department of transportation http://nhpr.org en Everett Turnpike Toll Collecting To End In Merrimack http://nhpr.org/post/everett-turnpike-toll-collecting-end-merrimack <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Toll-collecting at a stop in Merrimack&nbsp;will soon become a thing of the past.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The state Department of Transportation is ending collections as of Friday night at Exit 12 on the Everett Turnpike.</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 13:59:10 +0000 Associated Press 51951 at http://nhpr.org Everett Turnpike Toll Collecting To End In Merrimack Speed Limit Jumps To 70 MPH On Much Of Northern I-93 In 2014 http://nhpr.org/post/speed-limit-jumps-70-mph-much-northern-i-93-2014 <p></p><p>Drivers will see new speed limits on much of the northern part of Interstate 93 starting Wednesday.</p><p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 16:03:38 +0000 Michael Brindley 40838 at http://nhpr.org Speed Limit Jumps To 70 MPH On Much Of Northern I-93 In 2014 On The Political Front For Dec. 9 http://nhpr.org/post/political-front-dec-9 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>On the Political Front, NHPR's&nbsp;Josh Rogers discusses discussion in the Statehouse about expanded gambling and lack of funds for highway projects, as well as Republican Bob Smith, a former U.S. Senator, declaring his candidacy for his old seat.</p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 13:33:36 +0000 Josh Rogers 39788 at http://nhpr.org On The Political Front For Dec. 9 If Bumpy Roads Make You Grumpy, Click Here http://nhpr.org/post/if-bumpy-roads-make-you-grumpy-click-here <p></p><p><strong>&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">W</span>e want you to send us pictures of the worst roads you have to drive on</strong><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.&nbsp;</span></p><div> Fri, 01 Mar 2013 18:38:39 +0000 Emily Corwin 22917 at http://nhpr.org If Bumpy Roads Make You Grumpy, Click Here Sarah Long Bridge Side Railings Hazardous http://nhpr.org/post/sarah-long-bridge-side-railings-hazardous <p style="margin-bottom: 0pt;"><font size="3"><font face="Times New Roman">Another bridge between Portsmouth and Kittery Maine is undergoing emergency repairs. <o:p></o:p></font></font></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0pt;"><font size="3"><font face="Times New Roman">Side railings on the Sarah Long, or Middle Bridge are so rusty; they present a hazard to any vehicle that accidentally slides into them. So, the two states are taking emergency measures to protect motorists. <o:p></o:p></font></font></p> Mon, 26 Mar 2012 20:44:25 +0000 Roger Wood 2764 at http://nhpr.org Finally, a Little Winter http://nhpr.org/post/finally-little-winter <p>In case you forgot what a New England winter is supposed to be like, Mother Nature decided to drop in with a reminder. Snow impacts everything from checkbooks to yardwork in New Hampshire, but has gone missing for most of this winter.&nbsp;</p><p>While I was busy shoveling my car out, a neighbor of mine&nbsp;was tackling a <em>completely</em> different winter chore.</p> Thu, 01 Mar 2012 23:09:37 +0000 Todd Bookman 2236 at http://nhpr.org Finally, a Little Winter