Lake Winnipesaukee http://nhpr.org en Winnipesaukee's Mail Boat Is Part Floating Post Office, Part Time Machine http://nhpr.org/post/winnipesaukees-mail-boat-part-floating-post-office-part-time-machine <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Someone in your family probably remembers a time when receiving a letter was unusual. The message was typically handwritten and personal, and it told you that someone in another part of the world thought enough about you to sit down, organize their thoughts and craft a message, just for you.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">There are still places in New Hampshire where getting mail is just as special, mostly because of how it's delivered.</span></p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Ray Carbone 52176 at http://nhpr.org Winnipesaukee's Mail Boat Is Part Floating Post Office, Part Time Machine Let's Show Some Love For The Lakes (And Rivers) http://nhpr.org/post/lets-show-some-love-lakes-and-rivers <p>We spoke with National Geographic Traveler Magazine editor-in-chief Keith Bellows about <a href="http://nhpr.org/post/71014-seinfeld-anti-hero-new-summer-grilling-ideas-and-green-river-festival">what makes a great beach town,</a> and he gave us some idea locations all across the country. This inspired us to make a list of New Hampshire summer spots, with particular attention to one of the state’s specialties – lakes. &nbsp;We’ve also squeezed a couple rivers in here as well. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:42:49 +0000 Molly Donahue 51680 at http://nhpr.org Let's Show Some Love For The Lakes (And Rivers) The Tiny Sailboat Regatta http://nhpr.org/post/tiny-sailboat-regatta <p>New Hampshire’s two model sailboat clubs got together in Wolfeboro for a regatta known as the Sasquatch Footy.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Bob Rice sits on a bench overlooking the wind scratched surface of </span>Wolfeboro's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Back Bay Harbor. &nbsp;He watches the remote control sailboats tack back and forth and pivot around the floating white marks. &nbsp;</span></p><blockquote><p>Oh I think it's dandy.&nbsp; You get boats of this size and more people can play with them.</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 05:00:00 +0000 Sean Hurley 50537 at http://nhpr.org The Tiny Sailboat Regatta Maintaining Level Of Winnipesaukee A Delicate Balance For Boaters, Environment http://nhpr.org/post/maintaining-level-winnipesaukee-delicate-balance-boaters-environment <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As summer approaches, boaters who enjoy spending time on Lake </span>Winnipesaukee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> have their eyes focused on two things: the weather and the <a href="http://www2.des.state.nh.us/RTi_Home/station_information_display.asp?ID=WEIN3&amp;NAME=Lake+Winnipesaukee&amp;FULLPOND=Full+Lake+=+4.32+ft.+Local+=+504.32+ft.+above+sea+level">lake level.</a></span></p> Mon, 12 May 2014 17:28:13 +0000 Ray Carbone 48332 at http://nhpr.org Maintaining Level Of Winnipesaukee A Delicate Balance For Boaters, Environment Pilot Rescued, Hospitalized After Lake Winnipesaukee Crash http://nhpr.org/post/pilot-rescued-hospitalized-after-lake-winnipesaukee-crash <p></p><p>Divers are working to recover a small plane that crashed into Lake Winnipesaukee earlier today.</p><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 19:29:22 +0000 Michael Brindley 47202 at http://nhpr.org Pilot Rescued, Hospitalized After Lake Winnipesaukee Crash Building A Sense Of Accomplishment At The NH Boat Musuem http://nhpr.org/post/building-sense-accomplishment-nh-boat-musuem-0 <p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt"><span style="font-size:10.5pt; font-family:&quot;Georgia&quot;,&quot;serif&quot;;color:#232323">The <a href="http://www.nhbm.org/programs-for-youth-family-adults/youth-family-adult-boat-building/" target="_blank">New Hampshire Boat Museum</a> in Wolfeboro is a showplace for antique boats and New Hampshire’s boating history. The museum also runs summer boat-building workshops for kids. The two week program offers area youth the chance to build a canoe, a kayak or a skiff.&nbsp;</span></p> Sat, 15 Mar 2014 04:40:00 +0000 Deborah Schachter & Andrew Parrella 43972 at http://nhpr.org Building A Sense Of Accomplishment At The NH Boat Musuem $49M Listing In Alton Features Ballroom, 20-Seat Theater, Tennis Court http://nhpr.org/post/49m-listing-alton-features-ballroom-20-seat-theater-tennis-court <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">For only $49 million, you could own the sprawling Alton mansion owned by the founder of the New Hampshire Motor Speedway.</span></p><p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 15:31:06 +0000 Michael Brindley 44243 at http://nhpr.org $49M Listing In Alton Features Ballroom, 20-Seat Theater, Tennis Court Even With Cold Snaps, Open Water Remains On Winnipesaukee http://nhpr.org/post/even-cold-snaps-open-water-remains-winnipesaukee <p></p><p></p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 20:58:22 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 42800 at http://nhpr.org Even With Cold Snaps, Open Water Remains On Winnipesaukee The Gas Dock Girls http://nhpr.org/post/gas-dock-girls <div class="transcript"><p>It&#39;s back to school time again, and lots of college students from around New Hampshire will be putting in their final hours at their summer jobs this Labor Day weekend. Wed, 30 Aug 2006 16:05:21 +0000 Shannon Mullen 6695 at http://nhpr.org The Gas Dock Girls