Foodstuffs http://nhpr.org en Blueberry Season Promises Picking, Pies, Possibilities http://nhpr.org/post/blueberry-season-promises-picking-pies-possibilities <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">The blueberries are ripe and ready to pick at Apple Hill Farm in Concord.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:33:21 +0000 Michael Samuels 52476 at http://nhpr.org Blueberry Season Promises Picking, Pies, Possibilities Barter Your Homemade and Homegrown Foodstuffs Sunday At Seacoast Swap http://nhpr.org/post/barter-your-homemade-and-homegrown-foodstuffs-sunday-seacoast-swap <p>About 40&nbsp;foodies are expected to show up at the Seacoast’s first community <a href="https://www.facebook.com/seacoastfoodswap/info">Food Swap</a> this Sunday at Frank Jones Mansion in Portsmouth.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Organizer Erin Urquhart says it works like this:</span></p><blockquote><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">You get together and one person says 'ok I have two cans of blueberry jam, I have two pounds of carrots, I’m willing to swap for that,' and someone behind you says 'I have a sheet of brownies that I made, I want that instead.'</span></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:13:49 +0000 Emily Corwin 52208 at http://nhpr.org Barter Your Homemade and Homegrown Foodstuffs Sunday At Seacoast Swap After The Shortage, Limes Return In Time For Midsummer Cocktails http://nhpr.org/post/after-shortage-limes-return-time-midsummer-cocktails <p><span style="font-size: medium; line-height: 1.5;">A Mexican lime shortage&nbsp;had some NH bar owners worried.&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Margaritas, </span>mojitos<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, gin and tonics... w</span><font size="3">hen you think of summer drinks, there's probably a lime in the picture. But up until a few weeks ago, this summer looked pretty grim – at least lime-wise.</font></p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 20:55:13 +0000 Michael Samuels 52034 at http://nhpr.org After The Shortage, Limes Return In Time For Midsummer Cocktails Foodstuffs: New Hampshire Crowdfunders Will Not Be Deterred By Potato Salad! http://nhpr.org/post/foodstuffs-new-hampshire-crowdfunders-will-not-be-deterred-potato-salad <p>The world of crowdfunding is awash in potato salad, thanks to a spud enthusiast in Ohio called Zack Danger Brown. Promising only that, upon raising ten dollars, he was going to make potato salad – “I haven't decided what kind yet” – <a href="https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/324283889/potato-salad">Brown raised nearly $50,000 in two weeks on Kickstarter</a>. (The total was well over $70,000 before <a href="http://www.buzzfeed.com/andrewziegler/the-potato-salad-kickstarter-guy-lost-30000">Kickstarter cancelled several donations it said couldn’t be verified</a>.)</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 19:06:47 +0000 Brady Carlson 51899 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: New Hampshire Crowdfunders Will Not Be Deterred By Potato Salad! Foodstuffs: Summer Plans For Winter Greens http://nhpr.org/post/foodstuffs-summer-plans-winter-greens <p>Winter feels far away right now, but farmers looking to grow winter crops - and there are a growing number of them -&nbsp; are starting to think about what they’ll put in their greenhouses.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:18:31 +0000 Brady Carlson 51706 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: Summer Plans For Winter Greens A Sixpack Of Coffee At Your Cookout? http://nhpr.org/post/sixpack-coffee-your-cookout <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">A Bedford coffee roaster offers a different kind of buzz.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Fri, 04 Jul 2014 00:59:54 +0000 Michael Samuels 51237 at http://nhpr.org A Sixpack Of Coffee At Your Cookout? Foodstuffs: A Neighborhood Market Searches For A Neighborhood http://nhpr.org/post/foodstuffs-neighborhood-market-searches-neighborhood <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A food market can be a cultural center for a neighborhood. The owner of an Asian market in Manchester is hoping to become just that, but first he must find a new space for his store. To learn more about the Saigon Asian Market we turned to Mark Hayward of the Union Leader who <a href="http://www.unionleader.com/article/20140617/NEWS02/140619022&amp;source=RSS" target="_blank">has written about the market’s struggle with the Manchester Zoning Board of Adjustment</a>:</span></p><p></p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 21:21:15 +0000 Brady Carlson 50840 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: A Neighborhood Market Searches For A Neighborhood Map: Where To Go Strawberry Picking In New Hampshire http://nhpr.org/post/map-where-go-strawberry-picking-new-hampshire <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Strawberry picking is a New Hampshire tradition that dates back to the days when “all natural” was a given, not a gimmick. There are over 20 farms throughout the state that offer the chance to “Pick-Your-Own” pint (or quart—more berries just means more jam).