fracking http://nhpr.org en The Fracking Controversy http://nhpr.org/post/fracking-controversy <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><br><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: I have heard that fracking is becoming a major environmental issue in the U.S. Which parts of the country are already hosting fracking operations? Are there efforts underway to stop the practice in specific states or across the country?&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </strong></p> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 18:47:16 +0000 New Media Intern 16084 at http://nhpr.org The Fracking Controversy The Fracas Over Fracking (Rebroadcast) http://nhpr.org/post/fracas-over-fracking-rebroadcast <p>We rebroadcast one of our favorite recent shows on the controversial mining method known as 'fracking', Tuesday on the Exchange.</p> Tue, 26 Jun 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 7418 at http://nhpr.org The Fracas Over Fracking (Rebroadcast) U.S. Has A Natural Gas Problem: Too Much Of It http://nhpr.org/post/us-has-natural-gas-problem-too-much-it There's a boom in natural gas production in the United States, a boom so big the market is having trouble absorbing it all.<p>The unusually warm weather this winter is one reason for the excess, since it reduced the need for people to burn gas to heat their homes. Tue, 17 Apr 2012 07:00:00 +0000 John Ydstie 3170 at http://nhpr.org U.S. Has A Natural Gas Problem: Too Much Of It Quakes Caused By Waste From Gas Wells, Study Finds http://nhpr.org/post/quakes-caused-waste-gas-wells-study-finds The U.S. Geological Survey will soon confirm that the oil and gas industry is creating earthquakes, and new data from the Midwest finds that these man-made quakes are happening more often than originally thought.<p>Earthquakes happen when faults in the Earth slip and slide against each other. There's continuous stress on innumerable faults on our continent, but seismologists like Bill Ellsworth, from the U.S. Wed, 11 Apr 2012 19:08:00 +0000 Christopher Joyce 3085 at http://nhpr.org Quakes Caused By Waste From Gas Wells, Study Finds WoM for Saturday, November 12th, 2011 http://nhpr.org/post/wom-saturday-november-12th-2011 <p>Full Saturday Broadcast.</p> Sat, 12 Nov 2011 17:00:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 393 at http://nhpr.org WoM for Saturday, November 12th, 2011 Part 1: FrackQuakes and Agent Twitter http://nhpr.org/post/part-1-frackquakes-and-agent-twitter Sat, 12 Nov 2011 17:00:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 394 at http://nhpr.org Part 1: FrackQuakes and Agent Twitter A Fracking Disaster? http://nhpr.org/post/fracking-disaster <p>A look at the mounting evidence that a controversial drilling technique causes earthquakes.</p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 17:29:25 +0000 Virginia Prescott 360 at http://nhpr.org A Fracking Disaster? Word of Mouth for November 9th, 2011 http://nhpr.org/post/word-mouth-november-9th-2011 <p>Does fracking cause earthquakes? A Columbine-style lockdown ruse. And where one group of soldiers came from.</p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 16:59:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 357 at http://nhpr.org Word of Mouth for November 9th, 2011