Mandalit del Barco http://nhpr.org en Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen http://nhpr.org/post/ruby-dee-actress-who-marched-washington-and-screen Born Ruby Ann Wallace in the early 1920s in Cleveland, actress and civil rights activist Ruby Dee most identified with the part of New York City where she was raised.<p>"I don't know who I would be if I weren't this child from Harlem, this woman from Harlem. It's in me so deep," Dee told NPR's <em>Tell Me More</em> in 2007.<p>She died Wednesday of natural causes at her home in New Rochelle, N.Y., surrounded by her children and grandchildren. She was 91.<p>Dee, who took the surname of her first husband, blues singer Frankie Dee, grew up in Harlem's rich cultural neighborhood, writing poetry. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 23:43:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 50158 at http://nhpr.org Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen 'Lego Movie' Caught In Amazon's Battle With Warner Home Video http://nhpr.org/post/lego-movie-caught-amazons-battle-warner-home-video Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, BYLINE: We begin NPR's Business News with another Amazon standoff. Amazon, the giant online retailer, is in a battle with Warner Home Video. Amazon says it deserves a bigger piece of the pie, and until the company gets it it's refusing to sell Warner's forthcoming DVDs. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 50092 at http://nhpr.org In Hollywood, 50 Is The New 80: What Happens When 'It Girls' Get Old http://nhpr.org/post/hollywood-50-new-80-what-happens-when-it-girls-get-old There's no shortage of "it girls" in Hollywood — there's 31-year-old Lupita Nyongo, 24-year-old Jennifer Lawrence, 21-year-old Shailene Woodley, and even 16-year-old Elle Fanning. But what will become of their careers when they're older?<p>The industry is notoriously young; acting roles for women often dry up by the time they're 40. And in her new book <em>I See You Made an Effort, </em>Annabelle Gurwitch shares "compliments, indiginities, and survival stories" from the other side of 50.<p>"I'm 52, which is actually 82 in actress years," she says. Sat, 31 May 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 49499 at http://nhpr.org In Hollywood, 50 Is The New 80: What Happens When 'It Girls' Get Old Authors Angered Over Amazon's Dispute With Publisher Hachette http://nhpr.org/post/authors-angered-over-amazons-dispute-publisher-hachette Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We've reached a moment that probably shouldn't surprise us when it comes to the modern publishing industry. A lot of people are addicted to buying books online using Amazon. But Amazon is now in a pricing dispute with the publisher Hachette. The online giant is refusing to accept orders for upcoming books from Hachette, which has a heavy-hitting roster of authors. NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO: Some authors are furious at Amazon.<p>NINA LADEN: They don't really care. Thu, 29 May 2014 09:25:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 49355 at http://nhpr.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents http://nhpr.org/post/how-do-you-get-latino-kids-classical-music-bring-parents Outside the concert hall at Occidental College, in Los Angeles' Eagle Rock neighborhood, children are invited to test out the instruments the Santa Cecilia Orchestra will play later. Alexa Media Rodriguez, 8, says she and her family have never before been to an orchestra concert. Tue, 27 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 49266 at http://nhpr.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents Calif. Gov. Brown Urged To Expand Tax Credits For Movie Industry http://nhpr.org/post/calif-gov-brown-urged-expand-tax-credits-movie-industry The state Assembly passed a bill to offer tax incentives to film and TV production companies. Big city mayors signed a letter in support, but it's not clear Gov. Jerry Brown will sign on. Wed, 14 May 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 48454 at http://nhpr.org Hollywood Protests Against Owners Of Beverly Hills Hotel http://nhpr.org/post/hollywood-protests-against-owners-beverly-hills-hotel Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>A landmark hotel in Hollywood has become the focus of protest. The hotel is part of an international chain. The hotel chain is owned by the Sultan of Brunei. He's the ruler of a tiny Southeast Asian country that recently introduced a strict form of Islamic Sharia laws. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 48193 at http://nhpr.org A Film And Fashion Icon On Aging, And The Power Of Turtlenecks http://nhpr.org/post/film-and-fashion-icon-aging-and-power-turtlenecks Actress Diane Keaton remains an icon, decades after her Oscar-winning performance in <em>Annie Hall</em>. At 68, she's a single mother of two, once romantically linked to some of Hollywood's biggest heartthrobs and still starring in films. And she still rocks her trademark look: a bowler hat, tinted glasses, oversized clothes, scarves, gloves, long sleeves and boots — "Clothing that actually hides the body," she says. "There's a lot to hide in my case. I'm the only remaining person on earth with this particular look."<p>For our interview, I wore a turtleneck sweater. Mon, 05 May 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 47940 at http://nhpr.org A Film And Fashion Icon On Aging, And The Power Of Turtlenecks Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://nhpr.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 46966 at http://nhpr.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies Alice Herz-Sommer, Pianist And Holocaust Survivor, Dies At 110 http://nhpr.org/post/alice-herz-sommer-pianist-and-holocaust-survivor-dies-110 Renowned concert pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, once thought to be the oldest living Holocaust survivor, has died at age 110. Her story is told in the Oscar-nominated film, The Lady in Number 6. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 44075 at http://nhpr.org DirecTV: Customers Balked At Weather Channel's Reality Shows http://nhpr.org/post/directv-customers-balked-weather-channels-realtiy-shows Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>This next story began as pretty much your standard contract dispute. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 09:51:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 42006 at http://nhpr.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam http://nhpr.org/post/sunday-assembly-church-godless-picks-steam It sometimes <em>feels</em> like church in the auditorium of the Professional Musicians union in Hollywood. It's a Sunday morning, and hundreds of people are gathered to meditate, sing and listen to inspirational poetry and stories.<p>But then the live band starts up — performing songs by the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 41363 at http://nhpr.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam How 'Black Nativity' Made Its Way To The Big Screen http://nhpr.org/post/how-black-nativity-made-its-way-big-screen This season, Fox Searchlight has served audiences a three-course menu of movies with African-American casts and themes.<p>First, it served an appetizer in September, with the romantic comedy <em>Baggage Claim,</em> starring Paula Patton as a flight attendant looking for a husband in a hurry.<p>Then, in October, the studio set out a substantial main course with <em>12 Years A Slave</em>. The sweeping epic by director Steve McQueen is already an Academy Award shoo-in.<p>Now, <em>Black Nativity</em> is Fox Searchlight's dessert, a sweet Christmas tearjerker. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 23:17:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 39654 at http://nhpr.org How 'Black Nativity' Made Its Way To The Big Screen Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies http://nhpr.org/post/drummer-chico-hamilton-west-coast-jazz-mainstay-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNaSZmKL65I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXULG-UKVq8</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:29:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 39171 at http://nhpr.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen http://nhpr.org/post/ak-47s-accordions-and-angels-death-narcocorridos-hit-big-screen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaJ_hru9Qk4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNhQxWXkcw</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 39109 at http://nhpr.org AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen