Remembrances http://nhpr.org en Remembering Bob McQuillen, An "Old-Fashioned Contra Dance Piano Player" http://nhpr.org/post/remembering-bob-mcquillen-old-fashioned-contra-dance-piano-player <p>Earlier this week New Hampshire’s contra dance community said goodbye to one of its most celebrated musicians and writers.</p><p><a href="http://www.greatmeadowmusic.com/mcquillen.html" target="_blank">Bob McQuillen</a> died Tuesday following a stroke. He was 90 years old.</p><p>McQuillen - sometimes called “Mac” or “Mr. Mack” – Among those contribitions: writing thousands of tunes. And as <a href="http://nhpr.org/post/archives-bob-mcquillen">he noted on NHPR in 2002</a>, many of them were written for – and named for - individuals:</p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 23:03:15 +0000 Brady Carlson 43217 at http://nhpr.org Remembering Bob McQuillen, An "Old-Fashioned Contra Dance Piano Player" Businesswoman May Gruber Remembered As Innovative, Compassionate http://nhpr.org/post/businesswoman-may-gruber-remembered-innovative-compassionate <p>One of Manchester, New Hampshire’s most celebrated business owners has died. May Gruber owned Pandora sweaters for decades; it was one of the area’s biggest operations.</p><p>Several years ago May Gruber was the subject of a documentary, called “Sweater Queen.” All Things Considered host <a href="http://nhpr.org/post/life-and-career-manchesters-sweater-queen">Brady Carlson talked with the film’s producer, Nancy Beach, in 2012</a>. She started by telling the story of how Gruber and her family first came to New Hampshire.</p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 21:51:51 +0000 Brady Carlson 23227 at http://nhpr.org Businesswoman May Gruber Remembered As Innovative, Compassionate Patti Page: A Singing Rage, Who Had Her Own Singing Syrup Bottle http://nhpr.org/post/patti-page-singing-rage-who-had-her-own-singing-syrup-bottle <p>Singer <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/01/03/168564157/patti-page-remembered-as-the-biggest-female-singer-of-1950s" target="_blank">Patti Page</a> died on New Year’s Day in California. She was 85.</p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 22:52:45 +0000 Brady Carlson & Gina Gioldassis 19622 at http://nhpr.org Patti Page: A Singing Rage, Who Had Her Own Singing Syrup Bottle Ray Bradbury, Author Of 'Fahrenheit 451' And Other Classics, Dies http://nhpr.org/post/ray-bradbury-author-fahrenheit-451-and-other-classics-dies Author Ray Bradbury has died, his daughter tells The Associated Press. The wire service says Bradbury passed away Tuesday night.<p>The website io9.com, <a href="http://io9.com/5916175/rip-ray-bradbury-author-of-fahrenheit-451-and-the-martian-chronicles" target="_blank">which appears to have broken the news</a>, says the 91-year-old author of "<em>The Martian Chronicles,</em> <em>Fahrenheit 451,</em> <em>Something Wicked this Way Comes</em>, and many more literary classics" died in Los Angeles. Wed, 06 Jun 2012 14:57:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 6303 at http://nhpr.org Ray Bradbury, Author Of 'Fahrenheit 451' And Other Classics, Dies Donna Summer, The Queen Of Disco, Dies At 63 http://nhpr.org/post/donna-summer-queen-disco-dies-63 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFWbjz02OCQ</p> Thu, 17 May 2012 16:29:00 +0000 5008 at http://nhpr.org Donna Summer, The Queen Of Disco, Dies At 63 Dick Clark, 'Bandstand' Host, Dead at 82 http://nhpr.org/post/dick-clark-bandstand-host-dead-82 Dick Clark, affectionately known as the "world's oldest teenager," has died. He was 82, and had suffered a heart attack while in a Santa Monica hospital for an outpatient procedure.<p>Richard Wagstaff Clark became a national icon with <em>American Bandstand</em> in the 1950s, hosting the show for more than 30 years. Clark also hosted the annual New Year's Eve special for ABC for decades. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 21:04:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 3209 at http://nhpr.org Dick Clark, 'Bandstand' Host, Dead at 82 Andrew Love Of The Memphis Horns Has Died http://nhpr.org/post/andrew-love-memphis-horns-has-died Saxophonist Andrew Love of the Memphis Horns has died. Love, who had Alzheimer's disease, died on April 12 at his home in Memphis. He was 70 years old.<p>For a while, there were other players in the mix; but ultimately, Andrew Love and his partner, trumpeter Wayne Jackson, were the Memphis Horns. Mon, 16 Apr 2012 20:00:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 3163 at http://nhpr.org Andrew Love Of The Memphis Horns Has Died Songs We Love: Disney Songwriters The Sherman Brothers http://nhpr.org/post/songs-we-love-disney-songwriters-sherman-brothers <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4b-Z0SSyUcw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VX4Ppm-cPZI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4x19vy_9aFc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxvlKp-76io</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r8R4p6t9250</p> Wed, 07 Mar 2012 05:01:00 +0000 2357 at http://nhpr.org Songs We Love: Disney Songwriters The Sherman Brothers Disney Songwriter Robert Sherman Has Died http://nhpr.org/post/disney-songwriter-robert-sherman-has-died Robert Sherman — one half of the songwriting team behind Disney movies and major hit musicals — has died. He was 86. The Oscar-winning Sherman Brothers, Robert and Richard, wrote some of the most enduring Disney songs of all time. Tue, 06 Mar 2012 19:00:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 2351 at http://nhpr.org Disney Songwriter Robert Sherman Has Died My First Crush: A Love Letter To Davy Jones http://nhpr.org/post/my-first-crush-love-letter-davy-jones <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-dZPRbR4SI8</p> Thu, 01 Mar 2012 05:01:00 +0000 2214 at http://nhpr.org My First Crush: A Love Letter To Davy Jones