free state project http://nhpr.org en Libertarians Move In To Make A Small N.H. Town Even Smaller http://nhpr.org/post/libertarians-move-make-small-nh-town-even-smaller Maureen O'Reilly beams with pride as she shows a visitor around Grafton, N.H., a town so small it doesn't even have a traffic light.<p>"Have a look at this," O'Reilly says, pointing to a postcard view of hilly rural New England. "How beautiful is this? It's really pretty in the fall, really, really pretty."<p>But behind the beautiful view, locals are dividing into opposing camps. About 50 Libertarians have moved into Grafton from around the country, splitting the town over their push to shrink its government.<p>Grafton has an annual meeting called Deliberative Session. Sun, 09 Mar 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Jack Rodolico 44753 at http://nhpr.org Libertarians Move In To Make A Small N.H. Town Even Smaller Judge Dismisses Keene's Lawsuits Against 'Robin Hooders' http://nhpr.org/post/judge-dismisses-keenes-lawsuits-against-robin-hooders <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A Cheshire County Superior Court judge has dismissed a pair of lawsuits filed by the city of Keene against a group of people calling themselves “<a href="http://freekeene.com/" target="_blank">Robin Hooders</a>.”</span></p><p>Members of the group fill parking meters and videotape parking enforcement officers.</p><p></p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 20:02:38 +0000 Michael Brindley 39561 at http://nhpr.org Judge Dismisses Keene's Lawsuits Against 'Robin Hooders' One Decade Of The Free State Project http://nhpr.org/post/one-decade-free-state-project <p>Ten years ago, New Hampshire was chosen by members of the libertarian minded group, the Free State Project, to move here en-masse and make change.&nbsp; A decade later, they’ve had some influence, on state and local politics but have also faced criticism.&nbsp;&nbsp; We’ll look at where the Free-State movement is now…and its plans for the future.</p><p></p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Thu, 04 Apr 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 24904 at http://nhpr.org One Decade Of The Free State Project The New Secessionist Sentiments http://nhpr.org/post/new-secessionist-sentiments <p></p><p></p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 17:00:00 +0000 Sean Hurley 26066 at http://nhpr.org The New Secessionist Sentiments Second Amendment Protests at PSU Get Strong Reaction http://nhpr.org/post/second-amendment-protests-psu-get-strong-reaction <p>&nbsp;</p><p>Two men who had threatened to bring guns onto Plymouth State University&rsquo;s campus triggered strong reactions from members of the campus community.</p><p>The anti-gun-law protesters who accompanied the men sang songs, and engaged onlookers in conversations about the right to bear arms.</p><p>Student Alex Cabeceiras says that he thinks no-one on campus took part in the protest.</p> Fri, 09 Dec 2011 20:20:30 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 826 at http://nhpr.org Second Amendment Protests at PSU Get Strong Reaction Free Staters Protest Anti-Gun Rules at PSU http://nhpr.org/post/free-staters-protest-anti-gun-rules-psu <p>Two men who had been threatening to bring guns to Plymouth State University’s campus directed a protest today against the school’s no-firearm policy.</p> Fri, 09 Dec 2011 19:18:42 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 824 at http://nhpr.org Free Staters Protest Anti-Gun Rules at PSU Libertopia http://nhpr.org/post/libertopia <p>A new documentary profiles several activists in the Free State Project. Today we'll learn more about this political movement's journey in the Granite State.</p> Fri, 02 Dec 2011 15:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 698 at http://nhpr.org Libertopia