Foodstuffs http://nhpr.org en A Sixpack Of Coffee At Your Cookout? http://nhpr.org/post/sixpack-coffee-your-cookout <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">A Bedford coffee roaster offers a different kind of buzz.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Fri, 04 Jul 2014 00:59:54 +0000 Michael Samuels 51237 at http://nhpr.org A Sixpack Of Coffee At Your Cookout? Foodstuffs: A Neighborhood Market Searches For A Neighborhood http://nhpr.org/post/foodstuffs-neighborhood-market-searches-neighborhood <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A food market can be a cultural center for a neighborhood. The owner of an Asian market in Manchester is hoping to become just that, but first he must find a new space for his store. To learn more about the Saigon Asian Market we turned to Mark Hayward of the Union Leader who <a href="http://www.unionleader.com/article/20140617/NEWS02/140619022&amp;source=RSS" target="_blank">has written about the market’s struggle with the Manchester Zoning Board of Adjustment</a>:</span></p><p></p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 21:21:15 +0000 Brady Carlson 50840 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: A Neighborhood Market Searches For A Neighborhood Map: Where To Go Strawberry Picking In New Hampshire http://nhpr.org/post/map-where-go-strawberry-picking-new-hampshire <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Strawberry picking is a New Hampshire tradition that dates back to the days when “all natural” was a given, not a gimmick. There are over 20 farms throughout the state that offer the chance to “Pick-Your-Own” pint (or quart—more berries just means more jam).&nbsp;</span></p><p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Related story: <a href="http://nhpr.org/post/sweet-science-and-big-business-strawberry-picking">The Sweet Science (And Big Business) Of Strawberry Picking</a></span></em></p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:35:42 +0000 Halina Loft 50839 at http://nhpr.org Map: Where To Go Strawberry Picking In New Hampshire Salem Program Teaches A New Group Of 'Junior Chefs' http://nhpr.org/post/salem-program-teaches-new-group-junior-chefs <p>The school year is drawing to a close, but next week a group of teens in Salem are heading back to the classroom - and the kitchen.</p><p>They're taking part in the Junior Chef program, a partnership between the <a href="http://www.salembgc.org/portal/" target="_blank">Boys and Girls Club of Greater Salem</a> and the <a href="http://www.tuscanbrands.com/kitchen/" target="_blank">Tuscan Kitchen</a> restaurant.</p><p><strong>Eddie Payne</strong> is an executive chef with the Tuscan Kitchen. He describes the program to NHPR's Brady Carlson.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:25:50 +0000 Brady Carlson 50846 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: The New Hampshire Ice Cream Trail http://nhpr.org/post/foodstuffs-new-hampshire-ice-cream-trail <p>There are plenty of trails that lead to scenic vistas.&nbsp; Up mountains, down into valleys.&nbsp; But there's only one that leads to ice cream: The New Hampshire Ice Cream trail.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Somewhere in a New Hampshire field, a cow, fawn colored, like a big deer, lifts her head from the tall grasses...</span></p><p>A Jersey cow, she has no idea that the milk she makes from the grass and hay and grain she eats is high in butterfat - about 5%, which makes her milk ideal for ice cream.</p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Sean Hurley 50045 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: The New Hampshire Ice Cream Trail Foodstuffs: A Brewery In The North Country http://nhpr.org/post/foodstuffs-brewery-north-country <p>A family from Michigan is behind a newly opened brewery in the North Country.&nbsp; Schilling Beer Company is located in an old grist mill next to the Ammonoosuc River in Littleton.</p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 19:11:35 +0000 Chris Jensen 49675 at http://nhpr.org Foodstuffs: A Brewery In The North Country Armchair Tour of Smuttynose's New Brewery in Hampton http://nhpr.org/post/armchair-tour-smuttynoses-new-brewery-hampton <p>Smuttynose Brewing Company's new brewery opens Saturday in Hampton, NH. &nbsp;Below is an audio postcard in which Smuttynose's&nbsp;"Master of Propoganda," JT Thompson, gives a tour of the $24 million energy efficient brewery, which produces 65,000 barrels of beer each day.