rivers http://nhpr.org en Breaching The Veazie Dam To Restore A Habitat http://nhpr.org/post/breaching-veazie-dam-restore-habitat <p>On July 22<sup>nd</sup>, <a href="http://www.americanrivers.org/newsroom/blog/akober-20130722-removal-veazie-dam-begins-penobscot-river.html" target="_blank">bulldozers breached the Veazie dam</a> in Eddington, Maine – an 830 foot strip of concrete that had separated the Atlantic Ocean and the Penobscot River for a century.&nbsp; It was an <a href="http://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/maine/2013/07/22/removal-veazie-dam-maine-penobscot-river-starts-creating-easier-pathway-for-salmon/90TiLUVoBH4ozythyRsQrK/story.html" target="_blank">effort undertaken</a> by an unlikely coalition of conservationists, fishermen, power companies and others, who came together to help restore 1000 miles of endangered Atlantic salmon habitat. <strong>Brian Graber</strong> is director of the river restoration program at American rivers, one of the partners behind the project.</p><p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 14:49:23 +0000 Virginia Prescott 32132 at http://nhpr.org Breaching The Veazie Dam To Restore A Habitat The Colorado River: America's Most Endangered http://nhpr.org/post/colorado-river-americas-most-endangered <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: Why was the Colorado River named the most endangered river of 2013?</strong></p><p>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; <em>-- Missy Perkins, Jenkintown, PA</em></p><p> Sun, 16 Jun 2013 04:00:00 +0000 30335 at http://nhpr.org The Colorado River: America's Most Endangered Climate Change And Rivers http://nhpr.org/post/climate-change-and-rivers <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p> Sun, 06 Jan 2013 05:00:00 +0000 19766 at http://nhpr.org Climate Change And Rivers Thoreau Remembered http://nhpr.org/post/thoreau-remembered <p>Henry David Thoreau's death 150 years ago has inspired memorial events in Concord - the Massachusetts Concord - but Thoreau passed through our Concord on a trip by boat and foot that led to his first book.</p> Fri, 05 Oct 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Chris Martin & Francie Von Mertens 10389 at http://nhpr.org Thoreau Remembered How A River That Used to "Run Red" With Pollution Got Clean http://nhpr.org/post/how-river-used-run-red-pollution-got-clean <p>June is National Rivers Month, which means it&rsquo;s a good time to talk about a recent film chronicling the effort to clean up the Nashua River. It&rsquo;s called <a href="http://www.workof1000.org/about-the-program/about-the-film" target="_blank">&ldquo;Marion Stoddart: The Work of 1000&rdquo;</a> and has been screened at a number of environmental film festivals.</p><p><strong>Susan Edwards</strong> is the film&rsquo;s producer, and she talks with All Things Considered host Brady Carlson about, the film, Marion Stoddard and the Nashua River.</p> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 21:21:45 +0000 Brady Carlson 7896 at http://nhpr.org How A River That Used to "Run Red" With Pollution Got Clean How Do Dams Hurt Rivers? http://nhpr.org/post/how-do-dams-hurt-rivers <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Sun, 08 Apr 2012 04:00:00 +0000 2990 at http://nhpr.org How Do Dams Hurt Rivers? Solid Water http://nhpr.org/post/solid-water <p>You learned a remarkable property of H2O back in High School chemistry. <em>Remember</em>?</p><p>Normally, the density of compounds decreases as temperatures increase and molecules spread out. When temperatures fall, density increases as molecules become more tightly packed. <em>Not true for ice</em> – in fact, the <em>exact opposite</em> occurs!</p><p>In liquid form, each water molecule’s hydrogen is bonded to 3 other water molecules. In ice form, each molecule’s hydrogen bonded to 4 others.&nbsp;These hydrogen bonds form an open arrangement that is less compact than liquid water.</p> Fri, 06 Jan 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Dave Anderson 1036 at http://nhpr.org Solid Water The Charles River Didn't Kill Me http://nhpr.org/post/charles-river-didnt-kill-me <DIV class=transcript></DIV> Fri, 04 Sep 2009 04:00:00 +0000 Elliott Memmi 11276 at http://nhpr.org