Second Amendment http://nhpr.org en Mental Health Checks And Gun Rights http://nhpr.org/post/mental-health-checks-and-gun-rights <p>A new bill would prohibit gun sales to some with mental illness. Supporters say it’s a common sense public safety measure. But there has been fierce opposition from some gun-rights groups, and from advocates who say the mentally ill are being unfairly singled out and are far more likely to be victims than perpetrators of violence.</p><p><strong><u>GUESTS:</u></strong></p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 42514 at http://nhpr.org Mental Health Checks And Gun Rights Gun Rights Advocates Push Back Against Universal Background Checks Bill http://nhpr.org/post/gun-rights-advocates-push-back-against-universal-background-checks-bill <p></p><p>Gun rights advocates pushed back at a public hearing Tuesday against a bill that would require universal background checks for firearm sales in New Hampshire.</p><p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 21:46:29 +0000 Michael Brindley 42208 at http://nhpr.org Gun Rights Advocates Push Back Against Universal Background Checks Bill Guns And Gun Culture: One Year After Newtown http://nhpr.org/post/guns-and-gun-culture-one-year-after-newtown <p>The news was hard to fathom a year ago: twenty first graders and six educators shot to death during an ordinary school day in Newtown, Connecticut.&nbsp; Afterward, the national soul-searching seemed to reach new depths, with President Obama insisting “these tragedies must end, and to end them we must change.”&nbsp; At the time, polls showed a majority of Americans agreed some aspects of gun laws could be altered, expanding background checks, for instance.&nbsp;&nbsp; But Washington lawmakers failed pass legislation, and the debate has since shifted to the states.&nbsp; Both sides have scor Wed, 11 Dec 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 39889 at http://nhpr.org Guns And Gun Culture: One Year After Newtown The Right To Print Arms: An Innovation In 3-D Printing http://nhpr.org/post/right-print-arms-innovation-3-d-printing <p>Last week, a Senate judiciary panel approved a measure to reinstate a ban on assault weapons. Those same legislators could have a whole new field of weaponry to contend with:<a href="http://motherboard.vice.com/blog/why-wont-congress-talk-about-3d-printed-guns" target="_blank"> homemade guns</a>. A small, Texas-based company called “Defense Distributed” has been spearheading technological and legal advances behind the 3-D printing technology that could produce guns.</p><p> Tue, 19 Mar 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 23914 at http://nhpr.org “Constitutionally Speaking”…About The Second Amendment http://nhpr.org/post/constitutionally-speaking-about-second-amendment <p>It’s relatively short, only twenty-seven words, but long on controversy.&nbsp; And it’s recently resurfaced in our debates over gun rights and gun control.&nbsp; We’ll pick apart the language of the second amendment with two constitutional scholars and examine what our founding fathers may have&nbsp;really meant, and how&nbsp;we look at it, in our time.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 22447 at http://nhpr.org “Constitutionally Speaking”…About The Second Amendment Second Amendment Protests at PSU Get Strong Reaction http://nhpr.org/post/second-amendment-protests-psu-get-strong-reaction <p>&nbsp;</p><p>Two men who had threatened to bring guns onto Plymouth State University&rsquo;s campus triggered strong reactions from members of the campus community.</p><p>The anti-gun-law protesters who accompanied the men sang songs, and engaged onlookers in conversations about the right to bear arms.</p><p>Student Alex Cabeceiras says that he thinks no-one on campus took part in the protest.</p> Fri, 09 Dec 2011 20:20:30 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 826 at http://nhpr.org Second Amendment Protests at PSU Get Strong Reaction Free Staters Protest Anti-Gun Rules at PSU http://nhpr.org/post/free-staters-protest-anti-gun-rules-psu <p>Two men who had been threatening to bring guns to Plymouth State University’s campus directed a protest today against the school’s no-firearm policy.</p> Fri, 09 Dec 2011 19:18:42 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 824 at http://nhpr.org Free Staters Protest Anti-Gun Rules at PSU Gunfight: The Battle Over the Right to Bear Arms in America http://nhpr.org/post/gunfight-battle-over-right-bear-arms-america <p>We talk to the author of a new book at that looks at the long debate in America over the Second Amendment.</p> Mon, 05 Dec 2011 14:24:09 +0000 Laura Knoy 762 at http://nhpr.org Gunfight: The Battle Over the Right to Bear Arms in America