Word of Mouth Segments http://nhpr.org en Fenway’s First Season http://nhpr.org/post/fenway-s-first-season <p>Author Glenn Stout talks to us about his book, "Fenway 1912."</p> Thu, 24 Oct 2013 17:04:39 +0000 Virginia Prescott 802 at http://nhpr.org Fenway’s First Season Why Are Some Things Considered Disgusting? http://nhpr.org/post/why-are-some-things-considered-disgusting <p>Revulsion kept early humans from eating spoiled meat, or snuggling up to people covered with oozing sores. Today, some cultures prize cheeses writhing with maggots, or drink liquor made from fermented saliva. This is not a trick to get you to &ldquo;eeewww&rdquo;&nbsp;but&nbsp;a way to evoke the visceral nature of disgust, which as&nbsp;<strong>Rachel Herz </strong>found, is powerful enough to convict suspects, incite genocide, and make us writhe and wretch within seconds.&nbsp;</p><p><strong>Rachel&nbsp;</strong>is an instructor at Brown University and expert on the psychology of smell and emotion and the author of &ldquo;<a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/22/books/review/thats-disgusting-unraveling-the-mysteries-of-repulsion-by-rachel-herz-book-review.html?pagewanted=all">That&rsquo;s Disgusting: Unraveling the&nbsp;Mysteries of&nbsp;Repulsion</a>.&rdquo; Mon, 07 Oct 2013 17:56:18 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1931 at http://nhpr.org Why Are Some Things Considered Disgusting? Urban Farming: A Bright Spot In The Collapse Of A Once Great City http://nhpr.org/post/urban-farming-bright-spot-collapse-once-great-city <p>Detroit’s declaration of bankruptcy this summer opened up the floodgates for stories of its decline. Documentary films, photo essays, and articles <a href="http://www.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1882089,00.html">reveal a once-proud American city</a>, home to world’s highest-paid workers and a strong middle class, as a shell of its former self. Some residents are finding hope among the abandoned neighborhoods, crumbling municipal buildings, and rusting car factories that made the motor city hum.</p><p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 14:02:14 +0000 Virginia Prescott 771 at http://nhpr.org Urban Farming: A Bright Spot In The Collapse Of A Once Great City Because It's Pretty Hard to Catch a Pyramid http://nhpr.org/post/because-its-pretty-hard-catch-pyramid <p>Simple, universal, playable, the ball is among the most recognizable artifacts of human culture. It’s also the driver of an estimated five-hundred-billion- dollar- a-year sports industry. Harvard anthropologist <a href="http://www.portersquarebooks.com/event/john-fox-ball-discovering-object-game" target="_blank">John Fox</a> set off on a global adventure and dug into the ancient past to uncover the origins and evolution of our favorite ball games. His book is called <a href="https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/john-fox/ball/" target="_blank"><em>The Ball: Discovering the Object of the Game</em>.</a> We discussed the book with John last year when the book was released.</p><p> Tue, 28 May 2013 15:27:35 +0000 Virginia Prescott 4394 at http://nhpr.org Because It's Pretty Hard to Catch a Pyramid Where Soldiers Come From http://nhpr.org/post/where-soldiers-come <p>A new documentary follows the poignant journey of a group of three small town friends to Afghanistan and back again.</p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 17:10:41 +0000 Virginia Prescott 358 at http://nhpr.org Where Soldiers Come From Off the Beaten Tenure Track http://nhpr.org/post/beaten-tenure-track <p>An increasingly common anxiety for freshly-minted undergraduates is finding a job in their field with a decent enough salary to pay off their student loans. Jon F. Wilkins, founder of The Ronin Institute, helps wayward professionals put their highly-trained brains to work.</p> Mon, 04 Jun 2012 18:11:57 +0000 Virginia Prescott 6147 at http://nhpr.org Off the Beaten Tenure Track Inside Halden Prison http://nhpr.org/post/inside-halden-prison <p>Norway’s penal system is comparably relaxed to the United States, but do they need to rethink their system in light of mass murderer Anders Breivik?</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 15:02:23 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5805 at http://nhpr.org Inside Halden Prison My Client, the Frozen Egg http://nhpr.org/post/my-client-frozen-egg <p>With the popularity of freezing the menagerie of biological material for future occasions, the question remains, who represents these specimens in court?</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 14:30:00 +0000 Rebecca Lavoie 5800 at http://nhpr.org My Client, the Frozen Egg Frozen Grandbabies http://nhpr.org/post/frozen-grandbabies <p>The growing trend in parents wanting to be grandparents funding the freezing of their future grandchildren.</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 13:57:38 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5799 at http://nhpr.org Frozen Grandbabies Style for the Ages (and the Aged!) http://nhpr.org/post/style-ages-and-aged <p>While being advanced in years tends to signal the decrease in fashion forward thinking, this is not always the case.</p> Tue, 22 May 2012 15:42:11 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5312 at http://nhpr.org Style for the Ages (and the Aged!) High Tech Athletic Support http://nhpr.org/post/high-tech-athletic-support <p>Why the London Olympics (and every subsequent Olympic games) will ]be a showcase for the latest in sporting technology.</p> Tue, 22 May 2012 15:04:50 +0000 Taylor Quimby 5308 at http://nhpr.org High Tech Athletic Support The See All Sample http://nhpr.org/post/see-all-sample <p>How government agencies will soon be sampling DNA from anyone over the age of 14 and possibly even younger.</p> Tue, 22 May 2012 14:36:51 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5306 at http://nhpr.org The See All Sample The Women of Wine http://nhpr.org/post/women-wine <p>A new cork has been popped in the world of wine, the lady viticulturists is now decanting bottles of her own vintage.</p> Mon, 21 May 2012 16:29:38 +0000 Virginia Prescott & Nancy Greenleese 5243 at http://nhpr.org The Women of Wine Robo-Esoterics http://nhpr.org/post/robo-esoterics <p>We take a look at how the archetypical robot/ android identity issues relate to current technology and science fiction.</p> Mon, 21 May 2012 15:52:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5240 at http://nhpr.org Robo-Esoterics Theatre…NO MORE! http://nhpr.org/post/theatre-no-more <p>American stage productions are increasingly becoming financially insensitive for many.</p> Mon, 21 May 2012 15:25:03 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5238 at http://nhpr.org Theatre…NO MORE!