Michael Samuels http://nhpr.org en A Sixpack Of Coffee At Your Cookout? http://nhpr.org/post/sixpack-coffee-your-cookout <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">A Bedford coffee roaster offers a different kind of buzz.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Fri, 04 Jul 2014 00:59:54 +0000 Michael Samuels 51237 at http://nhpr.org A Sixpack Of Coffee At Your Cookout? Tech, Environmentalism And Agriculture Converge For iFARM http://nhpr.org/post/tech-environmentalism-and-agriculture-converge-ifarm <p style="margin-bottom: 0in;">&nbsp;</p><p><span style="font-size: medium; line-height: 1.5;">A big part of farming and conservation is finding creative solutions on a budget.</span></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in;"> Fri, 23 May 2014 10:55:00 +0000 Michael Samuels 49006 at http://nhpr.org Tech, Environmentalism And Agriculture Converge For iFARM Asparagus Rewards Patience http://nhpr.org/post/asparagus-rewards-patience <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">Winter has finally left New Hampshire, and locavores can get their hands on a spring favorite.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 15 May 2014 22:32:48 +0000 Michael Samuels 48475 at http://nhpr.org Asparagus Rewards Patience Thousands Flock To Sheep & Wool Festival http://nhpr.org/post/thousands-flock-sheep-wool-festival <p style="margin-bottom: 0in;">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in;"><font size="3">Fiber-bearing animals, and the next generation of shepherds, are the focus of the 38<sup>th</sup> annual event.</font></p><p> Sat, 10 May 2014 23:31:21 +0000 Michael Samuels 48285 at http://nhpr.org Thousands Flock To Sheep & Wool Festival At UNH Dairy Bar, Education In The Salad http://nhpr.org/post/unh-dairy-bar-education-salad <p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in"><font size="3">An on-campus eatery makes sustainability a learning experience.</font></p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 08 May 2014 18:54:54 +0000 Michael Samuels 48138 at http://nhpr.org At UNH Dairy Bar, Education In The Salad Candy, Cashews & Continuity: 100 Years At Marelli's http://nhpr.org/post/candy-cashews-continuity-100-years-marellis <p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in;">&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><span style="font-size: medium; line-height: 1.5;">Marelli's</span><span style="font-size: medium; line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Market in Hampton celebrates its centenary with a new book and a museum exhibit.</span></p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in;"> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 23:25:38 +0000 Michael Samuels 45371 at http://nhpr.org Candy, Cashews & Continuity: 100 Years At Marelli's Room For A Deer-Farming Boom http://nhpr.org/post/room-deer-farming-boom <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><span style="font-size: large; line-height: 1.5;">Raising venison is one of the fastest-growing agricultural industries in the country, but that growth has yet to reach NH.</span></p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 00:43:01 +0000 Michael Samuels 44276 at http://nhpr.org Room For A Deer-Farming Boom New Technologies Make Winter Easier For Amputees http://nhpr.org/post/new-technologies-make-winter-easier-amputees <p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in;">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in;"><font size="3">For amputees who use prosthetic limbs, winter weather can pose a range of challenges. </font></p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in;"> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Michael Samuels 42864 at http://nhpr.org New Technologies Make Winter Easier For Amputees Bedford Coffee Ranked Fifth In US http://nhpr.org/post/bedford-coffee-ranked-fifth-us <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"><font size="3">Some predict we're on the verge of a 'coffee revolution' here in NH, and a small Bedford-based roaster is leading the charge.</font></p><p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 21:08:08 +0000 Michael Samuels 41304 at http://nhpr.org Bedford Coffee Ranked Fifth In US Firewood Warms Buyers And Sellers http://nhpr.org/post/firewood-warms-buyers-and-sellers <p></p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;&nbsp;<font size="4">Winter is almost here, and for those who heat their homes with wood, that means firing up the stove.</font></p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in"> Fri, 06 Dec 2013 18:13:04 +0000 Michael Samuels 39577 at http://nhpr.org Firewood Warms Buyers And Sellers A Nice Place To Live, But Wouldn't Want To Work Here http://nhpr.org/post/nice-place-live-wouldnt-want-work-here <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"><font size="4">New Hampshire is a small state with a small job market, leading some 80,000 Granite Staters to commute to work south of the border.</font></p><p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 17:31:43 +0000 Michael Samuels 38868 at http://nhpr.org Celebrating The Dead With Chiles And Chocolate http://nhpr.org/post/celebrating-dead-chiles-and-chocolate <p></p><p><font size="4">The Day of the Dead is celebrated from October </font><font size="4">31</font><sup><font size="4">st</font></sup><font size="4"> through November </font><font size="4">2</font><sup><font size="4">nd</font></sup><font size="4">, from Latin America – and especially Mexico – to New Hampshire.</font></p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in; "> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 20:27:21 +0000 Michael Samuels 37771 at http://nhpr.org Celebrating The Dead With Chiles And Chocolate Learning To Love The Spiny Dogfish http://nhpr.org/post/learning-love-spiny-dogfish <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"><span style="font-size: large; ">The spiny dogfish is a conservation success story, going from </span>worryingly<span style="font-size: large; "> low levels to incredible abundance. The new challenge is getting people to eat them.</span></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 13:11:45 +0000 Michael Samuels 37691 at http://nhpr.org Learning To Love The Spiny Dogfish NH Department Of Agriculture Celebrates 100 Years http://nhpr.org/post/nh-department-agriculture-celebrates-100-years <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"><font size="4">The New Hampshire Department of Agriculture is celebrating its </font><font size="4">100</font><sup><font size="4">th</font></sup><font size="4"> anniversary.</font></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 22 Oct 2013 21:43:20 +0000 Michael Samuels 37231 at http://nhpr.org NH Department Of Agriculture Celebrates 100 Years The Rise Of Public School Rowing http://nhpr.org/post/rise-public-school-rowing <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"><font size="3">One of the largest rowing events in the world --The Head of the Charles Regatta – takes place in Boston this weekend. Public high schoolers from Concord and Bedford will be among the rowers.</font></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Sat, 19 Oct 2013 11:26:32 +0000 Michael Samuels 36996 at http://nhpr.org