Charles Bass http://nhpr.org en Coos Voting: Kuster and Bass http://nhpr.org/post/coos-voting-kuster-and-bass <p>In Coos County Democrat Ann McLane Kuster got a boost from Berlin and Gorham, helping her to defeat incumbent Republican Charlie Bass.</p><p>According <a href="http://sos.nh.gov/2012ConGen.aspx?id=27993">figures released by the Secretary of State</a>&nbsp;Kuster got 2,413 votes in Berlin, almost 1,000 more than Bass.</p><p>In Gorham she got 866 votes compared to 564 for Bass.</p><p>Other Coos towns that favored Kuster included Milan, Northumberland, Randolph, Stratford and Stark.</p><p>Bass took towns including Colebrook, Columbia, Dalton, Errol, Lancaster and Whitefield.</p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 19:17:20 +0000 Chris Jensen 16542 at http://nhpr.org Kuster Wins 2nd Congressional District In Rematch With Bass http://nhpr.org/post/kuster-wins-2nd-congressional-district-rematch-bass <p></p><p>It was a repeat match-up with a very different outcome in the Second Congressional District.&nbsp; Democrat Ann McLane Kuster defeated Republican Congressman Charlie Bass by a roughly five point margin.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 09:39:52 +0000 Amanda Loder 16397 at http://nhpr.org Kuster Wins 2nd Congressional District In Rematch With Bass Bass, Kuster Square-Off Over DOMA http://nhpr.org/post/bass-kuster-square-over-doma <p>Friday night, St. Anselm College hosted the final debate between the candidates for the 2<sup>nd</sup> District congressional seat.&nbsp; While abortion has been a signature social issue of the race, this time around, the candidates sparred on gay marriage.</p> Sat, 03 Nov 2012 11:30:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 16117 at http://nhpr.org On Jobs and the Economy: Charlie Bass http://nhpr.org/post/jobs-and-economy-charlie-bass <p>This week we’ve been talking about jobs and the economy with candidates in New Hampshire’s 2<sup>nd</sup> &nbsp;Congressional District. We wrap up the series with the Republican nominee, incumbent congressman <a href="http://www.votebass.com/" target="_blank"><strong>Charlie Bass</strong></a>. He talks with All Things Considered host Brady Carlson.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 21:48:16 +0000 Brady Carlson 16097 at http://nhpr.org On Jobs and the Economy: Charlie Bass Two Pro-Choice Candidates Face-Off Over Women's Health In Congressional Race http://nhpr.org/post/two-pro-choice-candidates-face-over-womens-health-congressional-race <p>While voters say economic issues are their top concern, abortion is also a high priority this year.&nbsp; In a recent <a href="http://www.gallup.com/poll/157886/abortion-threshold-issue-one-six-voters.aspx">Gallup Poll</a>, nearly two-thirds of voters said it’s an important factor in their decision.&nbsp;</p><p>But when you have a pro-choice Republican running against a pro-choice Democrat, abortion doesn’t seem like an obvious lightning-rod issue.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 11:30:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 16028 at http://nhpr.org Two Pro-Choice Candidates Face-Off Over Women's Health In Congressional Race Bass And Kuster Discuss Support For Israel http://nhpr.org/post/bass-and-kuster-discuss-support-israel <p>Candidates for New Hampshire’s second congressional district answered questions from a small audience in a public forum the Southern New Hampshire Jewish Men’s Club sponsored on Sunday morning. Wed, 10 Oct 2012 16:58:33 +0000 Sheryl Rich-Kern 14511 at http://nhpr.org Bass And Kuster Discuss Support For Israel Candidate Forum: New Hampshire's 2nd Congressional District http://nhpr.org/post/candidate-forum-new-hampshires-2nd-congressional-district <p>We present the second of our candidate forums on business and the economy. We&nbsp;sit down with the candidates for New Hampshire’s&nbsp;2nd Congressional District:&nbsp; incumbent Republican Charlie Bass and Democratic challenger Ann McLane Kuster.&nbsp; We’ll examine the issues -- from deficits to health care to job growth.