Hansi Lo Wang http://nhpr.org en In Asian-Majority District, House Race Divides Calif. Voters http://nhpr.org/post/asian-majority-district-house-race-divides-calif-voters In the heated race for a congressional seat in northern California, Mai Xuan Nguyen fought for her candidate with another cold call.<p>"Yes, that's K, H, A, N, N, A," she patiently explained in Vietnamese to a potential voter, spelling out her choice for Congress, Democrat Ro Khanna, as she marked her call list one recent evening at a coffeehouse in San Jose, Calif.<p>It was all part of Nguyen's role in an only-in-America scene: a Vietnamese-language phone bank for an Indian-American lawyer, who's challenging a Japanese-American congressman.<p>In fact, there are two second-generation Indian-Am Mon, 21 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 47088 at http://nhpr.org In Asian-Majority District, House Race Divides Calif. Voters In Silicon Valley, Immigrants Toast Their Way To The Top http://nhpr.org/post/silicon-valley-immigrants-toast-their-way-top Public speaking can be nerve-wracking whatever your native tongue. It can be especially difficult for immigrants who speak English as a second language.<p>In California's Silicon Valley, some immigrant tech workers strengthen their voices by joining public speaking support groups like Toastmasters clubs.<p>Members usually meet once a week to practice giving speeches, which are timed to the second and judged for grammar and presentation. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 47042 at http://nhpr.org In Silicon Valley, Immigrants Toast Their Way To The Top The Harlem Hellfighters: Fighting Racism In The Trenches Of WWI http://nhpr.org/post/harlem-hellfighters-fighting-racism-trenches-wwi The 369th Infantry Regiment served 191 days under enemy fire in Europe. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 23:58:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 46028 at http://nhpr.org The Harlem Hellfighters: Fighting Racism In The Trenches Of WWI Latinos Live Longer But Struggle To Save Enough For Retirement http://nhpr.org/post/latinos-live-longer-struggle-save-enough-retirement Many American workers find themselves financially unprepared for retirement. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 23:04:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 45775 at http://nhpr.org Latinos Live Longer But Struggle To Save Enough For Retirement Changing Demographics A Factor In Rhode Island's Gubernatorial Race http://nhpr.org/post/changing-demographics-factor-rhode-islands-gubernatorial-race Parades, social clubs and awards dinners are part of the routine of political campaigns everywhere. But if you're running to be Rhode Island's next governor, then there's one more stop you just can't miss.<br /> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 12:22:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 44932 at http://nhpr.org Changing Demographics A Factor In Rhode Island's Gubernatorial Race To Play The Part, Actors Must Talk The Talk — In Chinese http://nhpr.org/post/play-part-actors-must-talk-talk-chinese The success of the Netflix series <em>House of Cards</em> lies in the details.<p>The show has consulted with <a href="http://www.boston.com/business/innovation/blogs/inside-the-hive/2014/02/21/house-cards-called-boston-hacker-gregg-housh-give-series-tech-authentic-touch/vJL9SCuowDJ7VlyE0BgC2O/blog.html" target="_blank">computer hackers</a> and <a href="http://blogs.wsj.com/chinarealtime/2014/02/19/house-of-cards-writer-on-china-u-s-and-power/" target="_blank">political scientists</a> on storylines. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 23:40:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 44218 at http://nhpr.org To Play The Part, Actors Must Talk The Talk — In Chinese Asian-American Contestant, 'Villain' Of 'Jeopardy,' Set To Return http://nhpr.org/post/asian-american-contestant-villain-jeopardy-set-return If there are any unwritten rules to playing <em>Jeopardy!</em> Arthur Chu may have broken them all.<p>During his four-day winning streak in late January, he sometimes interrupted host Alex Trebek and cut in before the host could finish a sentence. Sat, 22 Feb 2014 00:53:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 43979 at http://nhpr.org Asian-American Contestant, 'Villain' Of 'Jeopardy,' Set To Return For Abused Native American Women, New Law Provides A 'Ray Of Hope' http://nhpr.org/post/abused-native-american-women-new-law-provides-ray-hope This Thursday, three Native American tribes are changing how they administer justice.