&nbsp;</span></p><p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Related story: <a href="http://nhpr.org/post/sweet-science-and-big-business-strawberry-picking">The Sweet Science (And Big Business) Of Strawberry Picking</a></span></em></p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:35:42 +0000 Halina Loft 50839 at http://nhpr.org Map: Where To Go Strawberry Picking In New Hampshire Salem Program Teaches A New Group Of 'Junior Chefs' http://nhpr.org/post/salem-program-teaches-new-group-junior-chefs <p>The school year is drawing to a close, but next week a group of teens in Salem are heading back to the classroom - and the kitchen.</p><p>They're taking part in the Junior Chef program, a partnership between the <a href="http://www.salembgc.org/portal/" target="_blank">Boys and Girls Club of Greater Salem</a> and the <a href="http://www.tuscanbrands.com/kitchen/" target="_blank">Tuscan Kitchen</a> restaurant.</p><p><strong>Eddie Payne</strong> is an executive chef with the Tuscan Kitchen. He describes the program to NHPR's Brady Carlson.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:25:50 +0000 Brady Carlson 50846 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: The New Hampshire Ice Cream Trail http://nhpr.org/post/foodstuffs-new-hampshire-ice-cream-trail <p>There are plenty of trails that lead to scenic vistas.&nbsp; Up mountains, down into valleys.&nbsp; But there's only one that leads to ice cream: The New Hampshire Ice Cream trail.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Somewhere in a New Hampshire field, a cow, fawn colored, like a big deer, lifts her head from the tall grasses...</span></p><p>A Jersey cow, she has no idea that the milk she makes from the grass and hay and grain she eats is high in butterfat - about 5%, which makes her milk ideal for ice cream.</p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Sean Hurley 50045 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: The New Hampshire Ice Cream Trail Foodstuffs: A Brewery In The North Country http://nhpr.org/post/foodstuffs-brewery-north-country <p>A family from Michigan is behind a newly opened brewery in the North Country.&nbsp; Schilling Beer Company is located in an old grist mill next to the Ammonoosuc River in Littleton.</p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 19:11:35 +0000 Chris Jensen 49675 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: A Brewery In The North Country Armchair Tour of Smuttynose's New Brewery in Hampton http://nhpr.org/post/armchair-tour-smuttynoses-new-brewery-hampton <p>Smuttynose Brewing Company's new brewery opens Saturday in Hampton, NH. &nbsp;Below is an audio postcard in which Smuttynose's&nbsp;"Master of Propoganda," JT Thompson, gives a tour of the $24 million energy efficient brewery, which produces 65,000 barrels of beer each day.</p><p></p> Fri, 30 May 2014 03:45:17 +0000 Emily Corwin 49414 at http://nhpr.org Armchair Tour of Smuttynose's New Brewery in Hampton Concord Event Celebrates The Art Of Grilling Done Safely http://nhpr.org/post/concord-event-celebrates-art-grilling-done-safely <p align="LEFT" style="margin-bottom: 12px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.5px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51);">&nbsp;</p> Thu, 22 May 2014 19:15:26 +0000 Michael Brindley 48978 at http://nhpr.org Concord Event Celebrates The Art Of Grilling Done Safely Asparagus Rewards Patience http://nhpr.org/post/asparagus-rewards-patience <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">Winter has finally left New Hampshire, and locavores can get their hands on a spring favorite.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 15 May 2014 22:32:48 +0000 Michael Samuels 48475 at http://nhpr.org Asparagus Rewards Patience At UNH Dairy Bar, Education In The Salad http://nhpr.org/post/unh-dairy-bar-education-salad <p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in"><font size="3">An on-campus eatery makes sustainability a learning experience.</font></p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 08 May 2014 18:54:54 +0000 Michael Samuels 48138 at http://nhpr.org At UNH Dairy Bar, Education In The Salad