Gubernatorial RAce http://nhpr.org en Walt Havenstein Kicks Off Jobs Tour In Londonderry http://nhpr.org/post/walt-havenstein-kicks-jobs-tour-londonderry <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Republican candidate for Governor, Walt Havenstein, toured the factory floor of an aluminum casting company Wednesday. The visit marks the start of a series of similar tours as part of his Republican primary campaign.</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 18:13:01 +0000 Ryan Lessard 48902 at http://nhpr.org Walt Havenstein Kicks Off Jobs Tour In Londonderry Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Maggie Hassan http://nhpr.org/post/democratic-gubernatorial-candidate-maggie-hassan <p>We sit down wtih Democratic Gubernatorial candidate, Maggie Hassan and talk with her about the major issues facing New Hampshire and why she thinks she's the best next person to sit in the State House corner office.</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 14503 at http://nhpr.org Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Maggie Hassan Gubernatorial Forum on Healthcare http://nhpr.org/post/gubernatorial-forum-healthcare <p>On Oct. Fri, 28 Sep 2012 20:13:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 13838 at http://nhpr.org Gubernatorial Forum on Healthcare Top Stories: Kayaker Who Died Was An Official National Whitewater Organizer, Candidates Debate http://nhpr.org/post/top-stories-kayaker-who-died-was-official-national-whitewater-organizer-candidates-debate <p>A list of the top-ten most-read stories on nhpr.org and <a href="http://stateimpact.npr.org/new-hampshire/" target="_blank">stateimpact.npr.org/new-hampshire</a>. Mon, 24 Sep 2012 17:10:55 +0000 NHPR Staff 13484 at http://nhpr.org Top Stories: Kayaker Who Died Was An Official National Whitewater Organizer, Candidates Debate Hassan Wins Primary; Dems Look To General Election http://nhpr.org/post/hassan-wins-primary-dems-look-general-election <p>Democrat Maggie Hassan turned what was expected to be a tight race with fellow former state senator Jackie Cilley into and 15 point romp.</p><p>The crowd chanted, “Maggie Maggie Maggie.”</p><p>And when she took the stage at her victory party last night Hassan wasted no time in making the same argument she’s made all election long: She will act as a check on a republican legislature she considers extreme, and that she sees the man who now occupies the corner office a role model.</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 19:25:27 +0000 Josh Rogers 12787 at http://nhpr.org Hassan Wins Primary; Dems Look To General Election Cilley Tells Supporters: 'Fight Worth Having' http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-tells-supporters-fight-worth-having <p>Jackie Cilley concedes the Democratic gubernatorial race to Maggie Hassan, and says the primary debate was worth it for the party. Wed, 12 Sep 2012 05:54:18 +0000 12742 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Tells Supporters: 'Fight Worth Having' Manchester Executive Councilor Candidate DeBlois at Smith Camp http://nhpr.org/post/manchester-executive-councilor-candidate-deblois-smith-camp <p>Minutes before Smith's arrival at the Derryfield, District 4 Executive Councilor candidate Tom DeBlois arrived to applause.</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 01:28:51 +0000 Ryan Lessard 12723 at http://nhpr.org Manchester Executive Councilor Candidate DeBlois at Smith Camp Hunger At The Smith Camp http://nhpr.org/post/hunger-smith-camp <p>It's not exactly a rambunctious crowd here at the Derryfield in Manchester. Folks are just eating, talking or checking their phones for the latest poll&nbsp;numbers. Smith himself hasn't shown up yet and there hasn't been any spontaneous cheering or chanting.</p><p>Supporters don't seem anxious so much as resigned -&nbsp;but they're still hopeful. They're also hungry, and not just for the food - there has been a real lack of&nbsp;polling updates. Those with smartphones are making good use of them, but several supporters are turning to members of the press for the latest numbers.</p><p></p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 01:10:17 +0000 Ryan Lessard 12720 at http://nhpr.org Hunger At The Smith Camp Smith Supporters Trickle In http://nhpr.org/post/smith-supporters-trickle <p>Kevin Smith supporters finally outnumber media and campaign staff. People are hitting the bar, and the&nbsp;gourmet food buffet&nbsp;featuring tomato basil crackers, tabouli and hummus. Still, the Derryfield Country Club is far from full.</p><p>Early numbers are coming in with 5% of the precincts reporting and Smith is already far behind his primary opponent Ovide Lamontange. Smith has about 2.5 thousand votes (23.5%) and Lamontange has about 8 thousand (75.4%).</p><p></p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 00:21:28 +0000 Ryan Lessard 12717 at http://nhpr.org Smith Supporters Trickle In Cilley Supporters Filling In at The Shaskeen http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-supporters-filling-shaskeen <p>The Shaskeen is filling up with folks in support of Jackie Cilley.&nbsp; Early arrivals&nbsp;found seats at the bar easily,&nbsp; and are now patiently awaiting results.</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 00:14:50 +0000 Ross Boyd 12716 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Supporters Filling In at The Shaskeen A Final…Primary Primer! http://nhpr.org/post/final-primary-primer <p>We’ll look at all the candidates running for Governor Friday on the Exchange, see what they’re saying and how they might stack up against each other in a general election.</p> Fri, 07 Sep 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 12437 at http://nhpr.org A Final…Primary Primer! GOP Candidates Strive to Highlight Differences in Hooksett Forum http://nhpr.org/post/gop-candidates-strive-highlight-differences-hooksett-forum <p>GOP Candidates for Governor Ovide Lamontagne and Kevin Smith met in Hooksett last night to make their cases before republican voters.&nbsp;But despite their efforts the two continue to have a hard time drawing a sharp contrast between each other.</p><p>Lamontagne and Smith answered questions on everything from budgeting to education, gambling, the liquor commission, energy and the developmentally disabled.</p><p>The two biggest applause lines were for Smith pumping the recently passed voter ID bill –</p> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 02:23:53 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 11888 at http://nhpr.org GOP Candidates Strive to Highlight Differences in Hooksett Forum Cilley Defends Her Voting Record http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-defends-her-voting-record <p>Democratic candidate for Governor Jackie Cilley is defending breaking with her party to oppose mandatory seatbelt laws and banning pay-day loans. Former State Senator Cilley defended her record on NHPR’s the Exchange with Laura Knoy. Her primary opponent Maggie Hassan has criticized her refusal to support a seatbelt law and outlaw payday loans.</p> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 19:24:16 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 11453 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Defends Her Voting Record Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Jackie Cilley http://nhpr.org/post/democratic-gubernatorial-candidate-jackie-cilley <p>We continue our coverage of the New Hampshire gubernatorial primary, Thursday on the Exchange, with Democrat Jackie Cilley.</p> Wed, 22 Aug 2012 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 11290 at http://nhpr.org Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Jackie Cilley G.O.P. Candidates Have A Civil Debate http://nhpr.org/post/gop-candidates-have-civil-debate <p>Two Republican candidates for governor debated each other at an event in Manchester Wednesday night. Thu, 12 Jul 2012 20:26:38 +0000 Jonathan Lynch 8666 at http://nhpr.org