<p>For almost four decades, a U.S. Supreme Court ruling has barred tribes from prosecuting non-American Indian defendants. But as part of last year's re-authorization of the Violence Against Women Act, a new program now allows tribes to try some non-Indian defendants in domestic abuse cases.<p>It will be another year before the program expands to other eligible federally-recognized tribes around the country in March 2015. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:07:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 43917 at http://nhpr.org For Abused Native American Women, New Law Provides A 'Ray Of Hope' After Tour, Medal For WWII Japanese-American Soldiers Returns Home http://nhpr.org/post/after-tour-medal-wwii-japanese-american-soldiers-returns-home <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C83Vd0Qx3sk</p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:49:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 43806 at http://nhpr.org After Tour, Medal For WWII Japanese-American Soldiers Returns Home Walking Down The Widening Aisle Of Interracial Marriages http://nhpr.org/post/walking-down-widening-aisle-interracial-marriages <em>Editor's Note: Code Switch has been engaged in a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2014/02/14/276543080/what-we-learned-from-our-month-long-exploration-of-xculturelove" target="_blank">month-long exploration</a> of <em>romance across racial and cultural lines</em>. Sat, 15 Feb 2014 16:53:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 43633 at http://nhpr.org Walking Down The Widening Aisle Of Interracial Marriages National Puerto Rican Day Parade Reorganizes After Misuse Of Funds http://nhpr.org/post/ny-attorney-general-reins-national-puerto-rican-day-parade The National Puerto Rican Day Parade will be marching down New York City's Fifth Avenue under new leadership this year.<p>On Thursday, <a href="http://www.ag.ny.gov/press-release/ag-schneiderman-joins-city-council-speaker-and-community-leaders-announcing-new" target="_blank">New York State Attorney General Eric Schneiderman announced</a> that three members of the parade's board of directors, including President Madelyn Lugo and her husband, General Coordinator Luis Rivera, have stepped down. Ten new directors will join the three remaining directors on the all-volunteer board. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 19:39:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 43520 at http://nhpr.org National Puerto Rican Day Parade Reorganizes After Misuse Of Funds 'Still Turning Heads' At Lunar New Year, An All-Female Lion Dance Troupe http://nhpr.org/post/still-turning-heads-lunar-new-year-all-female-lion-dance-troupe <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPnv_BBL_eg</p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 42816 at http://nhpr.org 'Still Turning Heads' At Lunar New Year, An All-Female Lion Dance Troupe Even As Ban Lifts, Many Remain Wary Of Tap Water http://nhpr.org/post/even-ban-lifts-many-remain-wary-tap-water Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>It's day seven of West Virginia's water crisis. More than half of households and businesses affected by last week's chemical spill now have safe tap water, that's according to the local utility, West Virginia American Water. Officials say they've been routinely testing for lingering traces of the chemical. Out of an abundance of caution thought, authorities are advising pregnant women to drink only bottled water until further notice. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 22:21:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 41909 at http://nhpr.org W.Va. Businesses Regroup After Tap Water Is Restored http://nhpr.org/post/wva-businesses-regroup-after-tap-water-restored The area around Charleston is slowly coming back to life after last week's chemical spill that contaminated the water supply. The ban on tap water has been lifted in downtown Charleston, which is good news to restaurants and other small businesses. But restaurants and laundromats in neighboring towns unaffected by the ban are serving long lines of customers in areas still without access to drinkable tap water. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 10:21:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 41865 at http://nhpr.org West Virginia Tap Water Ban Awaits A Good Flush http://nhpr.org/post/west-virginia-tap-water-ban-awaits-good-flush Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>Faucets in parts of West Virginia are running drinkable water again. This after a chemical spill leaked into the Elk River and tainted the local water supply. Mon, 13 Jan 2014 22:31:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 41772 at http://nhpr.org