Summer books http://nhpr.org en The Most Popular Books Left Unread http://nhpr.org/post/most-popular-books-left-unread <p>We’ve all been there, crack open a new book, read the first few chapters and then for whatever reason, just…stop. And that’s it. The book slowly migrates from bedside, to under the bed, and ends up in a pile with a bookmark placed somewhere in chapter two. Enough of the “best sellers” and “<em>the</em> book” to read this summer, we’re adjusting our aspirations to consider the books purchased optimistically in June and are left, un-read, by Labor Day. <strong>Dr. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:11:14 +0000 Word of Mouth 51514 at http://nhpr.org The Most Popular Books Left Unread 7.09.14: Sialkot Soccer Balls, Thoughts for English Teachers, and Keeping Calm http://nhpr.org/post/70914-sialkot-soccer-balls-thoughts-english-teachers-and-keeping-calm <p>High tech can sometimes mean hand stitching. We discuss the production of World Cup soccer balls in Siaklot, Pakistan with Atlantic assistant editor, Joe Pinsker. Next, a conversation about the intricacies of teaching high school English with writer and teacher Nick Ripatrazone. Then, Dr. Jordan Ellenberg takes us through the most unread books of summer using his formula, the Hawking Index. And, we talk to "Joyland" author Emily Schultz about the strange events that followed the release Steven King's book of the same title. Plus, a look into the history of the “Keep Calm and Carry On” poster.</p><p>Listen to the full show and <strong>Read more</strong> for individual segments.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:12:14 +0000 Word of Mouth 51600 at http://nhpr.org 7.09.14: Sialkot Soccer Balls, Thoughts for English Teachers, and Keeping Calm Must-Read Books For Summer 2014 http://nhpr.org/post/must-read-books-summer-2014 <p>As the warm weather finally arrives, we’re looking at what’s new this season in books suited for coming days at the beach, in the mountains, or even your backyard. There’s a new series from New Hampshire children’s author Paul Durham, a memoir from Mariano Rivera, and a new novel from perennial favorite JK Rowling. (<em>digital post by Faith Meixell</em>)</p><p><strong><u>GUESTS: </u></strong></p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 13:00:00 +0000 The Exchange 49548 at http://nhpr.org Must-Read Books For Summer 2014 Summer Reads 2013 Edition http://nhpr.org/post/summer-reads-2013-edition <p>There’s nothing more tempting than a day off spent soaking up the sun on a hot beach with a good read. Summer reads don’t have to be mindless, though. <a href="http://michelefilgate.com/" target="_blank"><strong>Michele Filgate</strong></a> likes to find the perfect book for every occasion, and isn’t afraid to add some substance to the usually light fare offered by summer reading suggestions — Michelle is a writer, book critic, and independent bookseller at Community Bookstore in Brooklyn.</p><p> Mon, 08 Jul 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 30535 at http://nhpr.org Summer Reads 2013 Edition Our Annual Summer Books Show http://nhpr.org/post/our-annual-summer-books-show <p></p> Tue, 25 Jun 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Brady Carlson 30097 at http://nhpr.org Our Annual Summer Books Show Summer Books 2012! http://nhpr.org/post/summer-books-2012 <p>Its our Summer books show, Friday on the Exchange. We’ll look at the reads you’ll want to take with you to the beach the mountains or just as your lounging in your backyard.</p> Fri, 22 Jun 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 7265 at http://nhpr.org Summer Books 2012!