</p><p> Tue, 18 Sep 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 13098 at http://nhpr.org Candidate Forum: New Hampshire's 2nd Congressional District Bass: SERVE Act Does Not Infringe 1st Amendment http://nhpr.org/post/bass-serve-act-does-not-infringe-1st-amendment <p>New Hampshire Congressman Charlie Bass is celebrating the enactment of a law he backed to curb protests at military funerals Thursday.</p><p>At a statehouse news conference, Bass, flanked by veteran groups, said the new law strikes the right balance.</p><p><em>&ldquo;I think that we have a fundamental obligation to ensure that fallen service members receive the honor and respect that they deserve.&rdquo;</em></p> Thu, 09 Aug 2012 17:57:31 +0000 Ryan Lessard 10498 at http://nhpr.org Bass: SERVE Act Does Not Infringe 1st Amendment Another ACA Repeal Passes the House http://nhpr.org/post/another-aca-repeal-passes-house <div><p>Wednesday, a House vote to repeal the Affordable Care Act has passed 244 to 185.</p><p>Both New Hampshire Congressmen voted to repeal the nation&rsquo;s healthcare law.</p><p>Many have called this vote symbolic. Charlie Bass says this new vote was triggered by the Supreme Court decision to uphold the law. But, he says, he considers it a kickoff to congressional races for re-election.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 20:54:59 +0000 Ryan Lessard 8591 at http://nhpr.org Another ACA Repeal Passes the House Bass Says He Didn't Push Poll http://nhpr.org/post/bass-says-he-didnt-push-poll <p>&nbsp;</p><p>Congressman Charlie Bass&#39;s is denying the allegation by the&nbsp; New Hampshire attorney general&#39;s that his campaign violated the state&#39;s push polling law.</p> Wed, 04 Apr 2012 17:56:34 +0000 Josh Rogers 2928 at http://nhpr.org NH Delegation Votes For Payroll Tax Extension http://nhpr.org/post/nh-delegation-votes-payroll-tax-extension <p><font and="" around="" average="" bass="" bill="" but="" can="" charlie="" comes="" congress="" congressman="" cut="" district="" dollars="" evening.="" face="Arial" for="" from="" fund.="" important="" in="" intended="" into="" it="" last="" late="" like="" many="" members="" money="" move="" night="" of="" one="" onto="" other="" p="" paid="" pass="" payroll="" pockets="" pressing="" publicly="" puts="" released="" republican="" republicans="" s="" says="" second="" security="" size="3" so="" social="" studied="" t="" tax="" that="" the="" thousand="" to="" trust="" until="" was="" worker Fri, 17 Feb 2012 21:46:55 +0000 Matt Laslo 1967 at http://nhpr.org Bass Holds Town Meeting in Berlin Saturday http://nhpr.org/post/bass-holds-town-meeting-berlin-saturday <p>Congressman Charlie Bass will hold a town meeting in Berlin Saturday, February&nbsp;11th,&nbsp;from 11 a.m. to noon in Berlin&rsquo;s City Hall.</p><p>&ldquo;Constituents with questions, comments, or those in need of assistance on a federal matter are welcome to attend,&rdquo; according to a news release from Bass&rsquo; office.</p> Fri, 10 Feb 2012 15:51:51 +0000 Chris Jensen 1811 at http://nhpr.org New Hampshire Congressional Delegation Reflects on Year http://nhpr.org/post/new-hampshire-congressional-delegation-reflects-year <p>Congress&nbsp;broke&nbsp;a&nbsp;record this&nbsp;year, but hitting the lowest approval rating of all time isn&rsquo;t what the&nbsp;region&rsquo;s lawmakers had hoped to accomplish.<br /><br /> Correspondent Matt Laslo talked with the New Hampshire congressional delegation and has a look back at this year&rsquo;s wild ride&nbsp;in&nbsp;Washington.</p> Thu, 29 Dec 2011 20:41:31 +0000 Matt Laslo 1151 at http://nhpr.org New Hampshire Congressional Delegation Reflects on Year Congressman Bass: All Options On Table To Reduce Deficit http://nhpr.org/post/congressman-bass-all-options-table-reduce-deficit <div class="transcript"><p>The congressional &ldquo;super committee&rdquo; is only tasked with cutting one point two trillion dollars from the federal debt. But Second District Republican Congressman Charlie Bass is asking the panel to cut even deeper, even if it taxes are thrown into the mix.</p> Wed, 02 Nov 2011 21:10:00 +0000 Matt Laslo 232 at http://nhpr.org