Clean Air http://nhpr.org en West, Texas Could Happen Anywhere http://nhpr.org/post/west-texas-could-happen-anywhere <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: The recent explosion at a West, Texas fertilizer plant that killed many people really alarmed me. Places like this must exist near many communities around the country. How do I know if my own community might be at risk of a similar disaster?&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </strong><em>– Mary Cyr, Sarasota, FL</em></p><p> Sun, 05 May 2013 04:00:00 +0000 30251 at http://nhpr.org West, Texas Could Happen Anywhere N.H. Residents Breathing Easy http://nhpr.org/post/nh-residents-breathing-easy <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A </span><a href="http://www.stateoftheair.org/2013/states/" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">report </a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">out today from the American Lung Association says that New Hampshire’s air quality continues to improve.</span></p><p>The level of smog is falling in Hillsborough and Rockingham Counties. Both received a grade of ‘C’ this year compared to a ‘D’ in 2012.</p><p>Cheshire and Grafton earned an ‘A’, ranking them among the cleanest areas in New England. Coos County also saw its grade improve.</p> Wed, 24 Apr 2013 20:36:05 +0000 Todd Bookman 26233 at http://nhpr.org Air Pollution in National Parks http://nhpr.org/post/air-pollution-national-parks <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p> Sun, 22 Jul 2012 04:00:00 +0000 9538 at http://nhpr.org Air Pollution in National Parks Clean Air Ambassadors http://nhpr.org/post/clean-air-ambassadors <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 24 Jun 2012 04:00:00 +0000 7764 at http://nhpr.org Clean Air Ambassadors New Automobile Fuel Economy Standards http://nhpr.org/post/new-automobile-fuel-economy-standards <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong><br /><br /><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: I read that car makers had agreed to up fuel economy standards to an average of about 55 miles per gallon by the year 2025, and that specifics were due to be hammered out by the end of 2011. Did this happen and where do things stand now?</strong><em>-- Scott Ellis, Norwalk, CA</em></p><p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 19 Feb 2012 05:00:00 +0000 2100 at http://nhpr.org New Automobile Fuel Economy Standards Woodstove Changeout Project for Southern NH http://nhpr.org/post/woodstove-changeout-project-southern-nh <p>The American Lung Association announced a project that will pay individuals in Southern New Hampshire to swap out their old woodstoves.</p> Tue, 06 Dec 2011 19:39:05 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 784 at http://nhpr.org Woodstove Changeout Project for Southern NH New Hampshire Senators Back Clean Air Rule http://nhpr.org/post/new-hampshire-senators-back-clean-air-rule <p>&nbsp;New Hampshire&rsquo;s U-S senators helped defeat a measure to unwind new regulations to clean up air in the Granite State.</p><p>The Environmental Protection Agency is trying to prevent unhealthy smog and soot from coal fired power plants in 27 states from spreading to other states. The EPA&rsquo;s cross-border pollution rule would force those states to drastically cut their emissions.</p><p>But tea party backed Kentucky freshman Rand Paul forced the Senate to vote on unwinding those new rules to protect his coal rich home state.</p> Thu, 10 Nov 2011 22:31:32 +0000 Matt Laslo 389 at http://nhpr.org