Basketball http://nhpr.org en 7.09.14: Sialkot Soccer Balls, Thoughts for English Teachers, and Keeping Calm http://nhpr.org/post/70914-sialkot-soccer-balls-thoughts-english-teachers-and-keeping-calm <p>High tech can sometimes mean hand stitching. We discuss the production of World Cup soccer balls in Siaklot, Pakistan with Atlantic assistant editor, Joe Pinsker. Next, a conversation about the intricacies of teaching high school English with writer and teacher Nick Ripatrazone. Then, Dr. Jordan Ellenberg takes us through the most unread books of summer using his formula, the Hawking Index. And, we talk to "Joyland" author Emily Schultz about the strange events that followed the release Steven King's book of the same title. Plus, a look into the history of the “Keep Calm and Carry On” poster.</p><p>Listen to the full show and <strong>Read more</strong> for individual segments.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:12:14 +0000 Word of Mouth 51600 at http://nhpr.org 7.09.14: Sialkot Soccer Balls, Thoughts for English Teachers, and Keeping Calm Claremont Basketball Star Plays Center For Sweet Sixteen Wildcats http://nhpr.org/post/claremont-basketball-star-plays-center-sweet-sixteen-wildcats <p> UPDATE: The Arizona Wildcats defeated San Diego State Thursday night, 70-64, and advanced to the Elite Eight. Tarczewski&nbsp;scored 7 points. He also had two blocks, one rebound and one assist.</p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 14:46:43 +0000 John Doyle 45725 at http://nhpr.org Claremont Basketball Star Plays Center For Sweet Sixteen Wildcats Wildcats Roll To 8th NCAA Title, Coach Calipari's 1st http://nhpr.org/post/wildcats-roll-8th-ncaa-title-coach-caliparis-1st The Kentucky Wildcats beat the Kansas Jayhawks 67-59 Monday night in New Orleans, claiming their eighth NCAA men's basketball title and head coach John Calipari's first.<p>The Jayhawks trailed by 14 at halftime, and just 5 points separated the teams with about a minute left in the game. Tue, 03 Apr 2012 08:00:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 2913 at http://nhpr.org Wildcats Roll To 8th NCAA Title, Coach Calipari's 1st Watching College Basketball's Slump Into Anonymity http://nhpr.org/post/watching-college-basketballs-slump-anonymity This year's Final Four seems more like Best in Show at the Westminster. Such pedigree: Kentucky, Kansas, Ohio State and Louisville –– four of the very top dogs in the history of the sport. Well, it's a Meryl Streep kind of year, isn't it?<p>But if the Final Four might delight fans by giving them aristocracy in its teams, unfortunately the whole of college basketball is plagued by anonymity in its players, and external issues that have diminished the popularity of the game.<p>Good grief. Wed, 28 Mar 2012 04:01:00 +0000 Frank Deford 2800 at http://nhpr.org Watching College Basketball's Slump Into Anonymity Murray State Racers Fans Revved Up Over NCAA http://nhpr.org/post/murray-state-racers-fans-revved-over-ncaa On the Murray State University campus in Kentucky, warm weather has arrived. Students are out on the quad skateboarding, riding bikes, playing Frisbee and listening to music. But what are they talking about? Thu, 15 Mar 2012 04:01:00 +0000 2524 at http://nhpr.org Murray State Racers Fans Revved Up Over NCAA On Fouls and Free Throws: New Basketball Research Hits the Court http://nhpr.org/post/fouls-and-free-throws-new-basketball-research-hits-court <p>A wave of new basketball data digs into why players 'choke' under pressure, how they perform in front of new fans, and whether or not the 'urban phenom' is a myth.</p> Mon, 12 Mar 2012 14:50:40 +0000 Virginia Prescott 2434 at http://nhpr.org On Fouls and Free Throws: New Basketball Research Hits the Court 100 Points, One Game: A Basketball Record Turns 50 http://nhpr.org/post/100-points-one-game-basketball-record-turns-50 Dave Zinkoff — or simply "The Zink" — was perhaps the most distinctive public address announcer in sports when, years ago, he called games in Philadelphia, especially for the city's NBA teams. Wed, 29 Feb 2012 08:23:00 +0000 Frank Deford 2197 at http://nhpr.org 100 Points, One Game: A Basketball Record Turns 50