pollution http://nhpr.org en Hassan Signs On To Cross-Border Air Pollution Petition http://nhpr.org/post/hassan-signs-cross-border-air-pollution-petition <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Monday Governor Hassan joined Democratic governors from seven other Northeastern states in asking the EPA to clamp down on emissions drifting over their borders from other states. The petition targets states upwind from the Northeast, which Governor Hassan says produce the vast majority of ozone-causing pollution in New Hampshire, wafts across our borders from the Midwest and Mid-Atlantic</span></p><p></p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 22:41:58 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 39837 at http://nhpr.org Hassan Signs On To Cross-Border Air Pollution Petition Airplane Exhaust http://nhpr.org/post/airplane-exhaust <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p><p><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u></strong><strong>: Why is it that airplane exhaust is so much worse for the environment than engine emissions on the ground?</strong><em>-- Winona Sharpe, New York, NY</em></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Jan 2013 17:58:31 +0000 20581 at http://nhpr.org Airplane Exhaust Traffic Pollution And Asthma http://nhpr.org/post/traffic-pollution-and-asthma <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p> Sun, 30 Dec 2012 05:00:00 +0000 19697 at http://nhpr.org Traffic Pollution And Asthma Tracking Mercury Through The Food Chain http://nhpr.org/post/tracking-mercury-through-food-chain <p>For years doctors and health officials have been trying to warn consumers about the risk of mercury in fish.</p><p>The new short film <a href="http://www.dartmouth.edu/~toxmetal/program-resources/research-translation/mercurymovie.html" target="_blank">“Mercury: From Source to Seafood”</a> is trying to aid in that effort by filling in a bit more of our understanding of how mercury ends up in fish. Wed, 12 Sep 2012 21:44:32 +0000 Brady Carlson 12808 at http://nhpr.org Tracking Mercury Through The Food Chain Air Pollution in National Parks http://nhpr.org/post/air-pollution-national-parks <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p></p> Sun, 22 Jul 2012 04:00:00 +0000 9538 at http://nhpr.org Air Pollution in National Parks How A River That Used to "Run Red" With Pollution Got Clean http://nhpr.org/post/how-river-used-run-red-pollution-got-clean <p>June is National Rivers Month, which means it&rsquo;s a good time to talk about a recent film chronicling the effort to clean up the Nashua River. It&rsquo;s called <a href="http://www.workof1000.org/about-the-program/about-the-film" target="_blank">&ldquo;Marion Stoddart: The Work of 1000&rdquo;</a> and has been screened at a number of environmental film festivals.</p><p><strong>Susan Edwards</strong> is the film&rsquo;s producer, and she talks with All Things Considered host Brady Carlson about, the film, Marion Stoddard and the Nashua River.</p> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 21:21:45 +0000 Brady Carlson 7896 at http://nhpr.org How A River That Used to "Run Red" With Pollution Got Clean Curbing Pollution from Power Plants http://nhpr.org/post/curbing-pollution-power-plants <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 17 Jun 2012 04:00:00 +0000 6868 at http://nhpr.org Curbing Pollution from Power Plants Diesel Pollution http://nhpr.org/post/diesel-pollution <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Sun, 10 Jun 2012 04:00:00 +0000 6866 at http://nhpr.org Diesel Pollution How A 'Western Problem' Led To New Drilling Rules http://nhpr.org/post/how-western-problem-led-new-drilling-rules The Environmental Protection Agency's <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/04/18/150891876/new-rules-to-curb-pollution-from-oil-gas-drilling">new air pollution rules</a> for the oil and gas industry may seem like odd timing, as President Obama has been trying to deflect Republican criticism that he overregulates energy industries. Thu, 19 Apr 2012 13:45:00 +0000 Elizabeth Shogren 3213 at http://nhpr.org How A 'Western Problem' Led To New Drilling Rules New Rules To Curb Pollution From Oil, Gas Drilling http://nhpr.org/post/new-rules-curb-pollution-oil-gas-drilling The Environmental Protection Agency announced new rules Wednesday to control the problem of air pollution coming from wells being drilled by the booming oil and natural gas drilling industry.<p>Currently, waste products from the drilling operations, which include a mix of chemicals, sand and water, can be pumped into open enclosures or pits, where toxic substances can make their way into the air. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 23:34:00 +0000 Elizabeth Shogren 3223 at http://nhpr.org New Rules To Curb Pollution From Oil, Gas Drilling F. Sherwood Rowland, Warned Of Aerosol's Danger http://nhpr.org/post/f-sherwood-rowland-warned-aerosols-danger The man who warned us that aerosol spray-cans could destroy the earth's protective ozone layer has died.<p>F. Sherwood Rowland, better known as Sherry Rowland, was a Nobel-prize winning chemist at the University of California, Irvine. And he didn't just keep to the laboratory: He successfully advocated for a ban on ozone-destroying chemicals called CFCs.<p>Rowland was a towering figure in several senses of the world. He was big, 6-foot-4, and had a commanding presence in any room. He spoke his mind with directness. And his thoughts were firmly grounded in science. Tue, 13 Mar 2012 17:11:00 +0000 Richard Harris 2495 at http://nhpr.org F. Sherwood Rowland, Warned Of Aerosol's Danger Progress on Smog in Los Angeles http://nhpr.org/post/progress-smog-los-angeles <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong><br /><br /><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: I was in Los Angeles recently and the smog was not nearly as bad as when I visited 15 years ago. Is it really better now, and if so, how did it get that way? Or did I just happen to visit on a good day?</strong><em>-- Marjorie Hicke, Atlanta, GA</em></p><p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 26 Feb 2012 05:00:00 +0000 2259 at http://nhpr.org Progress on Smog in Los Angeles Latino Communities Hardest Hit by Air Pollution http://nhpr.org/post/latino-communities-hardest-hit-air-pollution <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong><br /><br /><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: How is it that Latino communities are among those hardest hit by air pollution?</strong> <em>-- Miguel Aragones, Los Angeles, CA<br /><br /> </em></p> Sun, 05 Feb 2012 05:00:00 +0000 1918 at http://nhpr.org Latino Communities Hardest Hit by Air Pollution Carbon Emissions are Making Our Waters Acidic http://nhpr.org/post/carbon-emissions-are-making-our-waters-acidic <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><br /><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: I was horrified to read recently that our oceans are actually becoming acidic, that the continued burning of fossil fuels is changing the chemistry of our seas. What&rsquo;s going on? </strong><em>&nbsp;-- Kim Richardson, San Diego, CA</em></p><p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 29 Jan 2012 05:00:00 +0000 1679 at http://nhpr.org Carbon Emissions are Making Our Waters Acidic Cleaner Air In L.A. Ports Comes At A Cost To Truckers http://nhpr.org/post/cleaner-air-la-ports-comes-cost-truckers The twin ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach are the busiest in the nation. They also have some of the dirtiest air, thanks to thousands of cargo trucks that pass through each day.<p>But this month marks the beginning of a new era, as tighter emissions standards go into effect.<p><strong> </strong><p><strong>'100 Percent Clean Energy'</strong><p>A common trope in environmental stories is to put things in terms of jobs vs. the environment. But that's not what happened in the case of the ports.<p>Pedro Melendez starts the engine of his shiny new big rig, which he drives for a living. Wed, 18 Jan 2012 05:01:00 +0000 Krissy Clark 1454 at http://nhpr.org Cleaner Air In L.A. Ports Comes At A Cost To Truckers