Budget http://nhpr.org en Hassan Signs $11 Million Mental Health Package http://nhpr.org/post/hassan-signs-11-million-mental-health-package <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Governor Hassan has signed legislation designed to strengthen the state’s mental health system, a result of a class-action lawsuit filed in 2012.</span></p><p>The law allocates roughly $11 million through next fiscal year for increased community-based treatment options including supportive housing and crisis response teams. It is the first portion of a $30 million settlement agreement reached in December.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 19:47:21 +0000 Todd Bookman 51764 at http://nhpr.org Hassan Signs $11 Million Mental Health Package State Revenue Continues To Fall Below Estimates http://nhpr.org/post/state-revenue-continues-fall-below-estimates <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Administrative Services Commissioner Linda Hodgdon said Tuesday that May's revenues were about $3 million below estimates, mostly because $2.6 million the state thought it would get during the month came in April instead.</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 20:45:48 +0000 Associated Press 49646 at http://nhpr.org State Revenue Continues To Fall Below Estimates Hassan Orders Freeze On Spending As Tax Revenues Dip http://nhpr.org/post/hassan-orders-freeze-spending-tax-revenues-dip <div>A legislative committee has approved New Hampshire Governor <span style="line-height: 1.5;">Maggie Hassan's proposal to freeze hiring, equipment purchases and out-of-state&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">travel.</span></div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hassan asked the Fiscal Committee Thursday to approve the freeze, as past&nbsp;governors have done when confronted with potential budget deficits.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Thu, 22 May 2014 21:20:56 +0000 NHPR Staff 49002 at http://nhpr.org Hassan Orders Freeze On Spending As Tax Revenues Dip New Hampshire's Fiscal Year Finishes With Surplus http://nhpr.org/post/new-hampshires-fiscal-year-finishes-surplus <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Governor Maggie Hassan says strong fiscal management by state leaders and an improving economy have boosted the state&#39;s budget surplus to $76 million for fiscal year 2013.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">That figure is $19 million more than the $57 million lawmakers had anticipated.</p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 20:52:26 +0000 Associated Press 36226 at http://nhpr.org Budgetary Back And Forth http://nhpr.org/post/budgetary-back-and-forth <p>The House has rejected revenues from the Senate’s gambling bill while Senators have said no to higher taxes on gasoline and cigarettes. Meanwhile Governor Hassan says she still wants to fund her priorities but after these votes, finding that money will be difficult and cuts may in store.&nbsp; We’ll examine how it might all play out.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><strong>Guests</strong></p> Tue, 28 May 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 28177 at http://nhpr.org Budgetary Back And Forth N.H. Congresswomen Cite Concerns With President's Budget http://nhpr.org/post/nh-congresswomen-cite-concerns-presidents-budget <p>Many Republicans are&nbsp; unhappy with the president’s newly unveiled budget, but so are some of New Hampshire’s Democrats in Congress. Thu, 11 Apr 2013 14:50:37 +0000 Matt Laslo 25355 at http://nhpr.org Teachers' Union Comes Out In Favor Of Casino Money http://nhpr.org/post/teachers-union-comes-out-favor-casino-money <p></p><p>The state’s largest teacher’s union, the <a href="http://www.neanh.org/">National Educators Association of New Hampshir</a>e, has come out in favor Governor Maggie Hassan’s budget, including its use of casino gambling as a source of funding.</p> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 20:15:43 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 24749 at http://nhpr.org Teachers' Union Comes Out In Favor Of Casino Money House Committee Readies Budget Plan http://nhpr.org/post/house-committee-readies-budget-plan <p>The $11 billion budget the full House will vote on next week is likely to send $32 million less to hospitals for charity care than the Governor proposed. Tue, 26 Mar 2013 20:44:11 +0000 Josh Rogers 24405 at http://nhpr.org Salem Voters Go To Ballot Box For First Time On Town Budget http://nhpr.org/post/salem-voters-go-ballot-box-first-time-town-budget <p>It’s Town Meeting time in New Hampshire.&nbsp;&nbsp; Salem is one of the state’s biggest towns, and this is its first year moving away from the classic community get-together to the ballot box.&nbsp; The town expects this change to increase voter turnout tomorrow as it considers major budget issues.</p> Mon, 11 Mar 2013 20:24:07 +0000 Amanda Loder 23492 at http://nhpr.org Salem Voters Go To Ballot Box For First Time On Town Budget Gas Tax Critics Pounce On Campbell's Email Comments http://nhpr.org/post/gas-tax-critics-pounce-campbells-email-comments <p></p><p>As the New Hampshire House prepares to vote on a plan to increase the gas tax by 15 cents, the bill’s lead sponsor is working to undo the damage of an email he sent top Democrats where he called the gas tax increase “a gift that keeps on giving.” Tue, 26 Feb 2013 20:45:55 +0000 Josh Rogers 22679 at http://nhpr.org Gas Tax Critics Pounce On Campbell's Email Comments Manchester Mayor Unveils Budget Proposal http://nhpr.org/post/manchester-mayor-unveils-budget-proposal <p>Mayor Gatsas&nbsp;unveiled his budget for fiscal year 2014, which raises taxes and allots more funding to schools.</p><p></p><p>Gatsas' budget pushes for the maximum amount of new revenue allowed under the city's tax cap. That's just more than a two-percent increase.</p><p></p><p>The bulk of new revenue would go towards bolstering the city's school system, which has experienced layoffs and overcrowding in recent years.</p><p>Gatsas was optimistic that the budget could be hammered out before the city's June deadline, but acknowledged it would be a difficult process:</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 05:57:41 +0000 Jonathan Lynch 22261 at http://nhpr.org Manchester Mayor Unveils Budget Proposal Governor, Legislature Prepare To Hammer Out Budget http://nhpr.org/post/governor-legislature-prepare-hammer-out-budget <p>With a new governor, a divided statehouse, and continued uncertainty over federal spending, New Hampshire lawmakers are preparing to hammer out a budget.&nbsp; It’s never a particularly easy process.&nbsp; But hopes are high at the statehouse that this session, the inevitable fiscal fights will be more muted.</p><p>In her inaugural address earlier this month, Democratic governor Maggie Hassan struck a bipartisan tone about the state’s finances.</p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 12:30:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 20306 at http://nhpr.org Governor, Legislature Prepare To Hammer Out Budget N.H. Treasurer Urges $125M Capital Budget Limit http://nhpr.org/post/nh-treasurer-urges-125m-capital-budget-limit <p>New Hampshire's treasurer is urging lawmakers to limit borrowing for public works projects supported by state taxes in the next capital budget to $125 million. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 22:40:27 +0000 Associated Press 19806 at http://nhpr.org State's Biggest Agency Asks For Budget Increase http://nhpr.org/post/states-biggest-agency-asks-budget-increase <p></p><p>The Department of Health and Human Services is asking for $321 million more to cover their programs for the next two years. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 27 Nov 2012 22:38:03 +0000 Todd Bookman 17535 at http://nhpr.org University System Asks Budget Writers For $100 Million http://nhpr.org/post/university-system-asks-budget-writers-100-million <p>The University System of New Hampshire is asking lawmakers for $100 million dollars in annual state funding.</p><p>That’s more than twice what they were given in the previous budget.</p><p>Heads of the various state departments, and the presidents of the state’s universities went before budget writers today to present their initial requests for state funds.</p><p>Chancellor of the University System, Ed McKay, says he is cautiously optimistic that governor elect Maggie Hassan will make restoring the cuts from the last budget a priority.</p> Mon, 26 Nov 2012 22:59:41 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 17470 at http://nhpr.org University System Asks Budget Writers For $100 Million