Tom Goldman http://nhpr.org en NBA's Regular Season Ends Wednesday, NHL Playoffs Begin http://nhpr.org/post/nbas-regular-season-ends-wednesday-nhl-playoffs-begin Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It is time for sports now. March Madness is over. The Masters Golf Tournament is over. But there's absolutely no time at all for sports fans to catch their collective breath, not with the National Hockey League playoffs starting tonight and the NBA playoffs starting this weekend.<p>NPR's Tom Goldman is here to set the proverbial table for us. Tom, good morning.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: Good morning, David.<p>GREENE: Let's start with hockey. I know you're as excited as I am about the NHL playoffs. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 46838 at http://nhpr.org Kentucky Wildcats To Play UConn Huskies In NCAA Final http://nhpr.org/post/kentucky-wildcats-play-uconn-huskies-ncaa-final Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>OK, it's championship week in Division 1 college basketball. Kentucky plays Connecticut tonight for the men's title. And tomorrow, two undefeated teams play for the women's championship. They are Connecticut and Notre Dame.<p>NPR's Tom Goldman is in Dallas, he's on the line. Hi, Tom.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: Hiya, Steve.<p>INSKEEP: OK, so Kentucky got to the championship game by winning by a single point over Wisconsin, which is how they've won a lot of games. Can we expect another close one tonight?<p>GOLDMAN: You certainly can. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 09:19:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 46301 at http://nhpr.org UConn To Face Kentucky In NCAA Final http://nhpr.org/post/uconn-face-kentucky-ncaa-final The matchup is set for Monday's men's NCAA basketball championship. The Connecticut Huskies will take on the Kentucky Wildcats. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 46278 at http://nhpr.org Labor Ruling May Be Tipping Point For College Sports http://nhpr.org/post/labor-ruling-may-be-tipping-point-college-sports Last week, a National Labor Relations Board ruling gave football players at Northwestern University the right to unionize. Northwestern is challenging the decision. The NCAA supports the appeal. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 09:08:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 46113 at http://nhpr.org Freshmen Wildcats Step Easily Into Storied Tradition http://nhpr.org/post/freshmen-wildcats-step-easily-storied-tradition Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>It is the last day of March, but there's still another weekend of March Madness to come. Four teams gather in Dallas this weekend for the Final Four. If you go strictly by seeding, the University of Kentucky is the longest shot to win the men's college basketball title. In fact, though, the eighth-seeded Wildcats suddenly are a very hot favorite after yesterday's thrilling win over Michigan in the Elite Eight.<p>Once again, head coach John Calipari has brought a freshman-heavy team to the brink of a championship. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 45937 at http://nhpr.org Kentucky Ends Wichita State's Unbeaten Season http://nhpr.org/post/kentucky-ends-wichita-states-unbeaten-season Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>OK. Time for an update on March Madness and first condolences are in order for the state of Kansas. Two of its highly regarded men's college basketball teams are out of the tournament. And in addition to condolences to Kansas, I can hear a lot of brackets shredding all over the country. The University of Kansas, a number two seed, lost yesterday to Stanford 70-to-67.<p>And also the undefeated Wichita State Shockers are undefeated no more. They lost to Kentucky in a thriller yesterday, 78-to76. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 09:59:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 45500 at http://nhpr.org Drought Closes Oregon Resort Before The Season Even Opens http://nhpr.org/post/draught-closes-oregon-resort-season-ever-opened Transcript <p>JACKI LYDEN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Jacki Lyden. This was supposed to be a special year for the Mount Ashland ski area in Southern Oregon as it celebrated its 50th anniversary. But after a long drought this summer, Mount Ashland had to call it a season early. Yesterday, it declared slope season was over due to a lack of snow. Sat, 15 Mar 2014 11:42:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 45113 at http://nhpr.org Jason Collins Joins Nets, Is NBA's First Openly Gay Player http://nhpr.org/post/jason-collins-joins-nets-nbas-first-openly-gay-player Jason Collins signed with the NBA's Brooklyn Nets on Sunday. With the deal, he becomes, not only the NBA's first gay player, but the first openly gay athlete active in U.S. major professional sports. