earthquakes http://nhpr.org en The Women's Earth Alliance http://nhpr.org/post/womens-earth-alliance <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong><br><br><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: I heard about a group called the Women’s Earth Alliance that works on environmental projects in many parts of the world. What kinds of projects?&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp; </strong><em>-- Judy Stack, Barre, VT</em><br> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 18:41:58 +0000 New Media Intern 18488 at http://nhpr.org The Women's Earth Alliance Rare Earthquake Rattles New England http://nhpr.org/post/rare-earthquake-rattles-new-england A rare 4.0 magnitude earthquake rattled New England, last night. Wed, 17 Oct 2012 11:59:00 +0000 14948 at http://nhpr.org Rare Earthquake Rattles New England Quake Hits Maine, Rattles N.H. http://nhpr.org/post/quake-hits-maine-rattles-nh <p></p><p class="ap-story-p">An earthquake has struck southern Maine and rattled nearby New England states.</p><p class="ap-story-p">The <a href="http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/map/" target="_blank">U.S. Geological Survey&nbsp;</a> said the epicenter of the quake was about 3 miles west of Hollis Center, Maine, and about 3 miles deep. That location is about 20 miles west of Portland.</p><p class="ap-story-p">The quake was felt in Vermont, New Hampshire and Massachusetts, including Boston, and as far south as Rhode Island and Connecticut.</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 23:59:25 +0000 Associated Press 14926 at http://nhpr.org Quake Hits Maine, Rattles N.H. Quakes Caused By Waste From Gas Wells, Study Finds http://nhpr.org/post/quakes-caused-waste-gas-wells-study-finds The U.S. Geological Survey will soon confirm that the oil and gas industry is creating earthquakes, and new data from the Midwest finds that these man-made quakes are happening more often than originally thought.<p>Earthquakes happen when faults in the Earth slip and slide against each other. There's continuous stress on innumerable faults on our continent, but seismologists like Bill Ellsworth, from the U.S. Wed, 11 Apr 2012 19:08:00 +0000 Christopher Joyce 3085 at http://nhpr.org Quakes Caused By Waste From Gas Wells, Study Finds Part 1: FrackQuakes and Agent Twitter http://nhpr.org/post/part-1-frackquakes-and-agent-twitter Sat, 12 Nov 2011 17:00:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 394 at http://nhpr.org Part 1: FrackQuakes and Agent Twitter WoM for Saturday, November 12th, 2011 http://nhpr.org/post/wom-saturday-november-12th-2011 <p>Full Saturday Broadcast.</p> Sat, 12 Nov 2011 17:00:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 393 at http://nhpr.org WoM for Saturday, November 12th, 2011 A Fracking Disaster? http://nhpr.org/post/fracking-disaster <p>A look at the mounting evidence that a controversial drilling technique causes earthquakes.</p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 17:29:25 +0000 Virginia Prescott 360 at http://nhpr.org A Fracking Disaster? Word of Mouth for November 9th, 2011 http://nhpr.org/post/word-mouth-november-9th-2011 <p>Does fracking cause earthquakes? A Columbine-style lockdown ruse. And where one group of soldiers came from.</p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 16:59:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 357 at http://nhpr.org Word of Mouth for November 9th, 2011