</p><p></p> Fri, 30 May 2014 03:45:17 +0000 Emily Corwin 49414 at http://nhpr.org Armchair Tour of Smuttynose's New Brewery in Hampton Concord Event Celebrates The Art Of Grilling Done Safely http://nhpr.org/post/concord-event-celebrates-art-grilling-done-safely <p align="LEFT" style="margin-bottom: 12px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.5px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51);">&nbsp;</p> Thu, 22 May 2014 19:15:26 +0000 Michael Brindley 48978 at http://nhpr.org Concord Event Celebrates The Art Of Grilling Done Safely Asparagus Rewards Patience http://nhpr.org/post/asparagus-rewards-patience <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">Winter has finally left New Hampshire, and locavores can get their hands on a spring favorite.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 15 May 2014 22:32:48 +0000 Michael Samuels 48475 at http://nhpr.org Asparagus Rewards Patience At UNH Dairy Bar, Education In The Salad http://nhpr.org/post/unh-dairy-bar-education-salad <p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in"><font size="3">An on-campus eatery makes sustainability a learning experience.</font></p><p style="margin-right: 0.01in; margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 08 May 2014 18:54:54 +0000 Michael Samuels 48138 at http://nhpr.org At UNH Dairy Bar, Education In The Salad Farm-To-School Programs Boost New Hampshire On The 'Locavore Index' http://nhpr.org/post/farm-school-programs-boost-new-hampshire-locavore-index <p><a href="http://www.strollingoftheheifers.com/locavoreindex/" target="_blank">The 2014 Locavore Index</a> again ranks New Hampshire's local food system as one of the strongest in the country, rating third behind Vermont and Maine.</p><p><strong>Martin Langeveld</strong> of <a href="http://www.strollingoftheheifers.com/" target="_blank">Strolling of the Heifers</a>, the Vermont organization which produces the Locavore Index, talks with All Things Considered host Brady Carlson about how New Hampshire's food system is growing and changing.</p><p></p> Thu, 01 May 2014 21:13:17 +0000 Brady Carlson 47754 at http://nhpr.org Farm-To-School Programs Boost New Hampshire On The 'Locavore Index' New Hampshire's Nanobrewing Laws Are Bolstering A New Beer Boom http://nhpr.org/post/new-hampshires-nanobrewing-laws-are-bolstering-new-beer-boom <p>In the late '90s, craft beer saw a renaissance of sorts. After years of nondescript light beers almost completely dominating the market, tastes seemed to wake up. Breweries and brew-pubs started up almost overnight. A boom was born.</p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Adam McCune 47251 at http://nhpr.org New Hampshire's Nanobrewing Laws Are Bolstering A New Beer Boom Drumming Up Timpano For Easter http://nhpr.org/post/drumming-timpano-easter <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Nana never made this dish. There is no family recipe for Timpano that has passed down through generations of Parrellas. But when it comes to inspiring nostalgia for the cooking of my grandmother, there’s nothing like <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0115678/" target="_blank"><em>Big Night</em></a>.</span></p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:17:54 +0000 Andrew Parrella 47128 at http://nhpr.org Drumming Up Timpano For Easter White Whiskey The Specialty For Nashua's First Distillery http://nhpr.org/post/white-whiskey-specialty-nashuas-first-distillery <p>There are plenty of breweries popping up all across New Hampshire, but a husband and wife recently opened Nashua’s first distillery.</p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 18:23:27 +0000 Michael Brindley 46936 at http://nhpr.org White Whiskey The Specialty For Nashua's First Distillery This Guy Makes Homebrewed Beer With Syrup, Just Not The Kind You Think http://nhpr.org/post/guy-makes-homebrewed-beer-syrup-just-not-kind-you-think <p>Last week I tagged along with a man in Weare who’s tapping black birch trees for their sap. While its syrup is not as sweet as maple syrup, it can be an unexpected and tasty ingredient in home-brewed beer.</p><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:54:13 +0000 Ryan Lessard 46541 at http://nhpr.org This Guy Makes Homebrewed Beer With Syrup, Just Not The Kind You Think