Warren Rudman http://nhpr.org en Friends Gather To Remember Senator Warren Rudman http://nhpr.org/post/friends-gather-remember-senator-warren-rudman <p></p><p>T<span style="line-height: 1.5;">he two-term Republican was a budget hawk, a centrist… and to the crowd inside the Federal Courthouse that bears his name, a statesman.&nbsp;</span></p><p>Among his many accomplishments was the successful nomination of Supreme Court Justice David Souter, who served under Rudman in the New Hampshire Attorney General’s Office.</p><blockquote><p>Souter: “As we watched him and we listened to him, he brought out the best instincts that were in us. Whatever they were, including the instinct to laugh at yourself every once in a while.”</p> Fri, 25 Jan 2013 23:52:18 +0000 Todd Bookman 20820 at http://nhpr.org Friends Gather To Remember Senator Warren Rudman U.N.H. Law School To Name Center After Warren Rudman http://nhpr.org/post/unh-law-school-name-center-after-warren-rudman <p>The University of New Hampshire School of Law is planning to establish a center in remembrance of former Sen. Warren Rudman, who died in November. Tue, 22 Jan 2013 22:19:55 +0000 Associated Press 20603 at http://nhpr.org Flags At Half Staff in N.H., Sen. Rudman To Be Memorialized in D.C. http://nhpr.org/post/flags-half-staff-nh-sen-rudman-be-memorialized-dc <p>Flags are at half-staff across the Granite State Thursday to honor former U.S. Sen. Warren Rudman, who passed away last week.</p><p>Rudman, who served two terms as a Republican Senator for New Hampshire, was 82 when he passed away Nov. 19. He served from 1980 to 1993.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 29 Nov 2012 14:41:52 +0000 Michael Brindley 17648 at http://nhpr.org Flags At Half Staff in N.H., Sen. Rudman To Be Memorialized in D.C. Sen. Rudman's Memorial Service Set http://nhpr.org/post/sen-rudmans-memorial-service-set <p>A memorial service is being held in Washington, D.C., for U.S. Sen. Warren Rudman of New Hampshire who died last week. Tue, 27 Nov 2012 19:49:02 +0000 Associated Press 17516 at http://nhpr.org Remembering Warren Rudman http://nhpr.org/post/remembering-warren-rudman <p>The former Republican U.S. Senator from New Hampshire died Monday night, at age eighty-two.&nbsp; For decades, Rudman was a prominent voice in New Hampshire and National politics…on deficit reduction, homeland security, and campaign finance.&nbsp; We’ll look back at his long career with Granite Staters who knew him.</p><p>Click <a href="http://www.nhpr.org/post/25-25-us-senator-warren-rudman">here </a>to listen to Warren Rudman's featured&nbsp;appearance on the Exchange during our 25 in 25 series back in 2007.</p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 17213 at http://nhpr.org Remembering Warren Rudman Former Senator Warren Rudman Dies http://nhpr.org/post/former-senator-warren-rudman-dies <p>Former New Hampshire Senator Warren Rudman died Monday night at the age of 82. He was considered a centrist Republican, and a leader in the movement toward fiscal responsibility.</p><p>As Congress battle over taxes and spending, President Obama says lawmakers would do well to follow the example set by Warren Rudman nearly 30 years ago.</p><p>In a statement, the President called the two-term Senator the embodiment of Yankee sensibility.</p><p>Warren Rudman’s time in Washington was highlighted by his struggle to balance the Federal budget.</p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 22:48:13 +0000 Todd Bookman 17229 at http://nhpr.org Former Senator Warren Rudman Dies Retired Justice Souter Remembers Sen. Rudman http://nhpr.org/post/retired-justice-souter-remembers-sen-rudman <p>Retired U.S. Supreme Court Justice David Souter says New Hampshire Sen. Warren Rudman was like a brother to him. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 22:29:46 +0000 Associated Press 17225 at http://nhpr.org 25 In 25: U.S. Senator Warren Rudman http://nhpr.org/post/25-25-us-senator-warren-rudman <p>In 2007, The Exchange ran a special series taking a look at 25 influential people in the Granite State, <strong>25 In 25</strong>. As part of that series, we spoke to former U.S. Senator for New Hampshire Warren Rudman. We are reposting this episode as a special memorial, following Senator Rudman's death on Monday, November 19th.</p><p>From the original episode:</p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 20:59:42 +0000 Laura Knoy 17212 at http://nhpr.org 25 In 25: U.S. Senator Warren Rudman N.H. Lawmakers React To Sen. Rudman's Death http://nhpr.org/post/nh-lawmakers-react-sen-rudmans-death <p>Lawmakers around the state are reacting to the death of former Senator Warren Rudman.&nbsp; Here's a sampling of what they've said:</p><p><strong>U.S. Sen. Kelly</strong> <strong>Ayotte:</strong></p><p>“Warren Rudman was a national leader who made New Hampshire proud. He was tenacious about reducing our debt and he worked tirelessly to support our men and women in uniform. Warren was a fighter who had the courage of his convictions, and he always stood up for what he believed was right regardless of the consequences. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 18:07:03 +0000 NHPR Staff 17193 at http://nhpr.org