water http://nhpr.org en Water Lilies: Sunken Forest & A Summer Oasis http://nhpr.org/post/water-lilies-sunken-forest-summer-oasis <p>You need no special excuse to seek cool water on a hot summer day. Water lilies provide a perfect mid-summer setting to explore the specialized role of aquatic plants in NH ponds and wetlands. Paddlers and shoreline hikers alike admire scented, floating flowers of water lilies blooming in July. Fragrant yellow and white blossoms seem lotus-like amid a raft of floating lily pads atop shallow freshwater ponds.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 04:00:01 +0000 Dave Anderson 50987 at http://nhpr.org Water Lilies: Sunken Forest & A Summer Oasis NH's Dragonflies Abound http://nhpr.org/post/nhs-dragonflies-abound <p>We’re standing up to our shins in Turkey Pond, on a warm July morning with Pam Hunt, a biologist with New Hampshire Audubon who has spent the last five years organizing, in conjunction with NH Fish and Game, the<a href="https://sites.google.com/site/nhdragonflysurvey/" target="_blank"> New Hampshire Dragonfly Survey</a>. Hunt trained about a hundred volunteers to gather data and help map the distribution of dragonflies across the state.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 04:00:00 +0000 Chris Martin & Andrew Parrella 32816 at http://nhpr.org NH's Dragonflies Abound Beer Brewers For Clean Water http://nhpr.org/post/beer-brewers-clean-water <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: I heard that a number of beer brewing companies have banded together to support the Clean Water Act. Can you enlighten?&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </strong><em>-- Mitch Jenkins, Cincinnati, OH</em></p><p> Sun, 05 May 2013 04:00:00 +0000 30250 at http://nhpr.org Beer Brewers For Clean Water Chlorine In Drinking Water http://nhpr.org/post/chlorine-drinking-water <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p> Sun, 17 Mar 2013 04:00:00 +0000 24306 at http://nhpr.org Chlorine In Drinking Water The Battle over Bottled Water http://nhpr.org/post/battle-over-bottled-water <p>Today we'll talk about battles over bottled water.</p> Wed, 09 May 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 4358 at http://nhpr.org The Battle over Bottled Water Making Water a Universal Right http://nhpr.org/post/making-water-universal-right <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344888573527="636">A look at access to fresh water from youth producer <strong>Dolna Smithback</strong> from the Youth Media Project in Santa Fe, New Mexico, which celebrates youth voices and fosters youth-produced media. In 2009, Dolna traveled to the Parliament of the World’s Religions in Melbourne, Australia, to find out how other nations value water—and cope with its scarcity.</p></div> Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:44:21 +0000 Dolna Smithback 10781 at http://nhpr.org Making Water a Universal Right