Minimum Wage http://nhpr.org en N.H. Senate Kills Minimum Wage Hike http://nhpr.org/post/nh-senate-kills-minimum-wage-hike <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The New Hampshire Senate has killed a bill that would have set the state minimum wage at $8.25 next year and increase it to $9 in 2016.</p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 19:04:43 +0000 Associated Press 48156 at http://nhpr.org Governor Hassan Calls On Senate To Increase Minimum Wage http://nhpr.org/post/governor-hassan-calls-senate-increase-minimum-wage <p>Governor Maggie Hassan is urging Senate lawmakers to increase the state’s minimum wage.</p><p>In a letter to the Senate Finance Committee, Governor Hassan writes that boosting the rate would accelerate the state’s economic growth.</p><p>“Restoring and increasing New Hampshire’s minimum wage will help our economy by putting more money in the pockets of hard-working people of all ages to spend at businesses across the state,” writes Hassan.</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 21:30:58 +0000 Todd Bookman 47218 at http://nhpr.org Senate Finance Committee To Take Up Minimum Wage Bill http://nhpr.org/post/senate-finance-committee-take-minimum-wage-bill <p></p><p>The Senate Finance committee will hold a hearing Tuesday on a <a href="http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2014/HB1403.pdf" target="_blank">bill</a> that aims to boost New Hampshire’s minimum wage.</p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Michael Brindley 47017 at http://nhpr.org Senate Finance Committee To Take Up Minimum Wage Bill Bus Tour Stop In N.H. Pushes Sen. Ayotte To Support Minimum Wage Hike http://nhpr.org/post/bus-tour-stop-nh-pushes-sen-ayotte-support-minimum-wage-hike <p></p><p>A multi-state bus tour echoing President Barack Obama’s push to raise the national minimum wage stopped in the Granite State this morning.</p><p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 16:41:53 +0000 Michael Brindley 45593 at http://nhpr.org Bus Tour Stop In N.H. Pushes Sen. Ayotte To Support Minimum Wage Hike House Approves Boost To Minimum Wage http://nhpr.org/post/house-approves-boost-minimum-wage <div><p>The minimum wage would go up a dollar to $8.25 an hour next year under a bill approved by the Democratically-controlled House. The measure, which passed 173-118, increases the wage to $9 in 2016, and starting in 2017, ties it to the inflation rate.</p><p>Supporters say the move helps the working poor.</p><p>Opponents argue increasing the wage will hurt business and reduce employment. The measure faces an uphill fight in the GOP-held Senate.</p><p>Right now, New Hampshire doesn’t have its own minimum wage, and relies on the federal rate of $7.25.&nbsp;</p></div><p></p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 22:31:01 +0000 NHPR Staff 44988 at http://nhpr.org Gov. Hassan Calls On Lawmakers To Increase N.H.'s Minimum Wage http://nhpr.org/post/gov-hassan-calls-lawmakers-increase-nhs-minimum-wage <p>In her State of the State address today, Governor Maggie Hassan called on state lawmakers to restore and increase New Hampshire’s minimum wage.</p><p>The state Legislature in 2011 eliminated the state minimum wage and defaulted to the federal wage of $7.25 an hour.</p><p>Senator Lou D’Allesandro, a Manchester Democrat, agrees the minimum wage should be raised, but knows the debate will be a long and difficult one.</p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 21:53:42 +0000 Michael Brindley & Associated Press 43141 at http://nhpr.org Minimum Wage Debate To Return To N.H. State House http://nhpr.org/post/minimum-wage-debate-return-nh-state-house <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The debate over the minimum wage will return to the state house this session.&nbsp; A proposal to reestablish a state minimum wage failed last year in the Republican-controlled state Senate.&nbsp; This session, Democrats hope to set a state minimum wage at <a href="http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2014/HB1403.html" target="_blank">$8.25 an hour</a>.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 21:41:58 +0000 Amanda Loder 41425 at http://nhpr.org INFOGRAPHIC: Minimum Wage In N.H. http://nhpr.org/post/infographic-minimum-wage-nh <p>Some stats surrounding the minimum wage debate in New Hampshire:</p><p><iframe frameborder="0" height="1349" scrolling="no" src="//e.infogr.am/minimum-wage-in-nh" style="border:none;" width="550"></iframe></p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 14:22:46 +0000 Faith Meixell 41387 at http://nhpr.org A New Minimum Wage For N.H.? http://nhpr.org/post/new-minimum-wage-nh <p>As more states increase their minimum wages beyond the federal level, New Hampshire’s has remained at the same at seven dollars and twenty-five cents an hour. Now, some state lawmakers want to raise it, saying it will help lift workers out of poverty and boost the economy. Opponents though, warn of unintended consequences, including layoffs and slower job growth.</p><p><strong><u>GUESTS:</u></strong></p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 41382 at http://nhpr.org A New Minimum Wage For N.H.? Union-Backed Protesters Highlight Minimum Wage At Manchester McDonald's http://nhpr.org/post/union-backed-protesters-highlight-minimum-wage-manchester-mcdonalds <p>More than a dozen protesters lined up in front of a Manchester McDonald’s to take part in a national effort to raise the federal minimum wage.</p><p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 20:29:22 +0000 Ryan Lessard 39633 at http://nhpr.org Union-Backed Protesters Highlight Minimum Wage At Manchester McDonald's Senate Votes To Table Minimum Wage Bill http://nhpr.org/post/senate-votes-table-minimum-wage-bill <p>The New Hampshire Senate on Thursday voted unanimously to table a plan to reinstate a state minimum wage at the same level as the federal wage of $7.25. Thu, 07 Mar 2013 21:46:50 +0000 Josh Rogers 23296 at http://nhpr.org