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 10:05:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 44028 at http://nhpr.org NBA Teams Take A Break For The All-Star Game http://nhpr.org/post/nba-teams-take-break-all-star-game Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>There have actually been some sports going on in the world that don't require a triple axel or a backside air 1080 - although sometimes it seems like Lebron James nails both on the basketball court. James and his NBA brethren have been hard at work during the Winter Olympics, but now they're taking their annual break for the All-Star game.<p>We thought it would be a good time to check in on the league, which has a new commissioner and possibly a new Most Valuable Player. NPR's sports correspondent Tom Goldman joins us to do just that. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 43555 at http://nhpr.org Young Athletes Risk Back Injury By Playing Too Much http://nhpr.org/post/young-athletes-risk-back-injury-playing-too-much-too-soon Jack Everett sat on his living room couch wearing a back brace, eyes glued to a massive TV set playing his favorite video game, NHL 2013.<p>"I'm the Boston Bruins," the 10-year-old said as he deftly worked the video controls. "The guy that just shot was Milan Lucic. He's a really good guy on our team."<p>Whether at home or during recess at his elementary school in suburban Los Angeles, Jack's young life now is about sitting still.<p>"Well, I can eat lunch with friends, and I play cards," Jack says. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 42881 at http://nhpr.org Young Athletes Risk Back Injury By Playing Too Much Ridge Of High Pressure Blocks Snow From Oregon Ski Resort http://nhpr.org/post/ridge-high-pressure-blocks-snow-oregon-ski-resort Throughout the West, bone dry conditions are exacting a toll on places that rely on water to thrive. In southern Oregon, recreation plays an important role in the region's economy. The ongoing drought is drying up streams where fishing once was plentiful and it's left ski resorts wanting for snow. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 09:47:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 42689 at http://nhpr.org U.S. Olympic Skier Finds Team Spirit, Minus The Team http://nhpr.org/post/us-olympic-skier-finds-team-spirit-minus-team The U.S. Olympic team is taking shape in the run-up to next month's Winter Games in Russia. Mon, 20 Jan 2014 08:29:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 42118 at http://nhpr.org U.S. Olympic Skier Finds Team Spirit, Minus The Team Florida State Beat Auburn To Become College Football Champs http://nhpr.org/post/florida-state-beats-auburn-become-college-football-champs Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The Florida State Seminoles completed their undefeated run a college football championship last night. In Pasadena, here in southern California, the Seminoles won the title game of the Bowl Championship Series, the BCS, with a 34 to 31 win over the Auburn Tigers. This is the last season that will follow the controversial BCS format and NPR's Tom Goldman reports the Seminoles provided a classic finale.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: Before the thrills, it was a pretty good game at halftime, quiet enough for Roy Kramer to reflect. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 09:59:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 41364 at http://nhpr.org Many Fans Not Sad To See End Of Bowl Championship Series http://nhpr.org/post/many-fans-not-sad-see-end-bowl-championship-series On Monday night, Florida State and Auburn battle for the national college football title. It will be the last championship under the much maligned Bowl Championship Series, or BCS. A new playoff system kicks off next season, but will it be better? Mon, 06 Jan 2014 21:27:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 41336 at http://nhpr.org Kiwi Gardner Gets A Break, Told To 'Go At The Rim' http://nhpr.org/post/kiwi-gardner-gets-break-told-go-rim Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We have an update now on a hoop dream. In October, NPR's listeners heard from Kiwi Gardner, a 20-year-old, five-foot-seven inch basketball wiz from Oakland, California. Like so many talented young ballplayers, Gardner's ultimate goal was the NBA. To get there, he chose the minor league route.<p>KIWI GARDNER: I want to be able to make a D-League team this year, you know. I feel I'm at that level or I play at that level right now.<p>GREENE: Kiwi Gardner was right. He made it onto the D-League's Santa Cruz Warriors. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 11:40:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 40994 at http://nhpr.org