Chuck Quirmbach http://nhpr.org en Manufacturing Association Wants Progress In Obama's Trade Agenda http://nhpr.org/post/manufacturing-association-wants-progress-obamas-trade-agenda Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>A leader of the U.S. manufacturing sector is calling on Congress and the president to put aside their differences. Jay Timmons, who is head of the National Association of Manufacturers, would like to see some progress on the president's trade agenda.<p>Chuck Quirmbach of Wisconsin Public Radio reports.<p>CHUCK QUIRMACH, BYLINE: Timmons was in Milwaukee to deliver his association's annual State of Manufacturing address. He says he chose Wisconsin partly because it has one of the highest percentages of workers in the manufacturing field. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 43786 at http://nhpr.org Native Americans Camp Out To Protest Wis. Mining Project http://nhpr.org/post/native-americans-camp-out-protest-wis-mining-project A dispute over a proposed iron ore mine in Wisconsin has spilled into the nearby woods. Native Americans have set up a camp to protect land near the mine site and say federal treaty rights allow the campers to stay. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 20:36:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 34365 at http://nhpr.org Donations Help Detroit Bury Unclaimed Bodies http://nhpr.org/post/donations-help-detroit-burry-unclaimed-bodies Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>And I'm Linda Wertheimer. As we've reported on Detroit's financial woes, we've told you about services the city has struggled to maintain. Scarce funding has even forced Detroit to delay burying unclaimed bodies for a year or more. Many of them are homeless people. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 10:07:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 32540 at http://nhpr.org Remembering 6 Shooting Deaths At Wisconsin Sikh Temple http://nhpr.org/post/remembering-6-shooting-deaths-wis-sikh-temple One year ago Monday, Wade Michael Page, a gunman with links to neo-Nazi groups, went to a Sikh temple in Oak Creek, Wis., and <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/archives/archive.php?thingId=158190895">killed six worshippers</a>. Family members, law enforcement and the larger community marked the anniversary over the weekend.<p>Wisconsin Gov. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 09:21:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 32536 at http://nhpr.org Remembering 6 Shooting Deaths At Wisconsin Sikh Temple Amid VP Run, Ryan Working To Keep House Seat http://nhpr.org/post/amid-vp-run-ryan-working-keep-house-seat Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Paul Ryan is not just Mitt Romney's vice presidential running mate. He is also a member of the House of Representatives from Wisconsin, of course, and a candidate for another term. Thu, 25 Oct 2012 11:05:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 15475 at http://nhpr.org Milwaukee PD Suspect Dies, Feds May Investigate http://nhpr.org/post/milwaukee-pd-suspect-dies-feds-may-investigate Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Some people in Milwaukee are asking about a possible pattern of civil rights abuses by the city's police, and they have requested a U.S. Justice Department investigation. Their request comes after a video surfaced this week showing an African-American man dying while in police custody. For several minutes the officers doubted the man's calls for help.<p>We should warn you this story contains sound that many listeners may find disturbing. It's going to last a little more than three minutes. Wed, 26 Sep 2012 09:06:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 13610 at http://nhpr.org Milwaukee Sikhs Remember Shooting Victims http://nhpr.org/post/milwaukee-sikhs-remember-shooting-victims Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>On a Tuesday in August, it's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>I am nothing but an American. Those are some of the words we are about to hear from Americans Sikhs after a shooting over the weekend. A gunman targeted a Sikh temple in Wisconsin, killing six people before police killed him. Tue, 07 Aug 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 10265 at http://nhpr.org Wisc. GOP Gather For Convention On Key Senate Race http://nhpr.org/post/wisc-gop-gather-convention-key-senate-race Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Scott Simon.<p>Republicans in Wisconsin are gathered this weekend for their annual political convention. The delegates could make an endorsement in a key Senate race this year. It is the contest to replace retiring Wisconsin Democrat Herb Kohl.<p>Now, many believe that George W. Sat, 12 May 2012 11:52:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 4671 at http://nhpr.org