recession http://nhpr.org en Employee Satisfaction In 2013 http://nhpr.org/post/employee-satisfaction-2013 <p>We’re continuing our series “How We Work: Five Years Later” by defining “employee satisfaction” in twenty-thirteen.&nbsp; During the recession, many people held onto their jobs even if they were unhappy, and many employers were unable to go above and beyond the basics. But now, there’s more attention to this issue, whether it’s flex-time, good benefits, or better pay, and how these improvements affect productivity.</p><p><strong><u>GUESTS: </u></strong></p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 38866 at http://nhpr.org Employee Satisfaction In 2013 A Look At Older Workers, Post-Recession http://nhpr.org/post/look-older-workers-post-recession <p>We continue our series with a look at older workers. Some found themselves suddenly out of a job due to recession. Now, half a decade later, we’re seeing how they’ve adjusted - and the many paths they’ve taken, by choice or necessity.</p><p><strong><u>GUESTS: </u></strong></p><ul><li><strong>Kelly Clark – </strong>state director of AARP-New Hampshire</li><li><strong>Dennis Delay</strong> – economist for the NH Center for Public Policy Studies; also New Hampshire forecast manager for the New England Economic Partnership</li></ul><p><strong><u>CALLOUTS: </u></strong></p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 38726 at http://nhpr.org A Look At Older Workers, Post-Recession A Lackluster Forecast For N.H.'s Economic Recovery http://nhpr.org/post/lackluster-forecast-nhs-economic-recovery <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Although New Hampshire's economy is recovering, the outlook for the next several years is lackluster.&nbsp;&nbsp; That’s according to a <a href="http://newenglandcouncil.com/assets/NH-NEEP-May-2013.pdf" target="_blank">new economic forecast</a> released Wednesday by the <a href="http://newenglandcouncil.com/neep-may-2013-economic-outlook-forecasts-2/" target="_blank">New England Economic Partnership</a>.&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 20:10:36 +0000 Amanda Loder 38464 at http://nhpr.org The 'Commander In Cheap' Shares His Penny Pinching Secrets http://nhpr.org/post/commander-cheap-shares-his-penny-pinching-secrets <p>Do you cut coupons or drive around looking for the gas station with the lowest price? If so, you might think of yourself as a skinflint…but you’ve probably got nothing on <strong>Jeff Yeager</strong>, who proudly claims the title “<a href="http://ultimatecheapskate.com/index.cgi" target="_blank">The Ultimate Cheapskate</a>.” Jeff doesn’t just stretch a dollar; he gets his cash to do calisthenics. &nbsp;He is the author of several books rife with miserly tips, including the <em>The Cheapskate Next Door</em>, <em>Don’t Throw That Away</em> and <em>How To Retire The Cheapskate Way</em>. Jeff is also featured in the AARP web video series, “The Cheap Life.”</p><p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 17:21:37 +0000 Taylor Quimby 34762 at http://nhpr.org The 'Commander In Cheap' Shares His Penny Pinching Secrets The “Man-covery”: Men Make Gains in the Labor Market http://nhpr.org/post/man-covery-men-make-gains-labor-market <p>We take a look at how men are doing in the marketplace nowadays, after taking a big hit during the recession.</p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 8068 at http://nhpr.org The “Man-covery”: Men Make Gains in the Labor Market One Roof, Three Generations, Many Decisions http://nhpr.org/post/one-roof-three-generations-many-decisions <em>Part of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/150002308/family-matters">Family Matters series</a></em><p>The Great Recession slammed into all age groups, flattening the career dreams of young people and squeezing the retirement accounts of middle-aged savers. It financially crippled many elderly people who had thought they could stand on their own.<p>To cope with the hard times that began five years ago, millions of families pulled together — stacking two, three, even four generations on top of one another. Tue, 17 Apr 2012 04:02:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 3168 at http://nhpr.org One Roof, Three Generations, Many Decisions Did Women Really Win the Recession? http://nhpr.org/post/did-women-really-win-recession <p>When the economy took out male-dominated industries like construction, women were thought to be closer than ever to workplace equality.</p> Thu, 08 Mar 2012 16:09:04 +0000 Virginia Prescott 2372 at http://nhpr.org Did Women Really Win the Recession? Mixed Data on Housing Market http://nhpr.org/post/mixed-data-housing-market <p>New <a href="http://www.nhhfa.org/rl_docs/housingdata/ForeclosureUpdate_03-07-12.htm">data </a>from the <a href="http://www.nhhfa.org/">New Hampshire Housing Finance Authority </a>paints a mixed picture of the State&rsquo;s housing market.&nbsp;</p><p>288 New Hampshire homes slipped into foreclosure in January. That&rsquo;s a 22-percent decrease from the prior month, but still well above pre-recession levels.</p> Wed, 07 Mar 2012 20:44:27 +0000 Todd Bookman 2355 at http://nhpr.org Mixed Data on Housing Market The Post-Modern Mall http://nhpr.org/post/post-modern-mall <p>High vacancy rates and changing consumer tastes are promping malls to re-think their space.</p> Thu, 16 Feb 2012 16:31:15 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1940 at http://nhpr.org The Post-Modern Mall