Latin America http://nhpr.org en Cruise Ship Didn't Aid Drifting Boat, Passengers Say http://nhpr.org/post/cruise-ship-didnt-aid-drifting-boat-passengers-say <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vp_REoo3gjU</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2012 13:49:00 +0000 Greg Allen 3228 at http://nhpr.org Cruise Ship Didn't Aid Drifting Boat, Passengers Say Panama Booms While Poor Watch From Afar http://nhpr.org/post/panama-booms-while-poor-watch-afar The Central American nation of Panama is booming. Fueled by a multibillion-dollar expansion of the Panama Canal, a thriving banking industry and capital flight from Venezuela, the tiny nation has the highest economic growth rate in the hemisphere.<p>But even as the government builds a subway system and markets the country as a tropical paradise for multinational corporations, not everyone is sharing in the prosperity.<p>These days, Panama City is a giant construction site. Roads are being torn up. Mon, 16 Apr 2012 21:06:00 +0000 Jason Beaubien 3166 at http://nhpr.org Panama Booms While Poor Watch From Afar After Taint Of Drugs, Colombia Reinvents Itself http://nhpr.org/post/after-taint-drugs-colombia-reinvents-itself Colombia was once associated with cocaine trafficking and powerful drug lords, but today's reality is different: It's stable, a magnet for foreign investment and diplomatically engaged — and this weekend hosts the Summit of the Americas. Increasingly, Colombia is seen as South America's rising star.<p>A factory in a middle-class neighborhood in the capital is symbolic of this new Colombia. The Nutresa factory in Bogota churns out countless chocolate bars and containers of ice cream. Thu, 12 Apr 2012 07:15:00 +0000 3088 at http://nhpr.org After Taint Of Drugs, Colombia Reinvents Itself An Upgrade, And Bigger Ships, For The Panama Canal http://nhpr.org/post/upgrade-and-bigger-ships-panama-canal Two giant ships move through the Panama Canal's two parallel channels at the Miraflores locks, heading toward the Pacific Ocean.<p>The orange and white Bow Summer is a tanker. The deck of the Ever Dynamic is stacked high with burgundy and blue shipping containers. Wed, 04 Apr 2012 07:03:00 +0000 Jason Beaubien 2935 at http://nhpr.org An Upgrade, And Bigger Ships, For The Panama Canal 30 Years On, Argentina Still Claims Falklands http://nhpr.org/post/30-years-argentina-still-claims-falklands Thirty years ago, on April 2, 1982, Argentina invaded the Falkland Islands, leading to a short but bloody war with Britain. Mon, 02 Apr 2012 07:45:00 +0000 2886 at http://nhpr.org 30 Years On, Argentina Still Claims Falklands Pope Meets Fidel Castro, Wraps Up Visit To Cuba http://nhpr.org/post/pope-meets-fidel-castro-wraps-visit-cuba In the last public event of his three-day visit to the island, Pope Benedict XVI called on Cuba, and the world, to change and choose a path of "love, reconciliation and brotherhood."<p>After the Mass, the pontiff met with Fidel Castro for a half-hour before departing for Rome, wrapping up a weeklong trip to Mexico and Cuba.<p>The pope did not meet with Cuban dissidents during his trip, however, drawing criticism from Castro opponents in Cuba and abroad.<p>The site where the pope delivered Wednesday's Mass — Havana's Plaza of the Revolution — is the same place where Castro, the retired but stil Wed, 28 Mar 2012 19:40:00 +0000 2821 at http://nhpr.org Pope Meets Fidel Castro, Wraps Up Visit To Cuba Cruising Over Colombia In A Plane From Another Era http://nhpr.org/post/cruising-over-colombia-plane-another-era The plane flown by Capt. Ricardo Fajardo has been around for nearly 70 years, ever since it was built in California by the Douglas Aircraft Co. at the height of World War II.<p>But as a red and orange DC-3 hugs the treetops and skims past the Vaupes River in the remote southeastern corner of Colombia, Fajardo says he wouldn't feel more comfortable in any other plane.<p>With the nose slightly up, he puts Flight 1149 down softly on a slippery dirt runway –- just the kind of strips that are found across the isolated region. Tue, 13 Mar 2012 20:04:00 +0000 2487 at http://nhpr.org Cruising Over Colombia In A Plane From Another Era