DHHS http://nhpr.org en Frustration With Medical Marijuana Delays http://nhpr.org/post/frustration-medical-marijuana-delays <p>Last year, supporters of marijuana use for health purposes cheered when a bill became law. They’ve since been frustrated, however, over the timeframe of dispensaries and patient cards, also the lack of a “grow your own” option.&nbsp; But others say patience is needed, that implementation should be done carefully to avoid dangerous mistakes.</p><p><strong><u>GUESTS:</u></strong></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 The Exchange 46867 at http://nhpr.org Frustration With Medical Marijuana Delays DHHS Commissioner Toumpas http://nhpr.org/post/dhhs-commissioner-toumpas <p>You would think that the commissioner of the state’s largest agency has one of the biggest to-do lists of the year, and for Health and Human Services Commissioner Nick Toumpas, you’re probably right. A new year brings new challenges for Toumpas: with Medicaid, there’s the implementation of its managed care program, as well as the continuing debate over its expansion. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy & Faith Meixell 42197 at http://nhpr.org DHHS Commissioner Toumpas After Second Hepatitis-A Case, State Offers Vaccines http://nhpr.org/post/after-second-hepatitis-case-state-offers-vaccines <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">About 100 people between Friday and Saturday turned up at Bow High School for Hepatitis-A vaccines.&nbsp; They were offered by the state after a second employee at the Covered Bridge Restaurant in </span>Contoocook<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> tested positive for the disease.&nbsp; Rick </span>Cricenti<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">directs Emergency Services for the Department of Health and Human Services &nbsp;He says the agency reached out to more people than those who were at the restaurant when the first infecte Sun, 01 Sep 2013 14:24:07 +0000 Amanda Loder 34202 at http://nhpr.org Estimated Tax Revenues Continue To Stir Budget Debate In Senate http://nhpr.org/post/estimated-tax-revenues-continue-stir-budget-debate-senate <p></p><p>While work on the state’s next two year budget continues in the Senate, t<span style="line-height: 1.5;">he Medicaid Enhancement Tax (MET), a levy on hospital revenue, still sits in the spotlight.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">MET collection is $34 million short of estimates for this fiscal year. In Monday's Senate Finance Committee meeting, lawmakers expressed concern about overly optimistic forecasts for the next two year cycle.</span></p> Mon, 13 May 2013 20:19:41 +0000 Todd Bookman 27414 at http://nhpr.org Reopening 12 Beds At State Hospital Part Of Plan To Improve Mental Health Care http://nhpr.org/post/reopening-12-beds-state-hospital-part-plan-improve-mental-health-care <p></p><p></p><p>The state Department of Health and Human Services announced plans to temporarily reopen 12 beds at the state’s psychiatric hospital.</p><p>The state now needs to find more than $2 million to cover the cost.</p><p>Mental health advocates say the plan to add beds at New Hampshire Hospital is an encouraging first step in addressing long waiting lists for treatment.</p><p>But Ken Norton with the state chapter of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill&nbsp;says there is still much work to be done.</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 19:48:33 +0000 Michael Brindley 18272 at http://nhpr.org Reopening 12 Beds At State Hospital Part Of Plan To Improve Mental Health Care State's Biggest Agency Asks For Budget Increase http://nhpr.org/post/states-biggest-agency-asks-budget-increase <p></p><p>The Department of Health and Human Services is asking for $321 million more to cover their programs for the next two years. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 27 Nov 2012 22:38:03 +0000 Todd Bookman 17535 at http://nhpr.org Medicaid Expansion Under The Microscope http://nhpr.org/post/medicaid-expansion-under-microscope <p></p><p></p><p>The Department of Health and Human Services released a report Thursday looking at Medicaid expansion in New Hampshire.</p><p> Thu, 15 Nov 2012 23:04:38 +0000 Todd Bookman 16969 at http://nhpr.org Medicaid Expansion Under The Microscope NH Health and Human Services Commissioner Nick Toumpas http://nhpr.org/post/nh-health-and-human-services-commissioner-nick-toumpas <p>Tuesdy on the Exchange, we sit down with Health and Human Services Commissioner Nick Toumpas</p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Brady Carlson 11552 at http://nhpr.org NH Health and Human Services Commissioner Nick Toumpas New Hep C Case Has Investigators Casting Wider Net http://nhpr.org/post/new-hep-c-case-has-investigators-casting-wider-net <p>The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services announced Wednesday the confirmation of another patient infected with Hepatitis C while receiving treatment at Exeter Hospital.</p><p>This new case, confirmed by the Department of Public Health Services, brings the total number of infected up to 33. That includes David Kwiatkowski, the former hospital employee charged with stealing drugs and refilling the used syringes with saline solution. They were later reused on patients.</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 21:15:15 +0000 Ryan Lessard 10961 at http://nhpr.org DHHS: West Nile Virus Found in 26 Mosquito Batches http://nhpr.org/post/dhhs-west-nile-virus-found-26-mosquito-batches <p>Eighteen new batches of mosquitoes have tested positive for West Nile Virus in the greater Manchester, Nashua and Salem areas.</p><p></p><p>The state epidemiologist says this is the first announcement of West Nile Virus from the state this year. The city of Manchester has already reported 8 mosquito batches that tested positive. That brings the state total so far to 26, 23 in Manchester alone. 2 batches tested positive in Nashua and 1 in Salem.</p><p>Last year New Hampshire only found a total of 9 positive batches.</p> Wed, 08 Aug 2012 21:08:55 +0000 Ryan Lessard 10423 at http://nhpr.org DHHS: West Nile Virus Found in 26 Mosquito Batches DHHS Revises Testing Plan for Hepatitis C Outbreak http://nhpr.org/post/dhhs-revises-testing-plan-hepatitis-c-outbreak <p>The Department of Health and Human Services has<a href="http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/media/pr/08032012hepc-testing.htm"> revised its plan </a>for testing patients who were exposed to the Hepatitis C outbreak at Exeter Hospital.</p> Fri, 03 Aug 2012 20:07:47 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 10083 at http://nhpr.org DHHS Revises Testing Plan for Hepatitis C Outbreak