on and getting out the door. It's that dread before you make it happen and the first two miles. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 46626 at http://nhpr.org Letters: Athletic And Academic Demands In College http://nhpr.org/post/letters-athletic-and-academic-demands-college Melissa Block and Audie Cornish read letters from listeners about the demands made on students and student-athletes in college. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:03:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 46346 at http://nhpr.org Hopes Dim For Long-Term Extension To Jobless Benefits http://nhpr.org/post/hopes-dim-long-term-extension-jobless-benefits The Senate is still struggling to find a way to pay for an extension of unemployment benefits for those out of work for 26 weeks or more. Majority leader Harry Reid agreed to bring up five Democratic and five Republican amendments in hopes to winning enough Republicans over to get to the 60 votes needed for passage. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 22:12:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 41852 at http://nhpr.org The Bridge On The River Hudson http://nhpr.org/post/bridge-river-hudson Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>We can't let this story go today without one more minute on the key player in this scandal, the George Washington Bridge. According to the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, it's the world's busiest motor vehicle bridge. Last year, 102 million vehicles crossed it.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>The suspension bridge spans the Hudson River, and it opened in October 1931. It has exposed supporting steel towers. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:35:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 41584 at http://nhpr.org Explanatory 'Verticals' Give Big-Name Journalists More Power http://nhpr.org/post/explanatory-verticals-give-big-name-journalists-more-power Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Recently we've heard of some big changes at several news organizations involving some of their most prominent journalists. At the Washington Post, the founder of the popular policy site Wonkblog, Ezra Klein, is weighing a departure. And the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times are both scrambling to set up dedicated news teams to replace journalists who have left in pursuit of more money and independence. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 21:59:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 41226 at http://nhpr.org Federal Appeals Court Stays Ruling Against NYPD Stop-And-Frisk http://nhpr.org/post/judge-halts-parts-nypd-stop-and-frisk-policy The court also removed Judge Shira Scheindlin from the case, saying she violated the appearance of impartiality, among other reasons. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 22:01:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 37774 at http://nhpr.org Twitter Reveals User Numbers, Financial Info Ahead Of IPO http://nhpr.org/post/twitter-reveals-user-numbers-financial-info-ahead-ipo Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>Twitter is revealing more details about its planned initial public offering. Late this afternoon, the company announced its intention to raise a billion dollars by selling stock, and revealed detailed information about its finances for the first time. We're joined now by NPR's Steve Henn to discuss this peek behind the Twitter curtain. Thu, 03 Oct 2013 23:08:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 36168 at http://nhpr.org Vets Mark Sept. 11 Anniversary With Yosemite Climb http://nhpr.org/post/vets-mark-sept-11-anniversary-yosemite-climb Fifteen Iraq and Afghanistan vets, many of them disabled, climbed Half Dome and El Capitan in Yosemite National Park on Sept. 11. The climb is the culmination of a three-day hike, which for many of the vets has had the therapeutic effect of reproducing a combat patrol — just without the bombs or bullets. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2013 NPR. Wed, 11 Sep 2013 21:13:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 34786 at http://nhpr.org Vets Mark Sept. 11 Anniversary With Yosemite Climb Hasan Could Receive Death Penalty After Guilty Verdict http://nhpr.org/post/hasan-could-receive-death-penalty-after-guilty-verdict A military jury has unanimously convicted Major Nidal Hasan of 13 counts of pre-meditated murder in the attack on Fort Hood. Hasan could now face the death penalty. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 21:01:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 33739 at http://nhpr.org Justice Department Sues Texas Over Strict Voter ID Law http://nhpr.org/post/justice-department-sues-texas-over-strict-voter-id-law The Justice Department is suing the state of Texas over its strict voter ID law, saying it discriminates against minorities. The attorney general also wants a judge to order Texas to get federal permission before it changes its election procedures. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 21:08:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 33663 at http://nhpr.org Unemployment Claims Drop To Pre-Recession Levels http://nhpr.org/post/unemployment-claims-drop-pre-recession-levels More than 330,000 people filed new claims for unemployment insurance benefits last week. That sounds like a big number — and is a slight increase over the previous week — but it's being taken as some very good news. For a month, now, fewer new people are asking for unemployment insurance than at any time since November, 2007. That's before the Great Recession. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 21:08:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 33668 at http://nhpr.org Fukushima Nuclear Plant Leaking 300 Tons Of Tainted Water Daily http://nhpr.org/post/fukushima-nuclear-plant-leaking-300-tons-tainted-water-daily Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Now to Japan for an update on the troubled Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant. It was heavily damaged by an earthquake and resulting tsunami in March 2011, leading to several meltdowns. Then yesterday, the government estimated that some 300 tons of radioactive water are pouring into the ocean each day. Meanwhile, the plant's owner has unveiled plans to seal its reactors in a wall of ice. Thu, 08 Aug 2013 22:28:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 32849 at http://nhpr.org Former Goldman Sachs Trader Found Liable For Fraud http://nhpr.org/post/former-goldman-sachs-trader-found-liable-fraud Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>You're listening to ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News.<p>In New York City today, a victory for the Securities and Exchange Commission: A federal jury held former Goldman Sachs trader Fabrice Tourre liable on six of the seven counts against him. The SEC had accused Tourre of intentionally misleading investors about a mortgage-backed security just as the housing sector was beginning to collapse. The investment created huge losses.<p>For more on the verdict, we're joined by NPR's Dan Bobkoff, who's been watching the trial. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 20:54:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 32403 at http://nhpr.org White House Proposes Major Changes To Corporate Tax Code http://nhpr.org/post/white-house-proposes-major-changes-corporate-tax-code President Obama traveled to Tennessee on Tuesday, another event in his recent push to emphasize jobs and the economy. Tue, 30 Jul 2013 20:26:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 32242 at http://nhpr.org