gubernatorial candidates http://nhpr.org en Walt Havenstein Kicks Off Jobs Tour In Londonderry http://nhpr.org/post/walt-havenstein-kicks-jobs-tour-londonderry <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Republican candidate for Governor, Walt Havenstein, toured the factory floor of an aluminum casting company Wednesday. The visit marks the start of a series of similar tours as part of his Republican primary campaign.</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 18:13:01 +0000 Ryan Lessard 48902 at http://nhpr.org Walt Havenstein Kicks Off Jobs Tour In Londonderry Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Maggie Hassan http://nhpr.org/post/democratic-gubernatorial-candidate-maggie-hassan <p>We sit down wtih Democratic Gubernatorial candidate, Maggie Hassan and talk with her about the major issues facing New Hampshire and why she thinks she's the best next person to sit in the State House corner office.</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 14503 at http://nhpr.org Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Maggie Hassan A Look Back at our State Debates http://nhpr.org/post/look-back-our-state-debates <p>We listen back to debates NHPR did last month on the economy. We'll look at the isseus raised as well as pull back the curtain a bit to look at the stories, challenges and process of putting together these debates.</p> Wed, 10 Oct 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 14502 at http://nhpr.org A Look Back at our State Debates Gubernatorial Forum on Healthcare http://nhpr.org/post/gubernatorial-forum-healthcare <p>On Oct. Fri, 28 Sep 2012 20:13:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 13838 at http://nhpr.org Gubernatorial Forum on Healthcare Lamontagne and Hassan Tangle At First Debate http://nhpr.org/post/lamontagne-and-hassan-tangle-first-debate <p>The battle lines in this debate became clear early, very early. In fact, Maggie Hassan was just 6 seconds into her first answer to a general question on the economy when she sought to blunt the tax and spending critique she must have known was coming.</p><p>"It’s really important that we have a strong and competitive economy, and that of course comes with opposing an income or a sales tax."</p> Wed, 19 Sep 2012 12:45:30 +0000 Josh Rogers 13183 at http://nhpr.org Lamontagne and Hassan Tangle At First Debate Cilley Supporters Filling In at The Shaskeen http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-supporters-filling-shaskeen <p>The Shaskeen is filling up with folks in support of Jackie Cilley.&nbsp; Early arrivals&nbsp;found seats at the bar easily,&nbsp; and are now patiently awaiting results.</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 00:14:50 +0000 Ross Boyd 12716 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Supporters Filling In at The Shaskeen Many N.H. Voters Sit This Election Day Out http://nhpr.org/post/many-nh-voters-sit-election-day-out <p>Governor Lynch is leaving office after eight years and gubernatorial nominees from both parties are fighting for last-minute in today's primary.</p><p>But despite the zeal from the recent presidential conventions, not to mention the glut of political signage, many New Hampshire voters decided to sit this election day out. Tue, 11 Sep 2012 21:53:53 +0000 Sheryl Rich-Kern 12712 at http://nhpr.org Many N.H. Voters Sit This Election Day Out Higher Ed and the Candidates for Governor http://nhpr.org/post/higher-ed-and-candidates-governor <p>In the last budget, one of lawmakers’ most controversial decisions was to cut the state’s contribution to New Hampshire’s public universities by 48 percent. Restoring those cuts has emerged as a big issue in the governor’s campaign. But&nbsp;how that will happen is a question politicians have yet to answer.</p><p>The people who don’t approve of the cuts that the New Hampshire legislature made to the university system – like UNH president Mark Huddleston – describe those them in a certain way.</p> Mon, 10 Sep 2012 09:30:00 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 12476 at http://nhpr.org Higher Ed and the Candidates for Governor Medicaid Expansion Divides Candidates in Governor's Race http://nhpr.org/post/medicaid-expansion-divides-candidates-governors-race <p></p><p>When the Supreme Court ruled on the Affordable Care Act, it said states must be given a choice about expanding their Medicaid programs.</p><p>Option A: Keep things as they are.</p><p>Option B: Enroll more people, and the Federal government will help you pay for their care.</p><p>Democrat Jackie Cilley likes that second option. She says that if New Hampshire doesn’t grow its Medicaid rolls, poor people will continue to slip through the cracks, and that Republican lawmakers in Concord would bear the blame.</p> Mon, 10 Sep 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Todd Bookman 12460 at http://nhpr.org Medicaid Expansion Divides Candidates in Governor's Race A Final…Primary Primer! http://nhpr.org/post/final-primary-primer <p>We’ll look at all the candidates running for Governor Friday on the Exchange, see what they’re saying and how they might stack up against each other in a general election.</p> Fri, 07 Sep 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 12437 at http://nhpr.org A Final…Primary Primer! Republicans Spar Under the Spotlight http://nhpr.org/post/republicans-spar-under-spotlight <p></p><p>Both Ovide Lamontagne and Kevin Smith are known for being strong social conservatives. Lamontagne is a champion of the pro-life movement. And Kevin Smith has long been one of the loudest voices opposing gay marriage in the state. But during last night’s debate at Saint Anselm College, both tried to play down these hot-button issues.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 07 Sep 2012 03:51:51 +0000 Todd Bookman 12412 at http://nhpr.org Republicans Spar Under the Spotlight Northern Pass And The Governor's Race: Who Stands Where http://nhpr.org/post/northern-pass-and-governors-race-who-stands-where <p>Among the many issues facing gubernatorial candidates this year is the Northern Pass project.</p><p></p><p>During the last race for governor two years ago, the Northern Pass project made only a brief appearance.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 05 Sep 2012 10:00:00 +0000 Chris Jensen 12216 at http://nhpr.org Northern Pass And The Governor's Race: Who Stands Where