Lifestyle http://nhpr.org en Check Out These Five Really Weird Sports http://nhpr.org/post/check-out-these-five-really-weird-sports <p>Our <a href="http://www.nhpr.org/post/art-inventing-sports">exploration of Aesthletics</a> reminded us of some of our other favorite bizarre sports. From the safe, if not always tame, World Beard and Moustache Competition to the surprisingly dangerous Outhouse Races, strange sports are everywhere. These are not the weirdest sports, by far, but they top our list as most memorable and well organized.</p><p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 13:20:32 +0000 Molly Donahue 32020 at http://nhpr.org Check Out These Five Really Weird Sports When Generation Rx Grows Up http://nhpr.org/post/when-generation-rx-grows-0 <p>Kaitlin Bell Barnett joins us to talk about her new book, "Dosed: The Medication Generation Grows Up"</p> Fri, 21 Sep 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 13303 at http://nhpr.org When Generation Rx Grows Up Organic Food On Trial! http://nhpr.org/post/organic-food-trial <p>A new study puts some holes in the health benefits of organic food. Monday on the Exchange we'll look at these accusations and explore just how important is organic?</p> Sat, 08 Sep 2012 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 12489 at http://nhpr.org Organic Food On Trial! The Prep School of Rock N'Roll http://nhpr.org/post/prep-school-rock-nroll <div class="transcript"><p>A group of teachers&nbsp;from St. Paul&#39;s in Concord trades hall-passes for&nbsp;instruments&nbsp;after school.&nbsp; Two members join us to talk about the art of finely-aged Rock N&#39;Roll.</p></div><p class="nhpr_story_right_links">Links:</p><ul class="line"><li><a href="http://youtu.be/SUPRm9vnFwE">Watch the Fletchtones ROCK LIVE</a></li></ul> Wed, 02 Nov 2011 16:45:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 234 at http://nhpr.org The Prep School of Rock N'Roll As The Publishing World Turns... http://nhpr.org/post/publishing-world-turns <div class="transcript"><p>Amazon is back in the business of getting books on print - only now, they&#39;re hopping the middle man. <strong>Jason Boog, </strong>Editor of the publishing website <em>Galley Cat, </em>explains.</p></div><p class="nhpr_story_right_links">Links:</p> Tue, 01 Nov 2011 18:37:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 189 at http://nhpr.org As The Publishing World Turns... Genetic Genocide: GMO Mosquitoes http://nhpr.org/post/genetic-genocide-gmo-mosquitoes <div class="transcript"><p>Editor for Scientific American <strong>Michael Moyer</strong> explains how genetically-modified mosquitoes could stop the spread of Dengue Fever; unless uncomfortable corporate practices don&#39;t cause a GMO backlash first.</p></div><p class="nhpr_story_right_links">Links:</p><ul class="line"><li><a href="http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm">The Wipout Gene</a></li></ul> Tue, 01 Nov 2011 18:17:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 190 at http://nhpr.org Genetic Genocide: GMO Mosquitoes Deaf Jam Poetry - the signs of spoken word http://nhpr.org/post/deaf-jam-poetry-signs-spoken-word <div class="transcript"><p>Deaf Israeli slam-poet <strong>Aneta Brodski </strong>collaborates with Palestinian interpreter <strong>Veronica Staehle, </strong>uniting culture and language through art.</p></div><p class="nhpr_story_right_links">Links:</p><ul class="line"><li><a href="http://www.pbs.org/independentlens/deaf-jam/">About the film, Deaf Jam</a></li><li><a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch">Trailer for Deaf Jam</a></li></ul> Tue, 01 Nov 2011 18:05:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 191 at http://nhpr.org Deaf Jam Poetry - the signs of spoken word A Climbing Challenge Aims to Lift Challenges for Refugees http://nhpr.org/post/climbing-challenge-aims-lift-challenges-refugees <div class="transcript"><p>It takes a lot of effort, determination, and bravery to come to a new country as a refugee and learn not only a new language but a new culture.</p><p>One could compare it to climbing a mountain.</p><p>A Manchester resident is going to climb a few mountains himself to raise money for the city&rsquo;s refugees.</p><p>Starting tomorrow, <strong>Dan Szczesny</strong> <a href="http://september48.wordpress.com/" target="_blank">aims to climb New Hampshire&rsquo;s 4000 foot peaks&hellip; all 48 of them&hellip; in a month</a>.</p> Thu, 29 Sep 2011 16:01:00 +0000 Brady Carlson 139 at http://nhpr.org A Climbing Challenge Aims to Lift Challenges for Refugees Eco Fashion http://nhpr.org/post/eco-fashion <DIV class=transcript></DIV> Fri, 04 Sep 2009 04:00:00 +0000 Sybil Gelin 11275 at http://nhpr.org Confectionary Architects http://nhpr.org/post/confectionary-architects <p>For those of you who like a little dessert after dinner, a trip to Canterbury Shaker Village might be in order this weekend. Thu, 14 Feb 2008 20:38:55 +0000 Cheryl Senter 6163 at http://nhpr.org Confectionary Architects Bike Week's Wall of Death http://nhpr.org/post/bike-weeks-wall-death <p>All this week, New Hampshire Public Radio is bringing you some of the sights and sounds of bike week in Laconia. Wed, 14 Jun 2006 16:55:50 +0000 Cheryl Senter 6702 at http://nhpr.org Bike Week's Wall of Death It's Tourist Season in N.H. http://nhpr.org/post/its-tourist-season-nh <p>Memorial Day weekend is the unofficial start of summer.</p><p>And across the state, resorts, hotels, and other tourist attractions are taking care of last minute primping before the onslaught of summer season.</p><p>One of those attractions is of course, Hampton Beach on the Seacoast.</p><p>On Friday, road crews were still painting lines on a section of Route 1A, that goes along the beach.</p><p>But ready or not, the tourists came, as they always do, to enjoy the beaches and the boardwalk, to lie in the warm sun and play in the sand.</p> Mon, 29 May 2006 19:39:59 +0000 Cheryl Senter 6733 at http://nhpr.org It's Tourist Season in N.H. How to Ride a Motorcycle in 20 (very wet) Hours http://nhpr.org/post/how-ride-motorcycle-20-very-wet-hours <p>While most of the state was trying to stay dry two weekends ago, ten people were dreaming of warm, sunny days and open roads. Fri, 26 May 2006 18:18:20 +0000 Cheryl Senter 6717 at http://nhpr.org How to Ride a Motorcycle in 20 (very wet) Hours A Permanent Reminder of a Temporary Feeling http://nhpr.org/post/permanent-reminder-temporary-feeling <p>Over the past year, New Hampshire Public Radio has been taking listeners to a variety of places across the state. Fri, 12 May 2006 18:39:37 +0000 Cheryl Senter 6722 at http://nhpr.org A Permanent Reminder of a Temporary Feeling Skimming: Or What I Did With My Snowmobile This Summer http://nhpr.org/post/skimming-or-what-i-did-my-snowmobile-summer <p>New Hampshire nights are getting a little crisper this time of year. It won&#39;t be long before the first frost...and then snow. Mon, 19 Sep 2005 19:24:39 +0000 Keith Shields 6729 at http://nhpr.org Skimming: Or What I Did With My Snowmobile This Summer