Tom Huizenga http://nhpr.org en Revved-up Vivaldi, Persian Bamboo And Soaring Spirituals: New Classical Albums http://nhpr.org/post/revved-vivaldi-persian-bamboo-and-soaring-spirituals-new-classical-albums It's a brave new musical world. Between downloads, iPods, music sharing websites and the good old CD, we have more easy access to the songs and symphonies we love than ever before. In this visit to <em>All Things Considered</em>, host <a href="http://www.npr.org/people/102444338/jacki-lyden" target="_blank">Jacki Lyden</a> and I explore an East meets West mashup in a concerto for Persian ney (bamboo flute) and orchestra, a young composer who treats electronic and acoustic instruments as equals, an opera star who goes back to church and a violinist who plays Vivaldi with delicious abandon. Sun, 30 Jun 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 30411 at http://nhpr.org Revved-up Vivaldi, Persian Bamboo And Soaring Spirituals: New Classical Albums Vespers, Habaneras And Early Morning Walks: New Classical Albums http://nhpr.org/post/vespers-habaneras-and-early-morning-walks-new-classical-albums Robert Frost's famous poem "The Road Not Taken" begins with the line: "Two roads diverged in a yellow wood." Frost's traveler must choose between them. But slide that metaphor over to the world of classical music and you will discover hundreds of paths to explore. Sun, 07 Apr 2013 00:37:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 25076 at http://nhpr.org Vespers, Habaneras And Early Morning Walks: New Classical Albums Measures Of Affection: Five Musical Love Letters http://nhpr.org/post/measures-affection-five-musical-love-letters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ht1OkPN6Zso</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hctOXPdaWXk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Cqz2yomToA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cibwQFbwEPs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnKBVL45VSs</p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 20:54:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 22010 at http://nhpr.org Measures Of Affection: Five Musical Love Letters Whatever Happened To The Classical Christmas Album? http://nhpr.org/post/what-ever-happened-classical-christmas-album <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rr-csOGecGc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKvoygXsRV4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NH4rSCabUWg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ONknTGUckKc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39h3VVfOoW0</p> Mon, 24 Dec 2012 20:03:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 19054 at http://nhpr.org Whatever Happened To The Classical Christmas Album? A Bald Mezzo And Three Shades Of Violin: Classical Favorites From 2012 http://nhpr.org/post/bald-mezzo-and-three-shades-violin-classical-favorites-2012 From mezzo-soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15221692/cecilia-bartoli" target="_blank">Cecilia Bartoli</a>'s ambitious revival of the early Baroque composer Agostino Stefani (and yes, she's got another outrageous album cover) to three very different roles for the violin, here's a clutch of classical albums I returned to again and again this year for sheer delight and aural inspiration. Bartoli lavishes extravagant attention on the music of a fascinating but forgotten link in the history of opera. Sun, 09 Dec 2012 20:04:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 18158 at http://nhpr.org A Bald Mezzo And Three Shades Of Violin: Classical Favorites From 2012 Elliott Carter, Giant Of American Music, Dies At 103 http://nhpr.org/post/elliott-carter-giant-american-music-dies-103 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1stGn4NA-tU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwbPwq3-PAs</p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 20:50:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 16329 at http://nhpr.org Headbanging Bruckner And Debussy In Black And White: New Classical Albums http://nhpr.org/post/headbanging-bruckner-and-debussy-black-and-white-new-classical-albums Some people are intimidated by the vastness of classical music. And while the prospect of more than 1,000 years of hits to consider may be daunting, just think instead of how many musical journeys of discovery can be made. Sun, 05 Aug 2012 19:30:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 10159 at http://nhpr.org Headbanging Bruckner And Debussy In Black And White: New Classical Albums Canadian Olympians: Win Or Lose, They Play A Good Tune http://nhpr.org/post/canadian-olympians-win-or-lose-they-play-good-tune Canadian rower <a href="http://michaelbraithwaite.ca/" target="_blank">Michael Braithwaite</a> is pumped and probably a little nervous. Wed, 01 Aug 2012 16:31:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 9917 at http://nhpr.org Canadian Olympians: Win Or Lose, They Play A Good Tune The 2012 Classical Olympians Puzzler http://nhpr.org/post/2012-classical-olympians-puzzler The <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/02/01/146169856/grumbling-excitement-build-for-london-olympics" target="_blank">grumbling</a> of Londoners and the <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/itsallpolitics/2012/07/26/157434868/romney-in-london-it-s-not-going-swimmingly" target="_blank">off-putting remarks</a> of Mitt Romney are all but forgotten now as the <a href="http://www.london2012.com/" target="_blank">2012 Summer Olympics</a> are in spectacular full swing. Mon, 30 Jul 2012 18:11:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 9766 at http://nhpr.org The 2012 Classical Olympians Puzzler A Know-It-All's Guide To Olympic Music http://nhpr.org/post/know-it-alls-guide-olympic-music <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IizWc4cJwbw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xio0TcKhRUI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZARDqznfyo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YdgWWaH7UM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsB4a--WRTs</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 13:52:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 9539 at http://nhpr.org A Know-It-All's Guide To Olympic Music Fireworks From Cuba, And Schubert That Grooves: New Classical Albums http://nhpr.org/post/fireworks-cuba-and-schubert-grooves-new-classical-albums Although it always seems fashionable to forecast the downfall of classical music, enterprising musicians both young and not so young continue to make deeply satisfying recordings. For this visit to weekends on<em> All Things Considered</em>, I was delighted to uncover the little known (at least in this country) Jorge Luis Prats, a terrifically talented Cuban pianist whose once uncertain career appears to be resurging — at 55, he has signed a handsome record deal. Then there's The Knights, a young chamber orchestra with a postmodern take on Schubert. Sat, 05 May 2012 19:41:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 4253 at http://nhpr.org Fireworks From Cuba, And Schubert That Grooves: New Classical Albums