Claudio Sanchez http://nhpr.org en Federal Loans Tough To Come By For Community College Students http://nhpr.org/post/federal-loans-tough-come-community-college-students Tuition and fees at most community colleges are pretty reasonable these days, about $3,500 a year. Which is why the vast majority of community college students don't take out loans to cover their costs. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:54:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 52009 at http://nhpr.org Federal Loans Tough To Come By For Community College Students College For Free: Tulsa's Radical Idea http://nhpr.org/post/college-free-tulsa-radical-idea The average cost of one college year across all degree-granting intuitions in the U.S. was more than $19,000 in 2012, and we don't need to tell you what direction the price is heading. Which means lots of students are now borrowing heavily to make college work. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 07:37:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 50021 at http://nhpr.org College For Free: Tulsa's Radical Idea Despite Expansion, Many Pre-K Programs Fail To Reach Immigrant Kids http://nhpr.org/post/despite-expansion-many-pre-k-programs-fail-reach-immigrant-kids Most states have embarked on a significant expansion of preschool programs, but a new report says they appear to be missing the kids who need these programs most: low-income, immigrant children. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 20:28:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 49575 at http://nhpr.org Department Of Education Brings Home A Disappointing Report Card http://nhpr.org/post/department-education-brings-home-disappointing-report-card Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Flat, stagnant, static, those are words that the U.S. Department of Education has used to describe the latest reading and math scores for the nation's 12th graders.<p>As NPR's Claudio Sanchez reports, most high school seniors appear to be graduating without the skills they need to succeed in college or work.<p>CLAUDIO SANCHEZ, BYLINE: If this was your teenager's report card, you'd probably be on the phone with your kid's school right now, demanding to know why your child's reading and math scores have remained so low for so long. Wed, 07 May 2014 21:11:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 48105 at http://nhpr.org Who's Getting Preschool Right? Researchers Point To Tulsa http://nhpr.org/post/whos-getting-preschool-right-researchers-point-tulsa Many educators say quality early childhood education programs give young children a strong foundation for kindergarten and beyond.<p>But what does a high-quality preschool program look like? Early childhood education researchers point to Tulsa, Okla., as a school system that gets it right. NPR's education team went to Tulsa to find out what help sets the city's preschool program apart. <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/22/304563233/what-exactly-is-high-quality-preschool">You can read more about what they found — and visit a Tulsa preschool classroom, here</a>. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 47207 at http://nhpr.org Who's Getting Preschool Right? Researchers Point To Tulsa What Exactly Is 'High-Quality' Preschool? http://nhpr.org/post/what-exactly-high-quality-preschool <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbWRWeVe1XE</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 47157 at http://nhpr.org What Exactly Is 'High-Quality' Preschool? For Early Childhood Education, Tulsa, Okla., Stands Out http://nhpr.org/post/early-childhood-education-tulsa-okla-stands-out The federal government spends almost $8 billion on preschool programs across the country, mostly on low income 4-year-olds. States spend billions more. But with at least 30 states planning to expand access to pre-K and President Obama promoting "preschool for all," what constitutes a quality preschool program?<p>NPR's education team set out to better understand what separates the nation's best programs from the rest, and that journey led to a surprising place: Tulsa, Okla. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 47158 at http://nhpr.org For Early Childhood Education, Tulsa, Okla., Stands Out Common Core Turns Business Leaders Against Oklahoma GOP http://nhpr.org/post/common-core-turns-business-leaders-against-oklahoma-gop Mike Neal gets annoyed when he talks about politicians in his state. Just three years ago, when the Common Core State Standards for education were implemented, no one had a problem with them, says Neal, president of the Tulsa, Okla., Regional Chamber of Commerce.<p>"It's been a really frustrating situation to the business community in Oklahoma in that we've all been on the same page, from the governor, the House, the Senate, school board members," Neal says. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:49:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 46238 at http://nhpr.org Common Core Turns Business Leaders Against Oklahoma GOP College Board Previews Revisions To SAT http://nhpr.org/post/college-board-previews-revisions-sat Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>The College Board made a big announcement yesterday; it is overhauling the SAT. This is the second major revision of the widely used college entrance exam in nine years. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 10:15:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 44608 at http://nhpr.org College Board Breaks Out Red Pen For SAT Corrections http://nhpr.org/post/college-board-breaks-out-red-pen-sat-corrections Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>The most widely used measure of a student's readiness for college is getting a makeover. The College Board is changing the SAT. It's the second major revision of the test in nine years.<p>NPR's Claudio Sanchez joins us now to tell us what the new SAT might look like. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 44592 at http://nhpr.org Teachers Unions Mobilize To Delay The Common Core http://nhpr.org/post/teachers-unions-mobilize-delay-common-core Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The nation's largest teachers union is calling for a delay in the adoption of the Common Core. That's the name of new math and language arts standards that are supposed to be in place next fall in 45 states. The 3 million-member National Education Association has been a strong supporter. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:48:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 44208 at http://nhpr.org Survey: Students' Personal Data Are At Risk http://nhpr.org/post/survey-students-personal-data-are-risk Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Staying with the topic of computers and schools, NPR's Claudio Sanchez reports on a recent survey that found parents may have reason to worry about how schools are protecting student's personal data.<p>CLAUDIO SANCHEZ, BYLINE: The survey was conducted by Common Sense Media, which focuses on kids and media issues. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 10:31:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 43673 at http://nhpr.org Can Underfunded Community Colleges Provide More Job Training? http://nhpr.org/post/can-underfunded-community-colleges-provide-more-job-training Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Community college leaders are in Washington this week, pushing for a bigger role in getting more people to enroll in two-year schools. They're also pushing the job training that business and industry say they desperately need.<p>Still, community colleges are significantly underfunded. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 11:16:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 43419 at http://nhpr.org Part-Time Professors Demand Higher Pay; Will Colleges Listen? http://nhpr.org/post/part-time-professors-demand-higher-pay-will-colleges-listen When you think about minimum-wage workers, college professors don't readily come to mind. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 42926 at http://nhpr.org Part-Time Professors Demand Higher Pay; Will Colleges Listen? Obama Expected To Propose Expanding Preschool Programs http://nhpr.org/post/obama-expected-propose-expanding-preschool-programs President Obama is expected to propose an expansion of preschool programs in his State of the Union Address. Most states have bought into the idea and restored funding for the programs. What's less clear is where the long-term funding is going to come from, and whether the quality of these programs are worth the investment. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 42550 at http://nhpr.org