Fresh Greens http://nhpr.org en Urban Sprouts http://nhpr.org/post/urban-sprouts <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344892224702="635">A composite of the voices, poetry, and free-styles of young men who are residents in a youth detention facility located in the mountains south of San Francisco. The young men participate in a garden and nutrition education program with <a href="http://www.urbansprouts.org/" target="_blank"><u><font color="#0000ff">Urban Sprouts</font></u></a>.</p></div> Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:51:42 +0000 Terrascope Youth Radio 10796 at http://nhpr.org Urban Sprouts Environmental Guilty Pleasures http://nhpr.org/post/environmental-guilty-pleasures <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344892010580="636">Some of us are well-meaning earth-lovers. We want to be model green citizens, but we don’t quite hit the mark all of the time. We’re not alone, as <strong>Devon Dennison</strong> and <strong>Kellie Blauvelt</strong> from Weekday High in Seattle, Washington, found out.</p></div> Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:50:54 +0000 Terrascope Youth Radio 10795 at http://nhpr.org Environmental Guilty Pleasures A Little Flushed Up http://nhpr.org/post/little-flushed <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344891815192="635">Did you know that one in three people in the world does not have access to a toilet? That means environmental and health hazards that most of us wouldn't have thought of. <strong>Sara Zhang </strong>from Carmel High School's WHJE youth radio station in Carmel, Indiana, tells us more.</p></div> Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:49:34 +0000 Sara Zhang 10794 at http://nhpr.org A Little Flushed Up From Cafeteria to Compost http://nhpr.org/post/cafeteria-compost <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344891601101="635">We asked youth radio groups from Portland, Maine, to Seattle, Washington, to pick a product or a pastime and size up its green credentials. What they learned surprised us - like this piece from Z<strong>oe Sheinkopf </strong>from public radio station KUOW’s weekday high radio training program in Seattle, Washington. Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:48:37 +0000 Zoe Sheinkopf 10793 at http://nhpr.org From Cafeteria to Compost Getting Real About Greenwashing http://nhpr.org/post/getting-real-about-greenwashing <div class="transcript" jquery1344891370900="648"><p>We're hearing from teens across the United States who are getting to the heart of what’s really good for the planet… and what just might look that way. Here’s one Maine high school student’s critical take on greenwashing, the corporate practice of making green claims about products and services that might or might not live up to their marketing.</p> Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:46:51 +0000 Isaac Woodbury High 10792 at http://nhpr.org Getting Real About Greenwashing Turf or Grass? http://nhpr.org/post/turf-or-grass <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344891066370="647"><strong>Eitan Stern-Robbins</strong> and <strong>Camara Langford</strong> from Terrascope Youth Radio at MIT put together a contest of sorts. Which is better for the environment: turf, or grass?</p></div> Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:45:12 +0000 Terrascope Youth Radio 10791 at http://nhpr.org Turf or Grass? Making Water a Universal Right http://nhpr.org/post/making-water-universal-right <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344888573527="636">A look at access to fresh water from youth producer <strong>Dolna Smithback</strong> from the Youth Media Project in Santa Fe, New Mexico, which celebrates youth voices and fosters youth-produced media. In 2009, Dolna traveled to the Parliament of the World’s Religions in Melbourne, Australia, to find out how other nations value water—and cope with its scarcity.</p></div> Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:44:21 +0000 Dolna Smithback 10781 at http://nhpr.org Making Water a Universal Right Fresh Greens 2.0 http://nhpr.org/post/fresh-greens-20 <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344887989644="637">In the second special from NHPR, Generation PRX and Terrascope Youth Radio at MIT, youth radio producers reflect on this question and seek out programs and efforts designed to have a positive impact on the environment.</p></div> Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:40:50 +0000 Terrascope Youth Radio 10771 at http://nhpr.org Fresh Greens 2.0 Climate Change in Shishmaref, Alaska http://nhpr.org/post/climate-change-shishmaref-alaska Fri, 04 Sep 2009 15:40:48 +0000 Alaska Teen Media Institute 11266 at http://nhpr.org Garbage Bin Rap http://nhpr.org/post/garbage-bin-rap <div class="transcript"></div> Fri, 04 Sep 2009 15:08:41 +0000 RadiJoJo 11256 at http://nhpr.org Van Jones and the Green Economy http://nhpr.org/post/van-jones-and-green-economy <div class="transcript"><p jquery1344892388872="643">Van Jones, the founder of Green For All, an organization that promotes green-collar jobs and opportunities for the disadvantages. He's also Special Advisor for Green Jobs at the White House Council on Environmental Quality. He talks with Manon Bonnet and Hichem Hadjeres about the green economy as well as making the environmental movement fashionable for more people - especially young people.</p></div> Fri, 04 Sep 2009 14:55:41 +0000 Terrascope Youth Radio 10797 at http://nhpr.org Garbage Bin Rap http://nhpr.org/post/garbage-bin-rap-0 <DIV class=transcript></DIV> Fri, 04 Sep 2009 04:00:00 +0000 RadiJoJo 11257 at http://nhpr.org Global Warming Rap http://nhpr.org/post/global-warming-rap-0 <DIV class=transcript></DIV> Fri, 04 Sep 2009 04:00:00 +0000 Terrascope Youth Radio 11259 at http://nhpr.org Dumpster Diving http://nhpr.org/post/dumpster-diving <DIV class=transcript></DIV> Fri, 04 Sep 2009 04:00:00 +0000 Rebecca Barker 11261 at http://nhpr.org Welcome to the Veggielution http://nhpr.org/post/welcome-veggielution <DIV class=transcript></DIV> Fri, 04 Sep 2009 04:00:00 +0000 Robert Rogers 11263 at http://nhpr.org