EarthTalk http://nhpr.org en Asian Carp Woes http://nhpr.org/post/asian-carp-woes <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: What exactly are Asian carp and why are they such a big problem lately?</strong></p><p><em>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; -- Lori Roudebush, Portland, OR</em></p><p> Sun, 28 Apr 2013 04:00:00 +0000 30248 at http://nhpr.org Asian Carp Woes Pesticides And Children's Health http://nhpr.org/post/pesticides-and-childrens-health <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p> Sun, 23 Dec 2012 16:37:00 +0000 18925 at http://nhpr.org Pesticides And Children's Health The Benefits Of Public Transportation http://nhpr.org/post/benefits-public-transportation <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong><br><br><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: It might seem obvious, but what would be the primary benefits of public transit as an alternative to the private automobile if our country were to make a major commitment to it?</strong><em>-- James Millerton, Armstrong, PA</em></p><p></p><p>The benefits of making a major commitment to building up and efficiently managing a larger and more comprehensive public transit network are many.</p><p></p> Sun, 23 Dec 2012 16:35:00 +0000 18924 at http://nhpr.org The Benefits Of Public Transportation The Growing Green Awards http://nhpr.org/post/growing-green-awards <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 20:25:21 +0000 18795 at http://nhpr.org The Growing Green Awards Perchlorate in Drinking Water http://nhpr.org/post/perchlorate-drinking-water <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 18:34:26 +0000 New Media Intern 18487 at http://nhpr.org Perchlorate in Drinking Water Has Recycling Lived Up To Its Promises? http://nhpr.org/post/has-recycling-lived-its-promises <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong><br><br><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: Has recycling lived up to its promise to reduce waste and pollution, save energy and provide jobs in our ailing economy?&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </strong></p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 18:48:37 +0000 New Media Intern 18099 at http://nhpr.org Has Recycling Lived Up To Its Promises? A Greener, Healthier Laundry Room http://nhpr.org/post/greener-healthier-laundry-room <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: How can I have a greener, healthier laundry room? &nbsp; </strong></p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 18:33:13 +0000 New Media Intern 18096 at http://nhpr.org A Greener, Healthier Laundry Room Clean Energy Victory Bonds http://nhpr.org/post/clean-energy-victory-bonds <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:56:33 +0000 New Media Intern 17578 at http://nhpr.org Clean Energy Victory Bonds California's Proposition 37 (labeling genetically-modified foods) Defeated…For Now http://nhpr.org/post/californias-proposition-37-labeling-genetically-modified-foods-defeated-now <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: What was Proposition 37 in California that concerns the labeling of genetically modified foods and that was just voted down in that state? &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </strong><em>-- Peter Tremaine, Euclid, OH</em></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:51:31 +0000 New Media Intern 17577 at http://nhpr.org California's Proposition 37 (labeling genetically-modified foods) Defeated…For Now The Controversy Over The Federal Government's "Predator Control" Program http://nhpr.org/post/controversy-over-federal-governments-predator-control-program <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong>: <strong>A friend of mine told me that our government kills thousands of wild animals like bears and wolves every year in the name of protecting livestock. How can the government, which is supposed to protect dwindling numbers of animals, instead be killing them?</strong><em>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; -- </em><em>Amy Pratt, Troy, NY</em></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:45:17 +0000 New Media Intern 17575 at http://nhpr.org The Controversy Over The Federal Government's "Predator Control" Program New Nutrition Standards For School Lunches http://nhpr.org/post/new-nutrition-standards-school-lunches <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:36:23 +0000 New Media Intern 17574 at http://nhpr.org New Nutrition Standards For School Lunches Green Friendly "Bluesign" Clothing http://nhpr.org/post/green-friendly-bluesign-clothing <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:28:29 +0000 New Media Intern 17571 at http://nhpr.org Green Friendly "Bluesign" Clothing Deforestation and Global Warming http://nhpr.org/post/deforestation-and-global-warming <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: Is it true that cutting and burning trees adds more global warming pollution to the atmosphere than all the cars and trucks in the world combined? &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </strong><em>-- Mitchell Vale, Houston, TX</em></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:20:44 +0000 New Media Intern 17570 at http://nhpr.org Deforestation and Global Warming The Burrowing Owl Conservation Network http://nhpr.org/post/burrowing-owl-conservation-network <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:14:09 +0000 New Media Intern 17569 at http://nhpr.org The Burrowing Owl Conservation Network Keeping Groundwater Safe and Abundant. http://nhpr.org/post/keeping-groundwater-safe-and-abundant <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: What is currently being done in the U.S. to ensure the wise use and safety of our nation’s groundwater? </strong>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; <em>-- Kevin Orr, Baton Rouge, LA</em></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:06:31 +0000 New Media Intern 17568 at http://nhpr.org Keeping Groundwater Safe and Abundant.