USS Miami http://nhpr.org en Navy Decommissions USS Miami http://nhpr.org/post/navy-decommissions-uss-miami <p></p><p>The Navy deactivated the Los Angeles Class Submarine at the Portsmouth Navy Yard.</p><p></p><p>It was there that a former shipyard worker, Casey Fury, set a fire on board that ultimately gutted the $900 m sub. During a one hour ceremony, its last commander, captain Rolf Spelker, noted that the Miami, commissioned in 1990, was recognized as the best sub in the Atlantic fleet.</p><p>“And all of us justifiable take pride not only what we have in our tours, but also what has been done by those that preceded us and those that came after us.”</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 18:20:40 +0000 Roger Wood 45810 at http://nhpr.org Navy Decommissions USS Miami USS Miami Catches Fire... Again http://nhpr.org/post/uss-miami-catches-fire-again <p></p><p>The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard says a small fire occurred inside the USS Miami sub Monday afternoon.<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 21:08:19 +0000 Ryan Lessard 23909 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Man Accused Of Setting Sub Fire To Stay In Jail http://nhpr.org/post/nh-man-accused-setting-sub-fire-stay-jail <p>A civilian worker accused of setting a fire that caused $400 million in damage to a nuclear-powered submarine has been ordered to stay in jail pending trial.</p><p>Casey James Fury, of Portsmouth, N.H., faces up to life in prison if convicted of two counts of arson at the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard in Kittery, Maine.</p><p>The 24-year-old defendant had asked to be released on home confinement, but a magistrate judge says Fury poses too great a risk to society.</p> Wed, 01 Aug 2012 19:42:12 +0000 Associated Press 9928 at http://nhpr.org Navy: Portsmouth Shipyard Fires Caused By "Anxious" Arsonist http://nhpr.org/post/navy-portsmouth-shipyard-fires-caused-anxious-arsonist <p>The US Attorney&rsquo;s office says two fires at the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard were caused by a civilian shipyard worker. The first fire caused massive damage to the USS Miami nuclear submarine. Mon, 23 Jul 2012 20:57:32 +0000 Brady Carlson & Ryan Lessard 9356 at http://nhpr.org Navy: Portsmouth Shipyard Fires Caused By "Anxious" Arsonist Kittery Residents Relieved After Arrests in U.S.S. Miami Fires http://nhpr.org/post/kittery-residents-relieved-after-arrests-uss-miami-fires <p>Kittery, Maine residents are relieved that there has been an apparent resolution to the U.S.S. Miami fire and smaller blaze nearby at the Portsmouth Navy Yard.&nbsp; Mon, 23 Jul 2012 17:11:30 +0000 Roger Wood 9330 at http://nhpr.org Worker Charged With Arson In Maine Sub Fire http://nhpr.org/post/worker-charged-arson-maine-sub-fire <p>A civilian worker has admitted to starting a fire aboard the U.S.S. Miami nuclear submarine last May.&nbsp; The fire caused $400 million in damage, and was followed by another suspicious dock fire. Mon, 23 Jul 2012 14:47:03 +0000 Ryan Lessard 9314 at http://nhpr.org Worker Charged With Arson In Maine Sub Fire Navy Could Be Shifting Focus of Shipyard Fire Investigation http://nhpr.org/post/navy-could-be-shifting-focus-shipyard-fire-investigation <p>Yesterday New Hampshire&rsquo;s US Senators, Jeanne Shaheen and Kelly Ayotte, honored the first responders to the massive fire at the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard that caused hundreds of millions of dollars in damage to the USS Miami nuclear submarine.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 20:44:21 +0000 Brady Carlson 8963 at http://nhpr.org Navy Could Be Shifting Focus of Shipyard Fire Investigation