Brain http://nhpr.org en Beethoven To Beyonce: Can Music Really Make Babies Smarter? http://nhpr.org/post/beethoven-beyonce-can-music-really-make-babies-smarter <p>For years, the fact that classical music helps little brains grow and develop has been common knowledge. It appears in books about raising kids, comes from other parents, and spurs sales of CDs with names like “Bach For Babies.” But is it actually solid advice? We spoke with Jayson Greene who wrote the article <a href="http://pitchfork.com/features/overtones/9450-mozart-makes-you-smarter-and-other-dubious-musical-theories/">“Mozart Makes You Smarter…And Other Dubious Musical Theories." </a>He says no, it isn’t.</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:14:49 +0000 Molly Donahue 52302 at http://nhpr.org Beethoven To Beyonce: Can Music Really Make Babies Smarter? 7.21.14: Numeric Personalities, Tipping Tendencies and Botox for Depression http://nhpr.org/post/72114-numeric-personalities-tipping-tendencies-and-botox-depression <p>Why is six scared of seven?<em> Because seven, eight, nine. </em>Jokes like this are only one example of the ways that we humans like to assign personality traits to the numbers that dictate our world. Today on Word of Mouth we explore this seemingly universal tendency to create emotional associations with numbers.&nbsp; Then, is tipping culturally determined?<em> Freakonomics </em>investigates the nuances of tipping in the United States with the help of Cornell professor <strong>Michael Lynn</strong>. Plus, Botox is well known for freezing the faces of many a Hollywood starlet, but how about freezing out negative emotions? We hear from journalist<strong> Taffy Brodesser-Akner </strong>about how Botox is being used to treat depression.</p><p>Listen to the full show and&nbsp;<strong>Read more</strong>&nbsp;for individual segments.</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:07:53 +0000 Word of Mouth 52304 at http://nhpr.org 7.21.14: Numeric Personalities, Tipping Tendencies and Botox for Depression New Numbers & Research On Autism http://nhpr.org/post/new-numbers-research-autism <p>With new numbers from the Centers for Disease Control showing ever-increasing rates, researchers and advocates are considering the causes and ramifications. Meanwhile, a new study strengthens the argument that autism originates in the brain before birth. We’ll talk to a panel of New Hampshire experts on this disorder for the latest.</p><p><strong><u>GUESTS:&nbsp; </u></strong></p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 13:00:42 +0000 The Exchange 47526 at http://nhpr.org New Numbers & Research On Autism The Doodle Revolution http://nhpr.org/post/doodle-revolution <P>In a world where doodling is often criticized as a means toward distraction, new studies have shown that sketching and doodling improve our comprehension and creative thinking. <A href="http://sunnibrown.com/about/" target=_blank><STRONG>Sunni Brown </STRONG></A>argues that there is no such thing as a mindless drawing. <A href="http://sunnibrown.com/doodlerevolution/manifesto/">Her movement</A>, and forthcoming book, is called ‘The Doodle Revolution'. She joins us to set the record straight.</P> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 15:16:55 +0000 Virginia Prescott 20881 at http://nhpr.org Dystextia: A New Warning Sign http://nhpr.org/post/dystextia-new-warning-sign <P>Here’s another sign that personal technology has penetrated nearly every part of our lives – Boston Globe Health Reporter and blogger <A href="http://www.bostonglobe.com/staff/kotz"><STRONG>Deborah Kotz </STRONG></A>recently wrote about a <A href="http://www.bostonglobe.com/lifestyle/health-wellness/2012/12/31/bizarre-texts-could-sign-stroke-other-health-problems/3PMRbRVeQ1V0tpjw9VDIQL/story.html">newly recognized medical phenomenon called “dystextia”</A>.&nbsp;</P> <P> Mon, 14 Jan 2013 15:47:01 +0000 Virginia Prescott 20106 at http://nhpr.org The Science of Changing Your Mind http://nhpr.org/post/science-changing-your-mind <p>Ever wonder whether hard facts play a part in changing a person's mind? Turns out, not so much. <a href="http://www.boingboing.net">Boing Boing's </a><a href="http://www.maggiekb.com/"><strong>Maggie Koerth-Baker</strong></a> <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/19/magazine/the-mind-of-a-flip-flopper.html">wrote about </a>the real influences on choice for <em>The New York Times Magazine.</em></p> Wed, 29 Aug 2012 15:44:09 +0000 Virginia Prescott 11838 at http://nhpr.org The Science of Changing Your Mind Shrinking Stomach, Changing Brain http://nhpr.org/post/shrinking-stomach-changing-brain <p>How gastric bypass surgery can radically alter the brain's chemistry.</p> Thu, 31 May 2012 14:48:43 +0000 Virginia Prescott 5893 at http://nhpr.org Shrinking Stomach, Changing Brain Breaking Down the Brain http://nhpr.org/post/breaking-down-brain <p>A neurologist gets us thinking about what a new map of the brain may mean.</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2012 15:07:04 +0000 Virginia Prescott 3216 at http://nhpr.org Breaking Down the Brain Word of Mouth for 11.19.2011 Part 4 http://nhpr.org/post/word-mouth-11192011-part-4 <p>Our 11 for '11 series of conversations continues with Dr. Raymond Tallis, who coins the explosion of neuroscience as human explainer "neurotrash."</p> Sat, 19 Nov 2011 13:04:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 527 at http://nhpr.org Word of Mouth for 11.19.2011 Part 4