Agriculture http://nhpr.org en Blueberry Season Promises Picking, Pies, Possibilities http://nhpr.org/post/blueberry-season-promises-picking-pies-possibilities <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">The blueberries are ripe and ready to pick at Apple Hill Farm in Concord.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:33:21 +0000 Michael Samuels 52476 at http://nhpr.org Blueberry Season Promises Picking, Pies, Possibilities Map: Where To Go Strawberry Picking In New Hampshire http://nhpr.org/post/map-where-go-strawberry-picking-new-hampshire <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Strawberry picking is a New Hampshire tradition that dates back to the days when “all natural” was a given, not a gimmick. There are over 20 farms throughout the state that offer the chance to “Pick-Your-Own” pint (or quart—more berries just means more jam).&nbsp;</span></p><p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Related story: <a href="http://nhpr.org/post/sweet-science-and-big-business-strawberry-picking">The Sweet Science (And Big Business) Of Strawberry Picking</a></span></em></p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:35:42 +0000 Halina Loft 50839 at http://nhpr.org Map: Where To Go Strawberry Picking In New Hampshire A Decline In Bees: What's Going On With Our Pollinators? http://nhpr.org/post/decline-bees-whats-going-our-pollinators <p>Behind recent declines in bee populations are threats as diverse as pesticides, disease, and climate change. &nbsp;And fewer bees could mean a widespread hit to many types of agriculture. We’ll talk with beekeepers and researchers about what they’re seeing,&nbsp; also what the future might hold, and what could be done.</p><p></p><p><strong><u>GUESTS: </u></strong></p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 13:00:00 +0000 The Exchange 50691 at http://nhpr.org A Decline In Bees: What's Going On With Our Pollinators? UNH Touts Unique Compost System http://nhpr.org/post/unh-touts-unique-compost-system <div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The University of New Hampshire is celebrating its use of a unique energy recovery composting system. &nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">UNH is believed to be the only university in the nation with such a compost facility, which captures generated heat for water that can be pumped to reservoirs and used for wash water, provide pre-heated water for a boiler or be used in heating systems. Sun, 22 Jun 2014 17:49:46 +0000 Associated Press 50645 at http://nhpr.org UNH Shows Off New England Dairy Farming With "Open Barn" Event http://nhpr.org/post/unh-shows-new-england-dairy-farming-open-barn-event <div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The University of New Hampshire is holding an "open barn'' to give the public a chance to see how a typical New England dairy farm operates. &nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The New Hampshire Agricultural Experiment Station on the Durham campus calls Saturday's event "Meet Your Milk.'' Visitors can enjoy free milk and ice cream, wagon rides, tours and visits with the university's milking cows and calves. Sat, 21 Jun 2014 16:14:33 +0000 Associated Press 50624 at http://nhpr.org UNH Shows Off New England Dairy Farming With "Open Barn" Event The State Of Farming In N.H. http://nhpr.org/post/state-farming-nh <p>New Hampshire’s farm legacy extends to the very beginning of our state’s history, when farmers from over-crowded areas in southern New England started to move north in search of more open land. While the soil in New Hampshire was not as fertile as they’d hoped, farmers did take root in the state and are still here. And while the country overall has seen a trend toward fewer, bigger farms, new data from show the reverse in New Hampshire and New England: over the past five years, the state’s number of farms has grown 5%, for a total 30% increase over the past decade. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 44573 at http://nhpr.org The State Of Farming In N.H. Bee Hotel In Durham Open To Pollinators Only http://nhpr.org/post/bee-hotel-durham-open-pollinators-only <p>Bee populations are in decline worldwide. At UNH, researchers are beginning the first major assessment of diversity in New Hampshire’s bee populations. &nbsp;Part of that effort involves a "bee hotel" at&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;"><a href="http://www.colsa.unh.edu/aes/woodman">Woodman Farm</a> in Durham.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 14:28:37 +0000 Emily Corwin 49903 at http://nhpr.org Bee Hotel In Durham Open To Pollinators Only Tech, Environmentalism And Agriculture Converge For iFARM http://nhpr.org/post/tech-environmentalism-and-agriculture-converge-ifarm <p style="margin-bottom: 0in;">&nbsp;</p><p><span style="font-size: medium; line-height: 1.5;">A big part of farming and conservation is finding creative solutions on a budget.</span></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in;"> Fri, 23 May 2014 10:55:00 +0000 Michael Samuels 49006 at http://nhpr.org Tech, Environmentalism And Agriculture Converge For iFARM Asparagus Rewards Patience http://nhpr.org/post/asparagus-rewards-patience <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in">Winter has finally left New Hampshire, and locavores can get their hands on a spring favorite.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"> Thu, 15 May 2014 22:32:48 +0000 Michael Samuels 48475 at http://nhpr.org Asparagus Rewards Patience Thousands Flock To Sheep & Wool Festival http://nhpr.org/post/thousands-flock-sheep-wool-festival <p style="margin-bottom: 0in;">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in;"><font size="3">Fiber-bearing animals, and the next generation of shepherds, are the focus of the 38<sup>th</sup> annual event.</font></p><p> Sat, 10 May 2014 23:31:21 +0000 Michael Samuels 48285 at http://nhpr.org Thousands Flock To Sheep & Wool Festival Canterbury Passes Looser Farmstand Regulations http://nhpr.org/post/canterbury-passes-looser-farmstand-regulations <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Regulations on </span>farmstands<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> in Canterbury will be loosened.&nbsp; Two-thirds of residents voted in favor of the measure on Tuesday.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 15:54:43 +0000 Amanda Loder 44946 at http://nhpr.org Canterbury Passes Looser Farmstand Regulations Canterbury Residents To Decide What Makes A Farmstand http://nhpr.org/post/canterbury-residents-decide-what-makes-farmstand <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">While national interest in agriculture has declined over the past five years, the US Department of Agriculture reports a </span><a href="http://nhpr.org/post/more-farmers-till-more-land-nh-and-new-england" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">five percent increase in New Hampshire farms</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 44765 at http://nhpr.org Canterbury Residents To Decide What Makes A Farmstand Room For A Deer-Farming Boom http://nhpr.org/post/room-deer-farming-boom <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><span style="font-size: large; line-height: 1.5;">Raising venison is one of the fastest-growing agricultural industries in the country, but that growth has yet to reach NH.</span></p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 00:43:01 +0000 Michael Samuels 44276 at http://nhpr.org Room For A Deer-Farming Boom How Would N.H. Farmers Change In A Changing Climate? http://nhpr.org/post/how-would-nh-farmers-change-changing-climate <p>Among the questions food producers and farmers are looking at these days is how they might be affected by a changing climate – and what they might do about it.</p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 22:13:29 +0000 Brady Carlson 42743 at http://nhpr.org Why New Hampshire's Tiny Christmas Tree Industry Thrives http://nhpr.org/post/why-new-hampshires-tiny-christmas-tree-industry-thrives <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New Hampshire’s Christmas tree farms are mostly very small operations—even by Granite State standards.&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 40331 at http://nhpr.org Why New Hampshire's Tiny Christmas Tree Industry Thrives