Shankar Vedantam http://nhpr.org en When Work Becomes A Haven From Stress At Home http://nhpr.org/post/when-work-becomes-haven-stress-home In the land that came up with the phrase "Thank God it's Friday," and a restaurant chain to capitalize on the sense of relief many feel as the work week ends, researchers made an unusual finding in 2012.<p>Moms who worked full time reported significantly better physical and mental health than moms who worked part time, research involving more than 2,500 mothers found. And mothers who worked part time reported better health than moms who didn't work at all.<p>Working and juggling family responsibilities can be stressful. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 07:30:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 51929 at http://nhpr.org When Work Becomes A Haven From Stress At Home Some Parole Requirements Could Be Increasing The Crime Rate http://nhpr.org/post/some-parole-requirements-could-be-increasing-crime-rate Prisoners who are released invariably make it back to the areas where they came from. Does this have a positive or negative effect on crime? Research triggered by Hurricane Katrina offers insight. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 51488 at http://nhpr.org Safety Feature For Pedestrians Has Undesired Consequence http://nhpr.org/post/safety-feature-pedestrians-has-undesired-consequence New analysis finds that the countdown clocks telling pedestrians how much time they have to cross the intersection actually increase traffic crashes. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 51128 at http://nhpr.org How To Sell Green Products To The Self-Regarding Consumer http://nhpr.org/post/how-sell-green-products-self-regarding-consumer Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>When consumers think about green products, they often face a dilemma - that car that uses less gasoline or a more efficient refrigerator tends to cost more. Buyers have to choose whether money is more important to them than public good. Now new research shows there might be a way to boost interest in these products, at least among a core group of consumers. NPR social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam is here to talk with us about that. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:36:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 50889 at http://nhpr.org 6 Decades Of Research Examines Prisoners Of War http://nhpr.org/post/6-decades-research-examines-prisoners-war Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>The Taliban's recent release of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl has prompted a firestorm of political debate. Bergdahl was captured by the Taliban after he wandered away from his unit in Afghanistan. Some have rushed to brand him a deserter and a traitor. Other,s including his friends and family, have rushed to his defense. Today we step away from that debate to look at what we've learned about the psychological effects of being captured in wartime. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 50549 at http://nhpr.org More Americans Than You Might Think Believe In Conspiracy Theories http://nhpr.org/post/more-americans-you-might-think-believe-conspiracy-theories Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>NPR's social science correspondent, Shankar Vedantam, drops by with juicy new research. He's here with us again. Shankar, what's on your mind?<p>SHANKAR VEDANTAM, BYLINE: I want to talk about conspiracy theories today, David. And this is everything from whether the U.S. government was secretly behind the 9/11 attacks to whether President Obama was actually born in the United States. What proportion of the U.S population would you say subscribes to one of these theories?<p>GREENE: Ten, 15 percent, maybe? Wed, 04 Jun 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 49664 at http://nhpr.org Research: Americans Less Fearful Of Storms With Female Names http://nhpr.org/post/research-americans-less-fearful-storms-female-names A new analysis suggests unconscious sexism causes people to take hurricanes with female names less seriously than hurricanes with male names. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 09:31:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 49597 at http://nhpr.org What's In A Grunt — Or A Sigh, Or A Sob? Depends On Where You Hear It http://nhpr.org/post/whats-grunt-or-sigh-or-sob-depends-where-you-hear-it Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR news this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Hear a laugh, you know someone's happy. Hear a sob, you know someone is sad. Or are they? It's been thought that no matter where you live in the world, people express emotions using the same repertoire of sounds. Fri, 30 May 2014 20:50:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 49470 at http://nhpr.org Research: Children Of Judges May Influence Court Decisions http://nhpr.org/post/research-children-judges-may-influence-court-decisions It's been suspected that judges are swayed by their personal beliefs and affiliations. An analysis found that judges become more likely to rule in "pro-feminist" ways if the judges have daughters. Wed, 28 May 2014 10:40:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 49280 at http://nhpr.org Mating Rituals: Why Certain Risky Behaviors Can Make You Look Hot http://nhpr.org/post/mating-rituals-why-certain-risky-behaviors-can-make-you-look-hot Social science research suggests risky behavior such as braving heights or swimming in deep waters increases your sex appeal. Driving without a seat belt? Not so much. Wed, 21 May 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 48865 at http://nhpr.org Why Reporting On Scientific Research May Warp Findings http://nhpr.org/post/why-reporting-scientific-research-may-warp-findings Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Next we're going to report on scientific research, in particular on the way that reporting on scientific research might actually warp the findings. Scientists face pressure to publish new discoveries, which in turn might influence what they study, and that, of course, is not necessarily a good thing. There's work being published today that's part of an effort to fix this problem. Mon, 19 May 2014 10:36:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 48725 at http://nhpr.org Study: Time Away Can Hurt Surgeons' Job Performance http://nhpr.org/post/study-time-away-can-hurt-surgeons-job-performance Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>This next story begins with an old saying among musicians: If I miss one day of practice, I notice it. If I miss two days, the critics notice it. If I miss three days of practice, the audience will notice. A study found evidence that saying applies to surgeons, and lives may be at stake.<p>NPR's Shankar Vedantam has been looking at the results of that study. He's in our studios. Hi, Shankar.<p>SHANKAR VEDANTAM, BYLINE: Good morning, Steve.<p>INSKEEP: What was the research?<p>Well, let me set the stage for you. Thu, 08 May 2014 11:41:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 48136 at http://nhpr.org Evidence Of Racial, Gender Biases Found In Faculty Mentoring http://nhpr.org/post/evidence-racial-gender-biases-found-faculty-mentoring Research found faculty in academic departments linked to more lucrative professions are more likely to discriminate against women and minorities than faculty in fields linked to less lucrative jobs. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 08:56:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 47160 at http://nhpr.org Air Force Academy Squadrons Test Peer-Effect Assumptions http://nhpr.org/post/air-force-academy-squadrons-test-peer-effect-assumptions Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>Parents and educators have long assumed that peers matter. If you are at a high school or college where you are surrounded by serious students, you're more likely to take your studies seriously. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 09:04:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 45638 at http://nhpr.org Military Conflict Decisions: Why Weakness Leads To Aggression http://nhpr.org/post/military-conflict-decisions-why-weakness-leads-aggression Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>From Syria to Afghanistan, to Russia and Ukraine, the United States finds itself confronting some major foreign policy challenges. There are old rivalries and new one testing the limits of the United States.<p>NPR social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam regularly joins us to talk about matters related to individual and organizational behavior, but today, he's found some new research that's relevant to the way we think about foreign conflicts and he's in our studios. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 08:57:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 44784 at http://nhpr.org