Apples http://nhpr.org en 5.19.14: Civil War Re-enactors, Saving The Wild Apple, and Arsenic In Rice http://nhpr.org/post/51914-civil-war-re-enactors-saving-wild-apple-and-arsenic-rice <p>In 1986 there were an estimated 50,000 Civil War re-enactors in the U.S. Since 2000 their ranks have been cut in half. Today on Word of Mouth: the decline of Civil War reenactments, and what drives someone to take on the identity of a 19th century solider. Plus, after millennia of selective breeding, there are now over 3000 known varieties of apple. But, are our beloved Galas and Honeycrisps in peril? Why the extinction of wild apple species in central Asia could spell disaster for their descendants. And, when it comes to rice, why brown may not be the healthier.</p><p>Listen to the full show and click <strong>Read more </strong>for individual segments</p><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 17:49:20 +0000 Word of Mouth 48748 at http://nhpr.org 5.19.14: Civil War Re-enactors, Saving The Wild Apple, and Arsenic In Rice Could Drones Help Protect Apple Orchards From Disease? http://nhpr.org/post/could-drones-help-protect-apple-orchards-disease <p>One of the challenges apple growers face is a fungal disease known as apple scab. New research at the University of New Hampshire might yield a better approach to preventing its spread – an approach, by the way, <a href="http://www.unh.edu/news/releases/2013/11/bp13applescab.cfm" target="_blank">that includes the use of special imaging cameras mounted on unmanned aerial vehicles</a>, also known as UAV’s or drones.<br />&nbsp;</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 18:46:06 +0000 Brady Carlson 38536 at http://nhpr.org Could Drones Help Protect Apple Orchards From Disease? Orchards Compete For A Slice Of The 'Pick Your Own' Pie http://nhpr.org/post/orchards-compete-slice-pick-your-own-pie <p>Fall in New Hampshire means fairs, foliage &ndash; and getting out to one of the state&#39;s 300-odd apple orchards to pick your own.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Elaine Starkey is out at Butternut Farm in Farmington, with her sons and grandkids, to do just that.</span></p><p></p><p>&quot;They usually have donuts, but we got here a little late.&quot;</p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 20:51:59 +0000 Michael Samuels 35709 at http://nhpr.org Orchards Compete For A Slice Of The 'Pick Your Own' Pie Fallen Apples http://nhpr.org/post/fallen-apples <p></p><p>Robert Frost's apple poem "Unharvested" begins:&nbsp;</p><p><strong><em>A scent of ripeness from over a wall.<br>And come to leave the routine road<br>And look for what had made me stall,<br>There sure enough was an apple tree<br>That had eased itself of its summer load,<br>And of all but its trivial foliage free…</em></strong></p> Fri, 13 Sep 2013 04:00:00 +0000 Dave Anderson 34825 at http://nhpr.org Fallen Apples Searching For Long Lost Apples With "The Apple Whisperer" http://nhpr.org/post/searching-long-lost-apples-apple-whisperer <p>In the mid-1800s the United States was home to more than fifteen thousand varieties of apple - two thousand in New England alone.&nbsp; That diversity was pretty much wiped out by the growth of industrial agriculture and today, only a few varieties remain…at least in the supermarket.&nbsp; <a href="https://www.fedcoseeds.com/trees/apples/index.htm">John Bunker</a> , a man known as the apple whisperer, is on a quest to find, save and preserve long lost types of apples. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 17:41:49 +0000 Zach Nugent 31812 at http://nhpr.org Searching For Long Lost Apples With "The Apple Whisperer" New England Apple Orchards Face Apple Shortage http://nhpr.org/post/new-england-apple-orchards-face-apple-shortage <p>Phil Rymsha is turning away apple-picking and cider-drinking hopefuls at his orchard in Harvard, Mass., because there simply aren't enough apples on his trees. Tue, 02 Oct 2012 20:40:11 +0000 Associated Press 14014 at http://nhpr.org New England Apple Orchards Face Apple Shortage N.H. Apple Crop Arrives Early http://nhpr.org/post/nh-apple-crop-arrives-early <p>New Hampshire apples are already ripe, about two weeks ahead of schedule. They're available at farm stands and farmers' markets, but that doesn't mean you can head to the orchards to pick them yourself –&nbsp; just yet. Tue, 21 Aug 2012 21:56:23 +0000 Michael Samuels 11321 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Apple Crop Arrives Early It's Apple Picking Season http://nhpr.org/post/its-apple-picking-season <p>Apple picking season in New England is fast and sweet. Fri, 06 Oct 2006 15:05:53 +0000 Cheryl Senter 6687 at http://nhpr.org It's Apple Picking Season