Tom Goldman http://nhpr.org en Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://nhpr.org/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 51567 at http://nhpr.org Down Two Key Players, Brazilians Worry About World Cup Prospects http://nhpr.org/post/down-two-key-players-brazilians-worry-about-world-cup-prospects Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>Hey, thanks for sticking with us on ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. Brazilians should be celebrating today after beating Colombia 2-1 yesterday in the World Cup quarterfinals. But instead, it is not looking good. Brazil's best player - 22-year-old striker Neymar - was injured during that game - is now out for a month with a broken bone in his back. That leaves Brazilians wondering if the end of Neymar's brilliant run in the tournament also means the end of the host country's World Cup dreams. Sat, 05 Jul 2014 21:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 51400 at http://nhpr.org Continental Rivals Take Spotlight In World Cup Quarters http://nhpr.org/post/continental-rivals-take-spotlight-world-cup-quarters Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>In Brazil, tears of joy and relief as the World Cup home team won its quarterfinal against Colombia.<p>(CHEERING)<p>SIEGEL: Brazil beat Colombia 2-1 in a hard-fought game between the two South American neighbors, but as we'll hear, it was a costly victory. An earlier game today - Germany defeated France 1-nothing to move on to the World Cup final four. NPR's Tom Goldman is in Rio de Janeiro, and he joins us now. And, Tom, first of all, Brazil won. But in a way, it also lost. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 51372 at http://nhpr.org Belgium Ends U.S. Team's World Cup Hopes http://nhpr.org/post/belgium-ends-us-teams-world-cup-hopes The U.S. men's soccer team is out of the World Cup. For 90 minutes, the score was tied at 0-0, but the team lost in extra time to Belgium on Tuesday, 2-1. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 51198 at http://nhpr.org Despite Losing To Germany, U.S. Advances In World Cup http://nhpr.org/post/despite-losing-germany-us-advances-world-cup The U.S. men's soccer team moves on to the World Cup's round of 16. They lost to Germany, but advance because Portugal beat Ghana. The team will get to rest a bit before playing Belgium on Tuesday. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 09:10:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 50944 at http://nhpr.org U.S. Soccer Hopes To Shake Shadow Of Recent History Against Ghana http://nhpr.org/post/us-soccer-hopes-shake-shadow-recent-history-against-ghana Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. It's game day for the U.S. men at the World Cup in Brazil. The Americans play their first game at the tournament in just under an hour. They face Ghana, the team that's eliminated the U.S. from the previous two World Cups. NPR's Tom Goldman is in the Brazilian city of Natal for that game, and he joins me now. And Tom, before we start talking about the upcoming U.S. game, let's talk about another big match that's been played today. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 50319 at http://nhpr.org Brazil And Croatia Open World Cup Play On The Pitch http://nhpr.org/post/brazil-and-croatia-open-world-cup-play-pitch Brazil and Croatia face off in the first game of the 2014 World Cup. Organizers hope the start of the tournament directs attention back on the field and away from the problems in preparation. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:31:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 50150 at http://nhpr.org U.S. Men's Soccer Team Braces For World Cup Challenges http://nhpr.org/post/us-mens-soccer-team-braces-world-cup-challenges The World Cup begins Thursday in Brazil. The U.S. team has its first match against Ghana the following week, the start of the so called "group of death." Mon, 09 Jun 2014 12:14:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 49885 at http://nhpr.org A Campaign To Bring Back 'America's Distance': The 1-Mile Race http://nhpr.org/post/campaign-bring-back-americas-distance-1-mile-race <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_E-R97LShwA</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:32:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 49842 at http://nhpr.org A Campaign To Bring Back 'America's Distance': The 1-Mile Race Miami Heat Aims To Win Legacy-Defining 3rd Straight NBA Title http://nhpr.org/post/miami-heat-aims-win-legacy-defining-3rd-straight-nba-title Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>The NBA finals begin tonight with the numbers, three or five, figuring to play prominent roles. Here's why. Three, as in the Miami Heat are trying to win a legacy defining third straight title. Five as in the San Antonio Spurs are trying to win a fifth championship since 1999. That is dominance. That would solidify their dynasty status. These two best teams in the league are meeting for the second consecutive year in the finals. And NPR's Tom Goldman is here to tell us why Miami is already miffed before game one even starts. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 11:05:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 49734 at http://nhpr.org NFL Draft To Begin, Houston Texans Have No. 1 Pick http://nhpr.org/post/nfl-draft-begin-houston-texans-have-no-1-pick Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Tonight kicks off one of the biggest events on the NFL calendar, but there will be not one tackle made or touchdown thrown at Radio City Music Hall in New York City. Instead, just a guy in a suit, stepping up to a microphone every few minutes and saying the name of a college football player soon to be a professional football player. It is the start of the annual NFL draft, which will stretch into the weekend. Thu, 08 May 2014 11:41:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 48132 at http://nhpr.org Sterling Expected To Fight Forced Sale Of LA Clippers http://nhpr.org/post/sterling-expected-fight-forced-sale-la-clippers Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>The Donald Sterling case is far from over. Yes, the NBA has banned the L.A. Clippers' owner for life and the pro-basketball playoffs have continued. But Sterling has not revealed what he will do after being banned from the league for making racist remarks. He is expected to fight the forced sale of his team and that could have significant consequences.<p>NPR's Tom Goldman reports.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: At this point, without a Donald Sterling public statement on the way forward, we are forced to turn to those he's met in private, such as L.A. Wed, 07 May 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 48043 at http://nhpr.org NBA To Address Racial Rant Allegedly Made By Clippers Owner http://nhpr.org/post/nba-address-racial-rant-allegedly-made-clippers-owner Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>The NBA has scheduled a big announcement for this afternoon. They'll address the allegations against Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling. He's accused of going on a racist rant, all caught on an audio tape made public Friday. The situation has infuriated people in the NBA and also elsewhere. It's certainly become a major distraction for the Clippers, who are trying to focus on basketball.<p>They face Golden State tonight for Game 5 of their first round series, which is tied. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 10:54:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 47569 at http://nhpr.org NBA Weighs Penalties After Sterling's Alleged Race Remarks Surface http://nhpr.org/post/nba-weighs-penalties-after-sterlings-alleged-race-remarks-surface Controversy is swirling around racist comments allegedly made by Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling. The NBA is exploring its potential responses as it investigates the allegations. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 47552 at http://nhpr.org Northwestern Players To Vote On Historic Union Question http://nhpr.org/post/northwestern-players-vote-historic-union-question Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It is an historic day at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. Seventy-six scholarship football players are eligible to vote on whether or not to form the first labor union for college athletes.<p>Today's vote was set up by a National Labor Relations Board ruling last month that said players qualified as employees of the university, giving them the right to unionize.<p>NPR sports correspondent Tom Goldman joins us now to help us sort this out. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 47383 at http://nhpr.org