Congress http://nhpr.org en Gov. Hassan: 1,350 N.H. Residents Have Lost Unemployment Benefits http://nhpr.org/post/gov-hassan-1350-nh-residents-have-lost-unemployment-benefits <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Gov. Maggie Hassan is urging Congress to renew long-term unemployment benefits that expired for 1,350 out-of-work New Hampshire residents last week.</span></p><p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 18:00:03 +0000 Michael Brindley 41319 at http://nhpr.org Gov. Hassan: 1,350 N.H. Residents Have Lost Unemployment Benefits The Federal Debt and the Constitution http://nhpr.org/post/federal-debt-and-constitution <p>As another debt ceiling deadline looms, on top of a government shutdown, we&rsquo;ll look at what our nation&rsquo;s defining document, particularly the fourteenth amendment, says about federal debt, as well as the roles of Congress and the President.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> <strong><u>GUESTS:</u></strong></p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 36052 at http://nhpr.org The Federal Debt and the Constitution Bass and Kuster Fight Rematch For 2nd District Congressional Seat http://nhpr.org/post/bass-and-kuster-fight-rematch-2nd-district-congressional-seat <p>If you had to describe New Hampshire’s congressional elections in one word, “rematch” would be a good choice.&nbsp;</p><p>In the race to Congress two years ago, the distance between Kuster and Bass was almost photo-finish-worthy: about 3,500 votes.&nbsp; UNH Survey Center Director Andy Smith says this year, it could be just as close.</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 11:30:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 15180 at http://nhpr.org Bass and Kuster Fight Rematch For 2nd District Congressional Seat McCain and Ayotte Discuss Potential Cuts to Defense Budget http://nhpr.org/post/mccain-and-ayotte-discuss-potential-cuts-defense-budget <p>Senators John McCain of Arizona and Kelly Ayotte of New Hampshire stopped in Merrimack today as a part of their tour to discuss pending cuts to the defense budget.</p><p>McCain and Ayotte are seeking a bipartisan effort to prevent the Congress-enacted sequestration from going into effect January 1, 2013.</p><p>The sequestration was supported across party lines last year as incentive for each side to reach a compromise over the budget.</p><p>Since Congress could not reach an agreement, severe cuts to social programs and defense will automatically go into effect this January.</p> Tue, 31 Jul 2012 19:32:21 +0000 Tina Forbes 9848 at http://nhpr.org McCain and Ayotte Discuss Potential Cuts to Defense Budget N.H. Congressional Delegation Reacts To Supreme Court Decision http://nhpr.org/post/nh-congressional-delegation-reacts-supreme-court-decision <p>The Supreme Court&rsquo;s decision on the health care law threw many lawmakers in Washington for a loop. Fri, 29 Jun 2012 14:45:41 +0000 Matt Laslo 7861 at http://nhpr.org Guinta Touts GOP Budget http://nhpr.org/post/guinta-touts-gop-budget <p>Second District Congressman Frank Guinta is helping champion House Republican&rsquo;s new budget blueprint that Democrats say is dangerous for the nation&rsquo;s poor and vulnerable.&nbsp;<br /> Both sides agree the new G-O-P budget paints a stark ideological contrast ahead of November&rsquo;s elections. Inside Budget Chairman Paul Ryan&rsquo;s new spending blueprint are cuts to Pell Grants, Medicaid, food stamps and an overhaul of welfare. The legislation also continues the G-O-P push to turn Medicare into what amounts to a voucher program, which is unpopular with many voters.</p> Tue, 20 Mar 2012 21:43:32 +0000 Matt Laslo 2639 at http://nhpr.org